We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Luxurious and Pampering!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Los Altos, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Luxurious and Pampering!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Hyatt Highlands in Carmel is one of the best hotels I've stayed at. The service is very attentive. At check-in was told that room would not be ready until 5pm - and was offered free drinks at the bar. The lobby bar itself was great - with a beautiful view of the pacific ocean.
Although the buildings are old, the decoration inside the room was up to date with a fireplace and plenty of firewoods. Was upgraded to a suite including a giant bathtub. Of course the highlight is still the million-dollar view.
Breakfast was excellent. Gym was excellent. 5 stars!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy that you enjoyed the beautiful view of the ocean over drinks at the bar. We sincerely hope you visit us again and thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    175
    85
    61
    44
See reviews for
122
370
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Loved the view and room. Fireplace is set with logs and you just have to light it to enjoy. Get a room with a balcony and view of the ocean. The restaurant was fabulous. Elegant and again, the views are breathtaking at sunset.

Room Tip: Balcony view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review! We are so happy that you enjoyed the wonderful sunset as well as the wood-burning fireplace. We sincerely hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otisville, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a one bedroom for a week. We had a wonderful stay!! The hotel/timeshare is made up of a number of different buildings on a hillside overlooking the Pacific. We had a wonderful view from our room!! The hotel even supplied us with binoculars to watch for whales.

This is a very unique property. The bedroom is open to the living room and bathroom. (The toilet is in its own room.) If you require privacy, there are beautiful door panels hung on tracks that you can position so that no one can see into the bedroom and or bathroom. My son and his girlfriend stayed with us for a few nights. They slept on a sofa sleeper in the living room. They said the comfort was way above average for a sleeper sofa.

Each room also has a wood burning fireplace. The housekeepers supplied us with wood each day. There are places very close to each unit where you can go to get more wood.

The bar and restaurants were located in a separate building that had huge picture windows overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Besides the great view, the food was excellent!!

The location was great! It is very close to Point Lobos State Reserve and a 10-20 minute drive to Carmel by the Sea and Monterey.

Room Tip: Best to be on the top floor overlooking the ocean. Our view was considered a horizon view, but we st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed a wonderful week long stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Great views and outstanding service.Very friendly staff.The restaurant was yummy for lunch.It is close to Big Sur,Carmel and Montery.We were in a remodeled room,and it was bright and fresh.Really enjoyed our stay.There are a lot of steps,so it is not for everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're so happy that you enjoyed the beautiful views and dining with us at California Market for lunch. We sincerely hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

A bit biased as we are Hyatt Resident Club members, but this is one of the great historic locations along the Carmel coast. High on the hills south of Carmel, overlooking Pt.Lobos. Staff is great and the rooms are cozy with full kitchens, fireplaces, tubes and views. Nothing dated about it as long as you understand this is upscale rustic, not a big city Hyatt. However, they are finishing a remodel of all rooms by end of March 2014. Sunset Lounge is a nice alternative to Pacific Edge Dining room if you want more casual as it has extensive bar menu. Friday and saturday music and dancing the weekend we were there with a mix of older, middle aged crowd. Fantastic spot.

Room Tip: Townhouses have upper loft with views and plenty of room for four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We're so happy that you enjoyed a fantastic getaway with us. The Sunset Lounge is always a nice place to relax… We are happy that you enjoyed it! We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The units are basically two bedroom condos. They do have spectacular views (you can see Pebble Beach on a clear day) and very well appointed with good amenities. The main restaurant is good for a nice dinner, again with a great view. Service is good and staff is friendly.

Room Tip: Very close to Big Sur and Pebble Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! You're so happy that you and your husband enjoyed a wonderful getaway and that you enjoyed the stunning views as well as dining with us. We sincerely hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week while in the Carmel Valley. The resort is immaculate and all the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The room was very clean and updated and our daily maid was one of the hardest working people I ever met. This resort also has excellent views of the Pacific and is in a rustic setting, with buildings staggered up a cliff, and is across the street from the Pacific Ocean. It is within walking distance to Point Lobos Nature Reserve which offers excellent hiking along the coast. There is a Safeway Grocery store in a shopping center a couple miles north of the resort. Carmel by the Sea is just up the hill from the shopping center with its restaurants and quaint shops.

The resort has complimentary mountain bikes which were in excellent shape and well maintained. It also has a nice fitness center, 3 clean hot tubs and a pooI. I do wish that at check-in the staff would remind you what is available at the resort during ones stay. My niece found out they had yoga classes for a fee, but she did not know this till the evening before we left. We also discovered other amenities later in the week we would have enjoyed had we known.

The resort has some handicap accessible rooms, but it would be difficult to impossible to navigate the resort if one was in a wheelchair, motorized cart, or crutches, or has limited mobility. Many of the rooms have multiple steps to navigate to enter a room ( The resort was built in 1917 and the Hyatt took over ownership in 1999). The staff will give one complimentary transportation on a golf cart from their room to the lobby or the hotel restaurant. They really do everything possible to make ones stay the best it can be!

I will definitely return to this resort when I return to the Carmel area. They have been updating the rooms and ours was beautiful and the bed was so comfy! The indoor fireplaces were a plus for the cool nights we experienced. The maid even prepared the fireplace daily so all we had to do was light a match. The wood must have been a kilned wood. Our room did not get smoky as a read in a previous review. Thanks to all the staff and great management that made our stay a 5 star experience! Hope to see you soon!

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as several of the amenities. Hot tubs, pool and mountain bikes are always great fun and the yoga classes are a great way to relax in the morning. We sincerely hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.