We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hyatt Carmel Highlands probably has one of the best locations in Big Sur/ California coast. We were so lucky to stay there during such clear days to immensely enjoy the breath-taking view of the ocean right from our balcony. It was also an amazing time for whale watching as a pod of whales decided to hang out all day in front of the resort. We could literally see them popping up/ spraying water without the binoviewers every few seconds, from morning to dawn. I also loved waking up to the sounds of birds and seals and the smell of firewood burning on Hyatt’s high standard comfy bed – such special rustic luxurious feeling that hard to find elsewhere.
Services at Hyatt also met our expectations – polite, pleasant and smiley employees all around. We were happily welcomed by a personal bell person who took us around to introduce the resort’s properties and to our room. Housekeeping offered water bottles and checked up to see if we needed anything. Services at the restaurants were a little bit slow at rushed time, but the view would keep you entertained the whole time. Most hotel guests that we saw were older couples and a few families with young children, and even though the walls in the room were pretty thin, it was overall pretty quiet and relax environment during our stay.
We had an ocean view king room, and the room itself was probably not worth its price tag. The ready-to-use wood burn fireplace was nice touch, and the bed was comfy and big, however, it took most of the space in the room. The bathroom was a bit outdated, small with no bathtub. If it were a foggier day and no whales, I’m afraid we would be slightly disappointed with our decision to stay there.
If you have never been to Carmel, Point Lobos hike is a must, so is Carmel by the sea (15 minutes up North) and McWay waterfalls (half an hour down south). There are also wonderful local fruit stands and farmer markets around the area. Hope you will enjoy your stay at Hyatt Carmel Highlands!

Room Tip: definitely ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed the wonderful location! We hope you visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    179
    89
    68
    44
See reviews for
124
384
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great location! Superior Staff! Pacific's Edge for dinner is amazing to say the least! "A" for effort!!
You can only do so much with the tools you are given! It's time for Hyatt to get themselves in gear to come and save this property and it's excellent staff!! Really...it's time!!
Overpriced inadequate Villa!!

Walked across the living room just once with out shoes and my foot was bleeding from the exposed carpet tacking. Plus carpet is in need of replacement.

No A/C or ceiling fan. Rooms are extremely stuffy. Screen door in the upstairs living was torn
and the lock did not work. Downstairs bedroom sliding glass door is made inoperable. Just a small cut out window was created for ventilation.

I did call the front desk and was able to secure a box fan. For 600 plus a night I'm not going to put up with it! Maybe in a 3rd world country...

I can tell some restoration/updating has been done. But it's a bandage when surgery is needed.

I only stayed one night and opted to check out and find another Hotel. They tried to charge me an early C/O fee of 170.00!!

I come to this area several times a year and wanted to try something different. Stay on the Highlands side to enjoy some of the sites and restaurant's. I usually stay at the Plaza in Monterey. I'm sorry, I just was not happy there at all. Actually...that is where I am writing this review. From my beautiful Bay Side King Balcony Room happy as a clam listening to the surf with a nice cool breeze!!

I will come back for Pacific's Edge but not to stay until Hyatt gets their act together and does a "rescue".

Room Tip: Pick up your phone and make reservations else where!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed the wonderful views and dining at Pacific's Edge, and we are so sorry you did not enjoy your room accommodations. We will look into your comments and apologize for your inconvenience. We sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is one of the nicest Hotels that we have stayed at in the Carmel area. The staff was very friendly, and the rooms were very nice. We had an ocean view room with a fireplace that was very cozy. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us and we sincerely hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We try to visit the Highlands at least once a year. The lodgings include a fireplace as well as a small kitchen. Since we generally saty a few days this comes in handy.
Restaurant is a bit pricy and breakfast can easily run $40 for two, but its vacation and since the ambience, and views are great we really dont mind. Take some time to have a cocktail in the bar and take in the view. One evening we simply could not leave and had appitizers and drinks for dinner, and just walked home.
Carmel is only a short drive and Monterey and Cannery Row should not be missed.
All in all this is a very nice, elegant get away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are so happy you stay with us regularly and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rooms are luxurious. A fireplace in each unit. Staff are friendly and eager to help. The view is excellent. Food at the restaurant was excellent. Big Sur and Carmel are delightful as is nearby Monterey. The exercise room was a step away from our room and was furnished with the latest equipment.

Room Tip: Get the Ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
We are so happy you enjoy the wonderful fireplaces and the friendly staff. We thank you for the great review and we hope you visit us again next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I love Carmel and have been there many times. Was looking forward to staying at the Highlands. I was greatly disappointed. If you have any difficulties with stairs and hills, do not even think of staying there. View lovely. But the view is terrific anywhere in Carmel. Rooms larger and more breathtaking and easier further up the road at the Tinkle Pink Inn.

Room Tip: Go to Katy's in town for breakfast. Huge portions and food excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We will look into your comments and we sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Let me first start with the good things about this hotel. View is great and the restaurant, Ocean's Edge, is lovely with great food and wonderful views of the ocean. Lobby is nice and big.

Now the bad. Firstly, it is not entirely clear the Hughland Inn, which is the name if the property on the grounds is the Hyatt. There is a main sign at the road turn in, but no Hyatt sign on the property itself. Now the rooms. We were first put in a king ocean view room. The toilet area was shocking. The sink was outside, and the bathtub and toilet looked like something out of a 60s inn. It was clean. That's all I can say for it. The mini bar had nothing. not even sure why they keep itin the room. all mini bars, we were told, are empty.....We were moved to a suite the next day when it became available. It was two storeys and had a big bathroom with jacuzzi. Finally, a room worthy of a Hyatt.

We asked when it was that Hyatt took over the inn, thinking it was recent and thus explaining the lack of renovation.....the answer: 1999.

Nuff said.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed the wonderful views and dining at Pacific's Edge, and we are so sorry you did not enjoy your room accommodations. We will look into your comments and we sincerely hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.