We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a favorite.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not a favorite.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

The inn is located on the coast, south of Carmel by the Sea. The setting is lovely, but it is quite isolated. We had a room (suite) with a wood burning fireplace, comfortable bed, and large spa tub. We also had a large deck with a view, but there was nothing to see, as it was quite foggy for the three days we were there. The room did need to be updated. The television was old, and often refused to work. Our biggest problem was the food. Our breakfast in the cafe was not acceptable. The orange juice was processed, the bread packaged, and the coffee undrinkable. There is a restaurant at the inn, but after eating in the cafe, we decided to avoid the restaurant. Unfortunately, it is a 15-20 minute drive to downtown Carmel. The inn also has a check-out time of 10AM. On our next trip to Carmel, we will stay in town.

  • Liked — large spa tub
  • Disliked — isolated room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OldCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

We travel a lot, and have traveled to Carmel many times. Sometimes we rent a house, but this was a short trip. We were staying at the Horizon Inn/Ocean View Lodge ( very nice and roomy especially for the price) but since we need a place to stay our last night we booked the Highlands Inn. Boy did we make a mistake! The room was really sup-par. Tiny, outdated peeling wallpaper, and no flat screen tv-Hello what decade is this?? For what we were paying a night I would have expected a nice bathroom at least. The sink was in this little hallway outside of the bathroom, the bathroom fan didn't work and there was only a tubshower.
The room was so small that with the placement of the bed (next to the door) there was no room for a second nightstand! The porch was nice, except for the huge hole in the screen and the traffic noise from Route 1. There was one chair in the room that was placed against the screendoor making it hard to get outside. We nicknamed it awkward chair as it didn't fit well anywhere in the room.
On top of the dreary room with the dirty carpet there was no wireless internet access. When I called to inquire I was told I could use the computers in the lobby- many steps and a hike away. Who doesn't offer wireless accesss now?? I was told I could purchase it ($9.99)
The restaurant was very nice as was the bar.
Needless to say we won't stay at the Highland Inn again.
Ick!

  • Liked — restaurant
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank kittyonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

The rooms are not well maintained, greatly overpriced and we will never return. Anyone going to The Highlands Inn should be forewarned that they will need to climb many, many stairs to get to their room or to the lobby. We were miserable with our choice of hotel.

  • Liked — the website
  • Disliked — poorly maintained room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ckeWashingtonState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

Just came back from Highland inn, and I would have to say it is a wonderful place. The room from 422 to 432 are all very nice with bedroom upstairs and living room downstairs (since they have a preview center on floor one, so even the living room is actually on floor two).
You can watch the beautiful California seaside from your bed. The room is a little old but everything is very well maintained.
If you are not lucky, you can also end up in a room with only one floor and no view then I would have to say you are wasting your money.
The restaurant in the hotel is also amazing, we had some drink over there and go to Carmel to have the dinner.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hlbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Level Contributor
106 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

Hyatt has always treated me so well. I've been a Gold Passport member for 20 years and they seem to recognize it- even when I book through priceline. But this time I booked directly through their website so I expected to be treated as well as ever.

I checked in at about 10pm and was greated by a snotty desk rep. who seemed to delight in telling me that I will have absolutely no view (after requesting it). I asked for change for a $20, but at first he wouldn't give me singles- as if to say that that is below minimum tipping standards (I was planning on giving the bell man a $5- which I did).

The room was large but:
a) the first giant spider I let out.
b) the second spider was too crafty- so we named it.
c) the additional bugs I tried to catch and let out, including one in my wife's luggage. -not fun to hear my wife scream several times- luggage/bathroom...
d) the room had no a/c and was so warm, but:
e) the room was next to two roads- while highway 1 was loud at times, the road up the hill was right next to us so the choice was close the windows and sweat all night or be woken up by cars/trucks accelerating up the hill during the night and especially starting at 6am-ish. I chose the latter and was up by 6:30a, sitting in bed furious.
f) the unfriendly bellman walking so fast to the room that we couldn't keep up and we occassionally walked in the dark looking for him.
g) no fireplace (like other rooms)

By the time I complained the next day I already had the bags loaded in the car to find another hotel. The front desk person was very helpful and moved us to a better room and offered a partial credit (after I demanded it). She really saved the trip, but I was so offended by how one of their oldest Gold Passport members was treated at check in that I could not recommend the hotel.

PS- if you're paying the $500-$700 rate, the room/view has the potential to be wonderful, and the main building is gorgeous. So choose wisely and avoid the snotty night check-in rep. Finally, this is no longer a Park Hyatt, just Hyatt.

  • Liked — upgraded second room
  • Disliked — bad check in rep., and first room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank denverroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

Had a wonderful room with uninterrupted view of the sea. A meal in the Pacific Edge is a must , although the sevice was a little too impersonal for my liking. Dined most nights outside at the Market restaurant, food was good but service could be patchy. Room service for breakfast was good, but pricey. Make sure you have a drink in the bar as the sun is going down as the sunsets are to die for

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riglara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

Highlands Inn is a good place if you're looking for an amazing view. The suites are nice and spacious, but could use some updating. If you're just looking for some R&R, then this is the place for you. My husband and I are in our late 30's and felt that it was a bit boring at times, but we still enjoyed the great views, our spacious suite and wonderful meals at Pacific's Edge. We travel to Carmel quite often, so I'm glad we tried it one time. Next time we'll have to stick to our regular favorites in Carmel by- the-sea.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finetraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
3.7 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#8 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey Pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant (dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). Rumors have been circulating that California Market is closed for renovation. These rumors are not true. We are open and enjoying the Fall weather and delicious seasonal menu items. In 2016, we will be going through several renovations at the hotel and will update guests once we have a firm schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing