We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is stunning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #15 of 21 hotels in Carmel
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This place is stunning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is perched around the Big Sur drive and you can directly see the sea from your hotel room.

The room is much like an apartment. Kitchen, two bathroom, lounge (with a fireplace) and a beautiful room. I loved the bath in the centre of the room.

The food is exquisite. I had some of the best food on the coastal drive at this hotel. Really pleased and would go back in a flash!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are so happy you enjoyed a wonderful visit with us! We thank you for the great review and we hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    160
    77
    54
    42
See reviews for
106
341
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I highly reccomend the Hyatt Carmel Higlands. The rooms are very clean and the views were breathtakingly beautiful. The service was beyond first class, from the restuarant to the valet, we highly reccomend this resort

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are so happy you joined us for your Honeymoon and enjoyed a great visit! Congratulations and we sincerely hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hyatt Carmel Highlands is a unique destination for couples. It is located right on the edge of the Pacific Coast. We visit this property each year and always look forward to the scenic views. If you arrive early and your room isn't ready the front desk will treat you to a complimentary champagne...so sit tight and relax! We like an end unit on the top floor and spend our mornings and evenings having coffee and cocktails on the deck. This year we were very pleased to find that our unit (444) had been upgraded with a few new furnishings.(Check out my pictures of our unit. Be sure to visit the concierge and pick up a few business cards for a few wine tastings in the Carmel Valley.
If you are a property owner with Hyatt, be sure to attend the wine and cheese tastings.. You will meet some interesting people that agree, "Hyatt Carmel Highlands" is indeed a unique property.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor unit for the best views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for sharing your pictures and your wonderful review! We are happy you enjoyed everything and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we wanted to stay near to Carmel and chose this hotel as it was a hyatt and we have a hyatt gold loyalty card which gives us some goodies we hoped to experience. Also we have stayed at Hyatt's before and been very satisfied.

We arrived at the hotel and parked or car (we hate valet parking unless it is necessary) we were welcomed to the site by Mohammed outside the hotel, he offered to take our cases and we allowed him to as there was a steep flight of stairs to the hotel. He directed me towards the reception desk where I met Matt who stood behind a tall desk covering most of him but I could see his head and name badge. He was very welcoming, checked us into a town house suite, he told me it was the best room in the hotel and he alerted me to other goodies that I was offered during my stay.

Mohammed (the man who took our cases) then met us after check in and he gave us a tour around the hotel before taking us to our "town house". SPLENDID! Rooms are located in outside bungalows, ours was on two floors, the entrance and top floor had a fully equipped kitchen and lounge with balcony overlooking the ocean. Downstairs was the bedroom and the largest bathroom I have ever seen. A huge spa bath tub was right next to the bed so that you could roll out of bed into the bath - fabulous! The rest of the large bathroom area had a walk in wardrobe under the stairs, excellent self contained shower, separate toilet and a wash basin area. The bathroom was really wonderful. The bathroom and bedroom was separated by sliding doors which could be fully opened making the area one room. The bedroom had a desk and a closed window with one opening pane for air. The bed was quite comfortable and nice linen and pillows. There were TV's in the bedroom and upstairs in the lounge and also telephones everywhere. Wifi was free everywhere including wired wifi at the desk in the bedroom.

So far so good then ...

Well yes, until we realised this was not a hotel is was a time share establishment and that kind of changed our view of the property, at the same time some of the polish that we had seen up to now started to rub away.

The bar area was huge and in two parts, one long area with windows overlooking the ocean and a large internal area with open fire and seating areas. We were served with drinks at the bar which was quite nice before we left to explore the area (our main reason for staying here).

On our return after a day out there was no service at the bar, we went to the bar to collect our own drinks (not a problem as such) but no friendly service and no more customer care. Were had a pleasant night's sleep and then we went to breakfast which is where this "hotel" began to lose points.

We were greeted by a lady dressed in a thick black coat and thick wooly jumper who presented herself as the "host". We thought she was a guest. The breakfast area was a small seating area inside, a fully operational open kitchen and an outside seating area. It was June and yet the weather in this area was cold so outside was not an option. This could also explain the dress adopted by the host but it was so horrible and it really set the scene for what was a very haphazard breakfast. There was no buffet so the breakfast was a la carte. One member of staff appeared after a long wait and gave us water, another gave us menus then after what seemed like an eternity the waiter arrived to take our order. No good morning, no niceness, just listened to our orders and disappeared. After what seemed like an eternity another person arrived with our meal.

Breakfast on our second day was even worse and the food was very average.

The pool area was rather sad and was "untidy". It was not warm enough for recreational swimming so it was empty other than people like us who swim for fitness. the water had vegetation in it so it was clearly not cleaned properly. It did not look nice and, although it may not be true, looked neglected.

Unfortunately we then started to look at the property in a different light and we decided that this was not typical of Hyatt, the service was bad to non existent, all the glitter we saw on arrival turned into a tired property and we considered it was a time share and the hotel was just an add on. Had the service and staff been more attentive and friendly then we might have felt better about our stay.

If you intend visiting Carmel you will need a car or you will have to get a taxi which will cost around $40 for a round trip.

I regret to report, we could not wait to leave.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the ocean on a high level - rooms are located in outside bungalows. Do not choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are sorry about your recent visit with us and we would love to discuss your experience with you. We hope you will call and speak with our management as we sincerely want you to leave our property happy and we are sorry that your stay was disappointing. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It does not get much more beautful than Carmel and we loved this Hyatt property. The location is convenient to Big Sur as well as Monterey Bay. Our pacious room had a huge deck, fireplace and unbelieveable views. As you can see from my photos it is simply stunning. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms higher up on the property are the best! As to be away from the pool if you do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are so happy that you enjoyed the beautiful location as well as the deck and in-room wood-burning fireplaces. Thank you for sharing your photos as well. We are glad you experienced a great stay and we thank you for the wonderful review and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I own a timeshare here and visit each year. The units are situated on a cliff with great views of the rocky Pacific coastline. I never get tired of looking at the waves crash against the rocks. The one bedroon units could accomodate three to four people but they are best suited for two people. There are two restaurants on site that serve very good food. There is also a lounge and bar on site that serve drinks and offer spectacular ocean views. I have always found the staff to be friendly and efficient. I highly recommend Hyatt Carmel Highlands for a couples getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are so happy you enjoyed the spectacular views and that you get to join us each year as a time share owner! We thank you for the wonderful review as we sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is just amazing. It was my favourite hotel on our roadtrip. The rooms are very clean and big and you have an amazing view over the pacific. The breakfast and lunch is very good and you begin your morning with a very nice view and a cozy location. We ate every night in the restaurant, the food is really excellent and they have a good choice of wine. The pool and the garden around is beautiful, with a lot of plants and flowers. We can`t wait to get back there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are so happy you enjoyed a wonderful visit with us and that you had a great time dining at our fabulous Pacific's Edge Restaurant. We thank you so much for your review and hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.