We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful corner of the world” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful corner of the world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

First of all, there's a lot of confusion in the reviews about this property which has a dual nature. On one side there is a Hyatt hotel, which is a collection of smallish but charmingly rustic rooms on one side of the property. On the other side of the property there are small time-share condos on offer from the Hyatt Vacation Club. So, as far as I know, a stay in a unit with a kitchen or a separate bedroom is in one of the HVC units. They do not seem to be bookable on the Hyatt website. I assume most people who have written reviews about short stays in the condos booked them through VRBO or took advantage of a cheap vacation in return for sitting through the timeshare sales pitch. The people selling those units are the ones who have bothered other reviewers and have taken over the lovely lobby, but they soon may sell out and go away (or at least I can hope).

My wife and I love the hotel and recently made our third visit to the hotel side of the property. I think a lot of reviewers are disappointed that such an expensive hotel is so rustic and different from other high-end Hyatt properties, but if you go knowing that you will be staying in one of the loveliest bits of the California coast, you will come away happy. The hotel is minutes from Carmel and Big Sur. Sitting on your terrace or in the hotel bar watching the ocean is a sublime experience. The staff are also excellent and go out of their way to accommodate guests's wishes.

Yes, there are negatives. The rooms are close to the road, but we've never let it bother us and at night there are few cars. Yes, the rooms are somewhat dated, but that's part of the place's shabby chic charm. Yes, the restaurants are pricey, but there are good options in Carmel, 10 minutes away. We did eat it in Pacific Edge for the first (and probably only) time. The food was excellent and the sunset was spectacular. We offset the meal by sitting through one of the timeshare spiels and getting a $200 restaurant credit. (We decided the timeshares aren't for us, but it's a matter of taste.)

Finally, a note to the Carmel Highland's manager: drop the resort fee! The rooms are already pricey enough and most of the services supposedly covered by the fee are included at most urban Hyatt properties. For $20 all you manage to do is annoy your guests. It's supposed to cover Internet but that's supposed to be offered gratis to Hyatt gold and platinum members. Besides the service is spotty In some of the rooms. Charging for the concierge--not so much. And the in-room safe? You've got to be kidding.

Anyway, we'll be back--I hope without a resort fee.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, from the wonderful coastal location to the proximity to Carmel and Big Sur. Thank you for the wonderful review and we hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    175
    87
    63
    44
See reviews for
123
373
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

It is in a great location with a great view of the sunset. We had a suite with a kitchen and fireplace which was nice. The rooms are a bit outdated and the sliding door did not close easily. Be sure to close your windows at night because many people have the fireplace going and the smoke may go into your room. We ordered room service breakfast everyday which was okay, probably not worth it. Other than, it was a beautiful property.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed the stunning views from your room. We appreciate you posting the beautiful pictures. We sincerely hope you will visit us again and thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My daughter and I spent one night here and were wowed by the location and the wood burning fireplace. We had a nice breakfast with a gorgeous view. We had a glorious bike ride with bikes provided at the hotel. It would take a cranky curmudgeon to not love being in this setting. However, I did find the front desk service wanting -- room service ended at 9:30 and I was curtly told that and practically hung up on when I called at 10 to request a nightcap. Later we needed the wifi password and the phone rang and rang -- 40 or 50 times on multiple numbers (front desk, concierge, valet/bell) and no one picked up. The same thing happened in the morning when we called to request bell service. Also, our bathtub backed up with murky water everytime the guests above us flushed their toilet. Kind of sketchy for a top end property. I recommend staying here because you will love the setting and the bedding and fireplaces are nice. But try to get a deal or use points -- otherwise you will resent the apathetic staff at the front desk...the bellmen are very nice and helpful, but it takes a lot of effort to track them down. It's that feeling that there may not really be anyone in charge on the property who takes an ownership view of management. It's been delegated?

Room Tip: We kept reiterating that we wanted a real ocean view and we were not disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed the wonderful location, the wood-burning fireplace and that you were able to enjoy a great bike ride. We will look into your comments regarding the service and appreciate your feedback. We sincerely hope you'll visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We visited here in April to be able to cheer on our son and his friends as runners in the Big Sur marathon. We couldn't have chosen a better location. Our room, which felt like a small cabin had an unbelievable view. We used the fireplace each night which was supplied with wood and made the room so cozy. The ocean view in the day was matched at night with the celestial view from our deck.
The grounds were beautiful and beautifully kept. Great place wish we could have stayed a little longer.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
You're so happy that you stayed with us during your recent visit to the Big Sur marathon. We appreciate the wonderful review and hope that you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have used the Hyatt Carmel Highlands Inn for conducting week-long business team off-sites every year for the last 13 years. It is an older facility with a long and colorful history. It was converted into a combination timeshare / hotel several years ago. It is situated on an extraordinary location. The ambiance is outstanding -- the hotel sits on a steep hillside facing the Pacific ocean with waves crashing over the majestic Carmel Highlands rocky shoreline. The staff is terrific - friendly, well trained, and very professional. The food and wine list is outstanding -- absolutely first class. The hotel rooms are spacious and each one has a deck with an ocean view. Lots of amenities (heated pool, workout facility, hiking trails, bikes, free Wifi, beautiful grounds, big fireplaces, a bar/lounge area with an ocean view to die for, etc.

It is a very relaxing environment with a lot of things to do in nearby Monterey. Truly a special place.

Room Tip: Virtually every room has a deck with a view of the ocean. Most have been refurbished into timeshare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review. We are so happy that you enjoyed our great conference facilities as well as the beautiful views. We sincerely hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Sorry to say, we stayed at The Highlands Inn, Carmel, CA years ago and had the best time ever! However, they recently sold out to Hyatt and things have changed. The rooms are still very nice and service is good. BUT - most of the rooms are now condos for sale and not available for guests as hotel guests. SO, the nice rooms are not available. The only rooms you can get as a hotel guest is right on the road - very noisy. Instead of sitting on your deck admiring the beautiful sunsets, you are thinking - gosh this traffic is awful while inhaling fumes. Other rooms not on the road are by the pool, so these are better, but you still have a "lesser" room than we experienced before Hyatt made this into ownership condos. And yes, let's not forget the sales pitch to buy when you get there!! And these rooms are not inexpensive. Cannot recommend this place anymore.

Room Tip: Try to stay up higher than the pool (away from the road). You just won't be happy if you are by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and will look into your comments. We sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

For a romantic getaway this is the place! We enjoyed a gorgeous suite that featured a large private terrace with an unobstructed ocean view from Point Lobos to the horizon, spa jetted tub for two (also with commanding view), wood burning fireplace, full kitchen and a bed with heavenly linens and down comforters. Room was beautiful, appointed with glass, wood and granite that blend so nicely into this breath taking location.The fine dining options at the hotels amazing restaurants are also offered en suite. Memories that will long be cherished make us eager for our next opportunity to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed a wonderful romantic getaway at our beautiful hotel. We sincerely hope you will visit again soon and thank you for the excellent review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.