We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Squeaky clean soft sand and dog-friendly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach

Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach
Ocean Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
831 649 2836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 28 attractions in Carmel
Type: Beaches
Activities: Sunbathing, Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The water is brisk and the surf is hazardous, but the amazing views from the shore will draw you like a magnet to these striking white sand beaches for a leisurely stroll or picnic.
Lafayette, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Squeaky clean soft sand and dog-friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A long, soft sand beach with spectacular views. A walk back along the bluff makes a nice round-trip.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    121
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The most fantastic beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is the most fantastic beach; it was great to walk in bare feet on the warm, white sand with the ocean crashing to shore. The lagoon along the front is also great. We went back in the evening to watch the sunset.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We walked along Carmel beach which was very nice with good golden sand. Must say it's not the prettiest of beaches such as Zante or even parts of Ibiza but nice nonetheless.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Spectacular sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the most beautiful beach sunsets we experienced! The view is spectacular and we even saw dolphins going by just before sunset. This is dog and family friendly but also very romantic. It is very clean and looks pristine.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best dog and human vacation spot ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My family and I and our golden retriever (s) have been going to Carmel for over 17 years. We usually rent a house or stay at Lincoln Green Inn. This is a wonderful beautiful town to take your dog with you and they are treatedby all as a part of the family. The locals do their morning walk on Carmel City Beach I think at 8AM?? - A large group of them all knowing each other and their dogs and all new comers are welcome. The dogs romp off leash and get to know each other - romp on the sand and into the water, chase balls, frisbees and have over all dog fun. They discover who has the treats and sit and bark and roll over for them.... of course they also roll in seaweed and dead crabs - so be sure you hose them off on the way off the beach - hose at the 8th street entrance. There are also doggy bags on the way end - PICK UP AFTER YOUR PET!! MANY MANY restaurants allow dogs with their own menus and bowls... just wonderul!! Walks in town and on the beach are totally dog friendly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach to your Saves list