We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic stay at the Highlands Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
whitestone ny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic stay at the Highlands Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2007

Stayed here for our November 2006 honeymoon and it was FABULOUS! The hotel is beautiful and the view from the room was even better. We felt the room rate was well worth it even though it is a bit expensive. The hotel restaurants and amenities were wonderful as well. There's a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi - both with ocean views. Staff was extremely accommodating and assisted us with any requests we had.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    192
    98
    72
    48
See reviews for
134
415
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2007

We just got back from the Highlands Inn Park last night, so I figured I'd write this while it was fresh in my head.
This hotel was beautiful. So much so we wanted to stay an extra day but the flights were too expensive. Our room was nice with a fireplace, feather bed and a view that took our breath away. Our friends were there a week prior and stayed in a townhouse room with a huge tub, so we missed that but overall a perfect room for the two of us. Even the robes added to this spa-like retreat.
We dined at the Pacific's Edge Restaurant where the views were magnificent and the service was excellent. We ordered off the chef's menu. It was the best of everything, but the worse on our wallets.
I think the only thing I would say is bring lot's of money or know that even though the rates of the hotel were reasonable you can barely get a drink for under $10, but hey you're on vacation. You know when the vacation ends, when you check out and see the bill. There is a reason they call it "checking out". I think one literally "check's out" when they stay at such a magnificent place and then forgets the cost is just as magnificent. It was worth every dime to hear the waves crash on the cliffs.
The service was great, the breakfast at California Market their other restaurant was good and my favorite place to daydream and read was Lobos Lounge.
We are coming back next year. I hope this was helpful!

  • Liked — The views were the best
  • Disliked — A bit expensive
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

We were at the Highlands Inn for a three day stay for business meetings. It was a wonderful surprise to see that the hotel was rustic, instead of the run of the mill chain hotels. It kind of reminded me of the old Wagon Wheel Lodge in Rockton, Illinois, but much more upscale. The staff was extremely polite.
The bed was very comfortable, and the room was clean. Fresh bottled water and chocolates were brought to our room every night with the turn down service. The fireplaces are equipped with wood and all you do is light a match and enjoy. There was so much to do around Carmel that we tried to fit everything in, but just couldn't. My best advise for anyone is to get a car and see the sights. Pointe Lobos is a public park that was just spectacular and practically down the street. We also visited a nearby beautful Spanish Mission that was established in the late 1700's. The Aquarium was highly recomended, but it was a holiday and there was a long line, so we had to skip it. Monterrey is close-by and we got a great burger and garlic fries at Archies.
Anyway, back to the hotel. I am going to start planning a trip back to the Highlands Inn for a family pleasure trip. I can't wait!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain view california
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2007

There are 8 Ocean Townhouse Spa Suites that are absolutely incredible ... we saw 2 of them (501 and 503, stayed in 503) and they were spotless and actually better than the web site hinted at. Everything was set up perfectly for us including the fireplace which was already stocked with wood and papers to get it started. They had 2 CDs in the bedroom which were exactly what we needed for a romantic time in the jacuzzi. I am almost positive the bad reviews you may read for this hotel are by people who stayed in the normal rooms (small, cabin like) during weekends (almost $100 more than during the weekday). Go during the week, stay in the Ocean Townhouses, definitely don't do room service ($58 for lousy breakfast and about the same for a meal at the Market) .... there is a brand new, huge safeway less than 1 mile back toward carmel ... so go there and buy your cheese and drinks. The room, view, staff , reception building were awesome ... buying anything else there is a real ripoff. By the way, the TIckle Pink is a bed+breakfast that is on the same property and has the same views as the Ocean Townhouses.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2007

We stayed ath the Highland Inn Hyatt Vacation Club the 2nd week of December. We were a little concerned about the possibility of wet cold weather but it was beautiful.

Our 1 BR timeshare unit was great. There was a living room w/ wood burning fireplace, kitchen with dining area, a bathroom and deck on the first floor AND the whole second floor was an unbelivable bedroom suite. Large walk in closet, separate shower and stool areas and a super large tub in the BR area. The view over the bay was fantastic from both levels. There was even daily maid service - including cleaning the fireplace and loading it with kindling and wood, all ready to light each evening. (Most timeshares don't have cleaning during the week without an extra charge)

The area was gorgeous. It was located just on the North edge of the Big Sur on Hwy 1. A must see drive down the coast. Just a mile North of the resort was the beautiful Point Lobos Park. The easy to walk hiking trails are filled with great scenery and views of seals, deer and numerous birds.

This was a dream vacation and I would go back again in a minute!

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, dc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2007

The hotel and room (#525) was everything you could want. HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT! The room was smaller, but had a beautiful view of the ocean and sunset, we had a bottle of comp champagne (we mentioned it was special evening), great CDs in room(we burned them to my laptop), wood burning fireplace (we had two fires), outdoor Jacuzzi w/ view of the ocean, binoculars for the whale watching (we saw many), great balcony hanging over a cliff with ocean in distance. The sunrise was actually very pretty as different parts of the coastline are lit up at different times, GREAT bedding, we never turned the TV on (thank God) and just watched the fire all night and talked! Make sure that you search the Hyatt's website for a AAA breakfast coupon worth $25 in the rest. overlooking the ocean.

Very few things were dissatisfying. We ordered room service and had the prawns and house salad. Please just skip this part as it was less then mediocre! The bathtub was a little disappointing (thought maybe there would be a larger spa tub, but it was a regular old fashion bath tub.

  • Liked — View of ocean
  • Disliked — Pricey
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

The view from the Surf Room and Gazeebo are amazing. We hoped for blue skies and blue water, but unfortunately it was grey and cloudy. Still, it was beautiful.

The concierge and event staff were incredibly helpful as we planned 3 days of events: Wine tasting at Chateau Julien, dinner at Il Fornio, roasting smores on Monestary Beach.

The hotel's views, music, food and staff make it a stress free retreat from our busy pace of life. We return as often as we can.

  • Liked — Staff, amazing views and atmosphere
  • Disliked — Price of rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early for peak season, also consider B&Bs in Carmel for your lodging and frequent the Highland's Inn restaurants!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.