We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best beach in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach

Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach
Ocean Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
831 649 2836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 28 Attractions in Carmel
Type: Beaches
Activities: Sunbathing, Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The water is brisk and the surf is hazardous, but the amazing views from the shore will draw you like a magnet to these striking white sand beaches for a leisurely stroll or picnic.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Simply the best beach in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I travel a long way every six months to visit family and friends and, importantly, to walk on this beach. I have been coming here for more than fifty years and it is just as wonderful now as it was then. These days, i watch other people's children build sand-castles, play in the waves, explore the tide pools and dig for hermit crabs, and remember when I was one of those children.... meanwhile, watching the 'Dogs of Frolic' bounding through the waves, digging in the sand, catching balls and frisbees and generally appreciating as only dogs can this wonderful bit of the world.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    141
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Where dogs are truly free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A beautiful beach in a beautiful city. Soft sand, gorgeous sunsets, pebble beach to the north and point lobos reserve to the south. But, probably the most unique thing about Carmel beach are the dogs that run free like the wind. I don't think I will ever have a dog that doesn't get to visit Carmel beach at least once in it's life.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Beautiful beach and views. We sat on the beach and just relaxed watching the the waves and taking in the view. The town is really cute with plenty of shops and places to eat. The hill from the shops to the beach is steep, so it could be tiring going up, but well worth the time. This time of year there was parking.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Located about 10 minutes walk away from our billet, the Wayfarer Inn, thios was a very plesant suprise.
What a fantastic place to watch the sun set.
Clean, picturesque. a must if you stay in carmel

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Squeaky clean soft sand and dog-friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A long, soft sand beach with spectacular views. A walk back along the bluff makes a nice round-trip.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;