We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, romantic hotel (too bad we had the kids!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful, romantic hotel (too bad we had the kids!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night as we drove up Hwy 1 to San Francisco. We had the kids with us, so it was not ideal for this hotel. I will say that we would have LOVED this place for a romantic adults-only getaway. It is not meant for kids, but we wanted to check it out & knew we were only there for a night. We used Hyatt points, so it was a good value for us. We ate room service on our balcony (with amazing Pacific Ocean views), so cannot comment on restaurants. However, the room service was very good.

I would love to return someday with just my husband and I. The room has a wood burning fireplace, lovely views, and a cozy and romantic feel about it.

I would not stay here with children again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you have the opportunity to visit us again! Thank you for the wonderful review and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    175
    87
    63
    44
See reviews for
123
373
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A great Hyatt property with tranquility. Great views, excellent dining, especially the breakfast lunch spot outdoors. Close to Carmel and to its' superb ambiance, shopping and food. Then there is the 17 mile drive in Carmel and the Monterey Aquarium. Then just across the road is a nice little state park for great walks and swimming.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We're happy you enjoyed the beautiful views and dining! We thank you for the great review and we hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The setting is over the top fabulous with it's view of the Pacific. The room feels very dated, with low ceilings, 20+ year old furniture, and cheap faucets. When we entered our room it had the smell of mildew, and we had to open the patio door to let in fresh air to clear out the smell. It felt like being in the 1990's. There is no air-conditioning, and in the late afternoon when the sun streams into the room, the room can feel like an oven because it gets so hot. The worst part of the room was that it was very noisy from Highway 1. We left our windows open at night to keep the room cool, but being so close to the highway there was constant traffic noise all night long. And the noise was really, really loud--ALL NIGHT LONG. If only the décor of the rooms matched that of the lobby, which they do not. It just felt like a decent motel next to a busy highway with a to die for view. Will not return as it did not feel like good value. We had heard good things, but I think time has passed this hotel by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We will look into your comments and we are so sorry your room was warm during your visit. Thank you for taking the time to review and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands for one night on our way down the Pacifc Coast Highway and it was one of the best nights of a long trip.

The Hyatt is located a few miles south of Carmel, just above the highway, with wonderful views on the coastline. My wife especially liked the views and atmosphere in the lobby, which has two big fireplaces that create a cozy atmosphere.

We were assigned a single-story room with a kingsize bed and two patios, one facing the (small but nice) pool area and one facing the ocean. Room interior was impeccable and up to Hyatt standards. The room also had a fireplace, with wood already prepared. As the evenings get quite cold even in the summer, it was wonderful to stay in the room with a fire running all evening.

Dinner at the Pacific Edge restaurant was pricey but well worth it, again wonderful views of the ocean, excellent service and superb kitchen. The bar also offers some options for a more easy-going dinner.

Breakfast options are bit confusing. If you book breakfast with your room (as we did) you receive a voucher of a certain value ($18/person if I remember right) to spend at the California Market, which however offers mainly American style breakfast options and prices each item separately (coffee, juice, etc.). Most likely you will end up exceeding the value of your voucher and will need to pay for the difference - no big amounts, but it's not really a customer friendly system.

We will definitely stay again if we're back in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for the 5-star review! We are so happy you enjoyed the wonderful views and a relaxing dinner at Pacific'c Edge. We hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We loved our one night stay at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast. We had an Ocean view room with balcony. We had a cozy fireplace in our room. The coast was a bit cold even though it was summer. The Pacific’s Edge Restaurant is a must. The food was delicious and the wine list was amazing. I had the Oysters and my husband had the scallops. We had it with DuMol which is my new Chardonnay favorite. The view with glass walls of the ocean views was amazing. The service was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are so happy you enjoyed the delicious oysters and the DeMol is a great choice! We sincerely hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Incredible view when sea fog clears. In 3 days we only had one sunset we could actually see.
Friendly and efficient staff.
Dinner options limited and it's a drive to local towns. Dinner is either limited menu in fabulous sunset lounge or very fancy main restaurant which is not really an option for families.
Room service menu great so it is an option.
We had a one storey townhouse- really recommend for families.
Beds super comfy including the sofa bed in lounge.
The comfort and the views are well worth a stay if you don't mind paying a bit over the odds.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a townhouse and definitely a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you had a wonderful stay- the coastal fog can limit the beautiful view at times, but we are happy you were able to experience at least one of the stunning sunsets! We sincerely hope you will join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in an ocean view townhouse suite during a weekend trip to Monterey/Carmel/Big Sur in April 2013. The property is perched high above highway one with amazing views of the Pacific Ocean. We were able to watch the sunset from the balcony in our living toom - picture perfect.

The property is on the small size with limited activites. There is a pool with jacuzzi and a trail to go hiking. They provide rental bicycles but the idea seemed a bit dangerous since highway one is a curvy two lane highway without a bicycle lane. Carmel and Monterey are a short drive away so this property is an escape from the touristy sites such as Cannery Row and the wharf. The property is also right off of highway one and north of Big Sur. The drive south on highway one is BEAUTIFUL and one of the prettiest in the US.

The suite was large, spacious, with a full kitchen, two bathrooms (one with a hot tub), and a wood burning fireplace. The resort and the suite had a cabin/out doorsy feel to it - almost like we were camping. The room could use a facelift.

As diamond members, we received complimentary breakfast at California Market. We also had dinner at Pacific Edge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed staying with us and enjoyed the beautiful views along the coastline. We will look into your comments and we sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon- thank you for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.