We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locationx3” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #12 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Locationx3”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We swapped our Incline Village timeshare week for 4 nights at Hyatt Carmel Highlands Inn. It took us several years of trying. Remarkable location sitting along the hillside overlooking the ocean. Close enough to Sea Lion island (highly recommend visiting Point Lobos State Park where the trails take you out to the cliffs overlooking several "sea lion" beaches - you can park along Highway 1 to avoid the day charge or walk - we jogged - the mile from the hotel) that you can hear the sea lions barking. Every place has a balcony and ocean view, wood burning fireplace. We also enjoyed hanging out at the fire pit ( with a nice bottle of wine we acquire while wine tasting in the Carmel Valley), the pool and hot tub in the evening). The views from the restaurants and lounge were stunning. I took my yoga mat out to the gazebo and did yoga with a 360 views! Market cafe is fabulous and service was great. They also have bikes for your use. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed the wonderful location and breathtaking views- a truly unique stay! We thank you for the great review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    148
    68
    52
    39
See reviews for
91
310
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cohasset, ma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Our view was amazing. We spent countless hours sitting on the balcony watching the whales and listening to the waves. I don't think our experience would have been half as good if we didn't have our view. The hotel is beautiful and the lobby has great searing to look out to the water. A very nice surprise to the end of our week long California vacation!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed the wonderful ocean views and whale watching from your balcony! We thank you for the great review and we hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We visited for dinner! (2 couples) the food was magnificent, cooked to perfection! Ambience great, great choice on the menu both food and wine.... A little expensive but you get what you pay for! Would visit again if I am in this part of the world. Great dining experience....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are so happy you enjoyed the dining at our restaurants and we hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a slight hiccup booking our stay with American Express last year. The front desk manager was so nice. She made amends, though not their fault, and took care of the problem and even upgraded us. That room was gorgeous. All went really well..

So, we looked forward to celebrating another belated anniversary again this summer. I wrote ahead to confirm everything, request for a quiet room and firm pillows. The previous manager had moved on to another property so I heard from another manager at the front office, Emmanuel Capili. He couldn't have been nicer as well. He made note that we were meeting up in Carmel ( my husband was flying in from Scotland and me from Singapore). When we arrived, he surprised us with the upgrade to end all upgrades!! My goodness. I think our jaws were on the floor the entire stay! He upgraded us to THE Point Lobos suite. I had no idea of its existence till then.

The suite was attached to the main building but felt remote enough. It was quiet and you couldn't hear the traffic from the main road. The suite was huge. Kind of like your own little casita away from everything. It had a living and dining room with a fire place and windows that looked out to the Pacific ocean. The bedroom, with a fireplace, was decent sized with a powder room off to the side. The sliding doors opened out to a patio with the full view of the ocean. Lastly,the bathroom, to me, was the piece de resistance. It was huge and had a big square tub with windows that looked out to the ocean. What was special was the fireplace. We loved loved loved it. Sooooo heavenly to say the least.

So can you understand how hard it was for us to leave the suite in the 3 days we were there? It was so cozy and spectacular at the same time.

We chose to enjoy breakfast in the room both mornings. (Under the Amex plan, breakfast was included.) The room, the view, the fireplace, the sound of the ocean, the wonderful food..... I'd say there is no better way to wake up in the morning. This was perfection and a bucket list check. It just doesn't get any better than this.

No need to talk about bathroom amenities ( they're different from last year but great.!), the gym, the staff, the great dinner at Pacific's Edge...... Everything is same as it was last year. Just perfect. The entire stay was superlative.

In all our 15+ years of staying here, we have sailed in and out without fanfare. Until last year, that was the first time we had an upgrade. Noone has acknowledged our loyalty or taken care of us. Maybe it's Hyatt that recently took over ( after a few horrible stays under previous management, we thought we'd never return.) or maybe it was serendipitous that we chanced upon two extremely nice managers, no, just extrememly nice people. They didn't have to but they went out of their way to take care of us and make us feel special. Now, we will be loyal Hyatt customers for life!

Thank you, Emmanuel Capili. And thank you to the Hyatt Carmel Highlands. Your kind hospitality will keep us coming back. We've already booked our stay for Thanksgiving and are bringing my parents.

( PS: Since returning, we read somewhere that the Point Lobos suite was a favorite with Marilyn Monroe. Wow! Frank Sinatra also loved staying here as well. Didn't say which room.)

Room Tip: We usually request for rooms higher up so we don't hear the traffic. However, the suite we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are so happy that you have been staying with us over the years and that your most recent visit surpassed previous visits! We appreciate your wonderful review and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosch en Duin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Without doubt this place offers great views but that is something you can get at more places in and around Carmel.
Looking in greater detail one can see that certain parts of this complex are a bit outdated e.g. worn out. Focussing on our lunch we have to say that we couldn't enjoy the views given the rain coming in. Seated inside we had our lunch but thought it was nothing special. Food at a quality level you can get at many places but given the prices they charge you it is below standard. In other words the price perfomance ratio is far too low.
The drinks were okay but have to say the pineapple juice had a peculiar taste. A flavor that let me believe it was close to a fermenting point.
All in all way too expensive for what they offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed the wonderful views and we appreciate your feedback regarding your dining experience. We will look into your comments and thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I spent three nights here with my family, and was not disappointed. The staff are attentive, yet not intrusive. The location is second to none, and the views are spectacular. I will certainly return when I am able. The food was very good, the cocktails were excellent, and the memories of enjoying Big Sur with the family at a wonderful property will be with us forever.

Regarding comments about the time-share (e.g. Vacation Club) aspects of the property - it is certainly true that some guests are there because they are "previewing" the property, and some are using their annual week at the property. However, this was not an invasive element of the stay - I barely noticed this aspect.

And, for those who complained about the valet services, tipping etc. - you are staying at a hotel with rooms in the $500-$900 range. If you are just using the hotel as a launching point to enjoy the surrounding area, and you are not accustomed to valet and concierge services, then you might be put off. But, please realize that this is a resort, and intended to be a place where you can enjoy the property for a extended period. The hotel is pricey, but a solid value. If you don't care to use the valet services, then self-park and walk.

We were thrilled with the experience, and will certainly return if possible.

Room Tip: The ocean view town homes have spectacular view of the area - book one if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed staying with us and we appreciate your feedback regarding the timeshares and valet. We sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We left the Hyatt Highland this morning after a two night stay. The area is beautiful, the hotel is very cold, especially in the main lounges and bar/restaraunt. The bedrooms do not have a mini bar and when I ordered a diet Pepsi it cost around $8.50 for can with a plastic cup. We were told we had Internet in the room and were not told it was chargeable. When we checked out it was $40 for two days!!! A lovely setting but not a high class hotel. We were woken up at 6am by the people staying above us as the floors are so thin it sounded like they were re arranging the furniture for an hour. Carmel is very special though and we still had a lovely time, just didn't feel the hotel was as good as it could be, needs some up dating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is as high as possible, the higher you are the better the view of the ocean, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed staying with us and we appreciate your feedback regarding the noise in your room and the temperature in the lounge. We will look into your comments and we sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt
Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.