We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place, mediocre restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible place, mediocre restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The stay here was incredible but we sought out a review based on the restaurant alone. We were blown away that a four star rated restaurant had food about as good (if not worse)as some of our regular restaurant jaunts that are a quarter of the price. Many of our local Santa Cruz restaurants are ten times better for a fraction if the cost( and that's not saying much). We had the duck and chicken which were both over cooked,flavorless and dry. The polenta had absolutey no flavor. Nothing to complain about from an ordinary restaurant where an entree (an entire entree)costs about twenty bucks.....but when you are paying fifty dollars for a tiny piece meat( sides are extra)....I expect perfection. This restaurant is beyond overpriced. On a positive note the tuna tartar was absolutely incredible!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us and we are sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to our restaurant. We sincerely hope you visit us again and thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    207
    105
    73
    49
See reviews for
142
441
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Hyatt Highlands in Carmel is one of the best hotels I've stayed at. The service is very attentive. At check-in was told that room would not be ready until 5pm - and was offered free drinks at the bar. The lobby bar itself was great - with a beautiful view of the pacific ocean.
Although the buildings are old, the decoration inside the room was up to date with a fireplace and plenty of firewoods. Was upgraded to a suite including a giant bathtub. Of course the highlight is still the million-dollar view.
Breakfast was excellent. Gym was excellent. 5 stars!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy that you enjoyed the beautiful view of the ocean over drinks at the bar. We sincerely hope you visit us again and thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Loved the view and room. Fireplace is set with logs and you just have to light it to enjoy. Get a room with a balcony and view of the ocean. The restaurant was fabulous. Elegant and again, the views are breathtaking at sunset.

Room Tip: Balcony view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review! We are so happy that you enjoyed the wonderful sunset as well as the wood-burning fireplace. We sincerely hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otisville, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a one bedroom for a week. We had a wonderful stay!! The hotel/timeshare is made up of a number of different buildings on a hillside overlooking the Pacific. We had a wonderful view from our room!! The hotel even supplied us with binoculars to watch for whales.

This is a very unique property. The bedroom is open to the living room and bathroom. (The toilet is in its own room.) If you require privacy, there are beautiful door panels hung on tracks that you can position so that no one can see into the bedroom and or bathroom. My son and his girlfriend stayed with us for a few nights. They slept on a sofa sleeper in the living room. They said the comfort was way above average for a sleeper sofa.

Each room also has a wood burning fireplace. The housekeepers supplied us with wood each day. There are places very close to each unit where you can go to get more wood.

The bar and restaurants were located in a separate building that had huge picture windows overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Besides the great view, the food was excellent!!

The location was great! It is very close to Point Lobos State Reserve and a 10-20 minute drive to Carmel by the Sea and Monterey.

Room Tip: Best to be on the top floor overlooking the ocean. Our view was considered a horizon view, but we st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed a wonderful week long stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Great views and outstanding service.Very friendly staff.The restaurant was yummy for lunch.It is close to Big Sur,Carmel and Montery.We were in a remodeled room,and it was bright and fresh.Really enjoyed our stay.There are a lot of steps,so it is not for everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're so happy that you enjoyed the beautiful views and dining with us at California Market for lunch. We sincerely hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

A bit biased as we are Hyatt Resident Club members, but this is one of the great historic locations along the Carmel coast. High on the hills south of Carmel, overlooking Pt.Lobos. Staff is great and the rooms are cozy with full kitchens, fireplaces, tubes and views. Nothing dated about it as long as you understand this is upscale rustic, not a big city Hyatt. However, they are finishing a remodel of all rooms by end of March 2014. Sunset Lounge is a nice alternative to Pacific Edge Dining room if you want more casual as it has extensive bar menu. Friday and saturday music and dancing the weekend we were there with a mix of older, middle aged crowd. Fantastic spot.

Room Tip: Townhouses have upper loft with views and plenty of room for four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We're so happy that you enjoyed a fantastic getaway with us. The Sunset Lounge is always a nice place to relax… We are happy that you enjoyed it! We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The units are basically two bedroom condos. They do have spectacular views (you can see Pebble Beach on a clear day) and very well appointed with good amenities. The main restaurant is good for a nice dinner, again with a great view. Service is good and staff is friendly.

Room Tip: Very close to Big Sur and Pebble Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! You're so happy that you and your husband enjoyed a wonderful getaway and that you enjoyed the stunning views as well as dining with us. We sincerely hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
3.7 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.