We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, good service, needs soundproofing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, good service, needs soundproofing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a garden view room. It was clean and spacious but we could easily hear outside street noise and people walking above us nightly. They need to soundproof the rooms which receive outside noise too easily. There is a fitness center with five or six high quality treadmills, a weightroom, and several nice elliptical trainers. The grounds have lots of stairs so if you have leg problems, you might give this a pass. However, with extraordinary views and escellent service, most people will enjoy this beautiful property. We paid with chase points so our room was free, but the normal high season rate starts at about $550 to 600/nt.

Room Tip: Try to find a room that is not below another room or you will definitely hear the up[stairs people w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are happy you enjoyed the beautiful property as well at the fitness center. We sincerely hope you will join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    186
    91
    71
    45
See reviews for
128
397
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Califonia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

...the rooms would match the rest of the property. The views are outstanding. You look over some of the most spectacular coast in the world. The grounds are meticulously landscaped and absolutely beautiful. The service is outstanding (with a minor exception.) The valets are exceptionally good. The rooms, however, are another story. They are clean and have wood burning fireplaces, which is great. The deck with ocean view is wonderful.However, they have serious shortcomings. There are no additional outlets to plug in your electronics. You have to unplug something or plug your electronics in next to the sink--and water and electronics do not mix. The room is a bit cramped and the deal furniture old and chipped. The TV picture quality is poor. The bathroom is pedestrian. If only the rooms were equal to the rest, this place would be top notch. As it is, it is overpriced.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and you taking the time to review the property. We sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very comfortable rooms with nice bathrooms. The most important thing is the view. This hotel is perched in the hills outside Carmel overlooking the ocean. The only thing is to be sure that there is not a big tree in front of your window! The rooms are all rows along a little path, which is very nice. The public spaces at this hotel are absolutely gorgeous and very welcoming. The service was good and they really try to make you feel comfortable here. I agree with other reviewers that the parking is way too difficult. I also think that unless you get a room with a really good view---then you might be overpaying.
Also note that this is many miles away from Carmel---so you will be doing some driving back and forth.
There is a little downer that they are using these gorgeous public spaces to sell their time shares.

Room Tip: Some rooms are too near the road--others have great big trees and bushes in front of the window. Fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for the great review- we are happy you enjoyed the beautiful views and we will look into your feedback regarding the parking. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Well appointed and spacious rooms with ultra comfortable beds and well equipped kitchens, many of which have spectacular ocean views.Equally well appointed public spaces and jacuzzi s & fire pits dotted around the property are good amenities. So why just an average rating? First, many rooms are close to Highway One so the sound of passing vehicles rules out any chance of focusing on the sound of distant waves and makes sitting on your balcony not so great. (Perhaps that is why rooms are equipped with clocks with soothing sounds). Management will tell you that double-glazed windows eliminate the sound of the cars but I am writing this on a Monday morning and can hear every passing vehicle as clear as a church bell. Second, parking is a pain. Finding a space when the hotel has an event (during our stay it was a wedding) can be difficult, and many of the spaces on this steeply sloping site are tricky. Third, the price! Prices per night often range above $500. If this place was anywhere other than the Carmel area such high rates could not be sustained. Our advice is stay elsewhere and spend the $200 a night you save on dinner at one of the many great restaurants in Carmel. There are other resorts costing $300 a night that are not 5 miles away from Carmel (like Highlands) not next to a busy road, with equally good facilities. If you really must experience Highlands, you could dine at its fine restaurant - Pacific Edge - with a truly spectacular view. Mind you, you will probably need more than the $200 you saved on accommodation if you want to enjoy entrees that can cost as much as $55+!

Room Tip: Rooms up the hill - like the 400 series - are further from the noise of Highway One.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed the fire pits, stunning views and other ammenities and so sorry you had difficiulties with the parking as well as the noise from the road. We are always happy to speak with you directly about your stay and encourage you to call and speak with one of our managers. We hope to hear from you soon and sincerely hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I took the opportunity to stay at Hyatt Highland and so glad that my husband and I did it. The place is amazing (we had a one-bedroom), and the balcony looks out to the ocean. We did a couple of wine tastings including one at the resort. We capped our stay by spending the day in San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf and took the red eye flight back to NY.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review! We are so hapy you enjoyed the wonderful oceanviews an were able to enjoy some local wine tasting. We hope you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have been coming here regularly for ten years. What Hyatt has done is extremely disappointing. The lobby used to be a magical place. There was always a back and white photography exhibit which was top quality. This has been replaced by flat screen televisions selling Hyatt vacation clubs and high pressure sales people. The new feeling is corporate and sterile.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The only good things I could find was the view, bar food and Marie and Kathleen the concierge.

Our room although it had a view was situated over Highway 1, very noisy, ok it's highway one, but there was also a loading bay which was in constant use, 5.30 am onwards, beep, beep, beep, beep. The front desk staff,are unless and like robots. The catering staff for breakfast are rude and disinterested. The bell boy was nowhere to be found. The gym is very poor, not many machines working. The pool Nd area is better suited to motel, not a 4 star hyatt. also we booked a room for,three and where given a room for 2, when we complained,,we where given. Lido!!!! Very poor from. Hotel like this, worse still the didn't care. Please stay somewhere else it's not worth it for $600+ a night! we left 2 days early.

Room Tip: Wifi non existAnt, ask for a room with a view cut set back from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.