We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is simply beautiful, providing a stunning view of the Pacific. Just a short drive from Carmel, we loved how peaceful and serene the property was. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and the staff was, overall, very attentive and welcoming. One thing I found a bit of a nuisance was not being able to open my windows because someone in a room below had a fire going every night, so the smoke came in my windows. This, of course, was not the hotels fault, but something to keep in mind when selecting a room. Valet service is very quick, our car was always there before we were. Breakfast at the restaurant was delicious; however, on our first morning, the host forgot about us and seated someone else at the table we were waiting for. When he realized his mistake, he actually avoided even making eye contact with us until another table opened up, at which point he had a server show us to our table. Everyone makes mistakes, and we weren't even upset, but the way he handled it was odd and off putting. Thankfully, our server, the food, and the view made up for it. We even got to watch pods of whales both mornings we dined there - be sure to ask your server for a pair of binoculars for a better view!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We sare so happy you enjoyed the beauty of our unique property. We thank you for the great review and sincerely hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    166
    82
    55
    43
See reviews for
114
354
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My family has been returning to the Hyatt Carmel Highlands for the last 7 years. The location is amazing, the view is awesome, and I am never disappointed by the staff. We love to sit in our room, light a fire and listen to the ocean. The decor is modern rustic with cool blues and lots of earthy browns. I love the soaking tub in the bathroom and have dreamed of building one in the bathroom in my house. The hotel's restaurant, the Pacific Edge, has one of the finest wine collections in California. The food is inventive and high-end. The hotel also has a lounge for more casual dining, a breakfast and lunch cafe, as well as a wide selection for room service. Saturday nights there is live music in the lounge, local ballroom dancers will come out and practice their moves. There is a large pool for swimming and a hot-tub for relaxing. We have met many other guests, while enjoying the pool and the hot-tub. I never tire of the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are so happy that you have been visiting us over the last seven years and enjoying the wonderful location and amazing views. We sincerely hope you'll visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Hyatt Highlands exceeded our expectations! We loved everything about it. Our room had an incredible view, and the restaurants were wonderful! This is such a special place, and for those who say it's not for kids - - our kids loved it. The restaurants have kid menus that are reasonably priced, with lots of options for even the pickiest of eaters. We will always remember our stay at the Highlands!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are so happy that you had a lovely visit with us and that we were able to exceed your expectations! Thank you for the kind words and sincerely hope you will join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We are Hyatt residence club owners, so we stay here at least four nights when we visit Carmel. This resort is not one I would recommend for children, as other than the pool, there is nothing for them to do. The area itself, however, is full of family oriented activities. The Highlands has been here forever, long before it was purchased by Hyatt. Located on a terraced cliff above the ocean, it is the perfect romantic spot for couples. Two restaurants on property (Pacific's Edge, a lovely dinner spot and California Market for breakfast and lunch) The hotel also provides room service. There is a nice pool, fitness center, and spa on property, along with three hot tubs and a fire pit. Unlike most Hyatt residence clubs, there are no laundry facilities in the rooms, but there are two complimentary laundry facilities. This is the perfect spot to head toward either Carmel and Monterey, or south toward Big Sur for some awesome scenic drives and beautiful parks. You cannot walk to the beach, but there are public beaches right off the highway all along Highway 1. The one bedroom suites have a wood burning fireplace (wood provided free) and small, but fully equipped kitchen. Most rooms have a view of the ocean, although some are better than others. Did not include photos, as there are many on TA.

Room Tip: Rooms 404, 312 and 439 are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are so happy to be when of your favorite Hotels on the peninsula and that you enjoyed a wonderful time with us. We also appreciate you recommending specific rooms that you have enjoyed. We sincerely hope you visit us again and thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Great room and great location! Specially the ocean view was very relaxing and beautiful! Although i really liked the location and..... I don't think cleaning crew did such a great job. There was mold on my shower head and pillows were too flat and uncomfortable. I had to ask for more pillows. The location was great and check in was fast and we were given sparkling wine as we walked in. They also have complementary bikes but unfortunately only for adults. There are no bike routes close by unless you have a set up or a big car to be able to take the bikes to the bike baths you want to.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed the room as well as the great location and the stunning views. We will look into your feedback regarding the cleaning of your room and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The location was very nice. The check in was fast and smooth. The room however was outdated. Little things like the iron and the shower knob were very worn. For this much money per night, we expected a little more attention to detail. The fireplace was romantic, but the room only has enough wood to burn for a few hours. As there is no a/c or heat, that is the only heat source. We slept with the patio door cracked to get some air flow, but around 5am awoke to lots of traffic noise down the road. Maybe other rooms farther away won't have that problem.

Room Tip: rooms away from main road are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed the location and beautiful views and we are sorry that your stay was disappointing. We will look into your comments and sincerely thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and stayed here the first two nights of a week long trip to California celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. I am a Hyatt diamond member, so I do favor Hyatt properties. After making reservations online, I called and explained we were celebrating our anniversary, any type of upgrade would be appreciated. We were upgraded to a suite, escorted to our room and were very happy with our suite. We were greeted by EVERY employee, absolutely no complaints about the staff, first class. We had a complimentary bottle of champaigne and a card wishing us well, wow, these guys are good. We ate breakfast both mornings and the food was excellent. We had a great week of fun on our trip, but it was tough to leave this place. We will definitely be going back, but not soon enough. Thank you Hyatt Carmel Highlands for everything!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are so happy you decided to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary with us. We are glad that we could help make your stay with us memorable and we sincerely hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.