We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend getaway near big sur” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #14 of 21 hotels in Carmel
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“weekend getaway near big sur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in an ocean view townhouse suite during a weekend trip to Monterey/Carmel/Big Sur in April 2013. The property is perched high above highway one with amazing views of the Pacific Ocean. We were able to watch the sunset from the balcony in our living toom - picture perfect.

The property is on the small size with limited activites. There is a pool with jacuzzi and a trail to go hiking. They provide rental bicycles but the idea seemed a bit dangerous since highway one is a curvy two lane highway without a bicycle lane. Carmel and Monterey are a short drive away so this property is an escape from the touristy sites such as Cannery Row and the wharf. The property is also right off of highway one and north of Big Sur. The drive south on highway one is BEAUTIFUL and one of the prettiest in the US.

The suite was large, spacious, with a full kitchen, two bathrooms (one with a hot tub), and a wood burning fireplace. The resort and the suite had a cabin/out doorsy feel to it - almost like we were camping. The room could use a facelift.

As diamond members, we received complimentary breakfast at California Market. We also had dinner at Pacific Edge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed staying with us and enjoyed the beautiful views along the coastline. We will look into your comments and we sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon- thank you for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    163
    79
    54
    42
See reviews for
109
345
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Califonia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The view is incredible since the property sits on the bluffs overlooking the ocean. Our room had a fantastic view. The grounds are immaculate and the landscaping perfect and beautiful. Service was for the most part good, especially from the housekeeping and maintenance workers, who were unfailingly friendly. There were a few shortcomings, though. We were treated to a nice gift for our anniversary, which was a great touch. The lobby and the rooms, though, are in need of refurbishing. The furniture is not only dated but worn, as are some of the fixtures. The wood burning fireplace in the room was a great addition, but there were few electrical outlets--just two mostly hidden and mostly full power strips. TV picture quality was bad. The exterior has corroded metal railings and missing or broken wood shingles on the building sides. It is a great stay for the view and grounds, but it should be so much better.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the property for an unobstructed view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed staying with us and we appreciate your feedback regarding your TV and room. We will look into your comments and we sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here on points and got an upgraded view (kingsize room.) We did a driving tour of northern Cali starting in San Fran and this was the 2nd spot of the tour. It's an easy drive south from SF to Carmel. We chose this hotel from available Hyatts based on the TA reviews, which I found to be accurate. It's definitely a beautiful property with great service. When we arrived, we were warmly greeted - our room was still being cleaned, so we waited in extended lobby area. We spoke with the concierge and she gave us a map of Carmel by the Sea with a few recommendations. The hotel room was a little small, being part of a group of rooms. The valet cheerfully carried all of our bags to the room up multiple stairs. We had 2 balconies - one in the back of the room overlooking the ocean (in the distance) and the other on the pool side. There were a few disappointments in the room, that can easily be fixed by management, I believe. The wireless connection kept dropping. You could not get a signal on the balcony at all. In addition, there were not enough plugs. Seriously, they need to add at least 3 plugs for charging phones, etc. There is a perfect spot for this - by the front door where they have a piece of furniture to put your things. This is also a time-share property and we overheard some people talking to the sales people. We were given a 15% discount for breakfast just for staying there and no sales pitch was required. The breakfast was pretty good. We had a little glitch at checkout - there were 2 food orders added to our bill. It took a while to remove them (system controls, I suspect) and the front desk was very apologetic about it. Looked like sloppy record-keeping (he showed me the paper bills and the room number and name didn't look anything like ours.) These things made me give them 4 instead of 5 stars. The bed was comfortable and there was an inviting fireplace, which we did not use. We did purchase a s'mores kit from the gift shop and made some over a firepit by the pool. The pool was heated, but we didn't use it, but saw a few people braving the cooler temperatures. We drove the 17-mile drive and found the scenery beautiful. This was a good spot to return at the end of the day. Would probably stay here again if we returned, but not an absolute certainty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are so happy you enjoyed the wonderful views and our friendly service. We hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a great place for a 2 or 3 day stay. Location one of the best I've stayed at overlooking the Pacific and in a way that you can't really see the cars whizzing by on Route 101 below. Rooms really nice - we had a 1 bed suite on the top floor. Very good indeed. Only real issue the weather - if you stay here you have to accept that this part of the California is not blessed with guaranteed sunshine and tends to the cool and overcast.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for the five-star review! We are happy you enjoyed our beautiful property despite the coastal fog. We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

What a beautiful location. When we arrived (it was 7pm) we asked if we could get into the restaurant for 8pm. They got us in even though it was a Saturday night.

We were pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to our room to find an openfire place with all the necessities to get it going!
The balcony was a little old, but beautiful and had a lovely view of the water.
The rooms are also a little warn but still nice. We had our 6yr old with us & squeezing another single bed in was a little tricky. It was a blow up mattress also which he was not so keen on!
We headed up to dinner & found we had a table right on the window with the most SPECTACULAR view! We were fortunate enough to have a clear night & watched a beautiful sunset over the water. The food and service were fantastic and afterwards we retired to the lounge/bar area and had a dance to the live music. Fantastic atmosphere in the "main" lodge part of the hotel.
We did not go in the pool but it looked nice enough and there were people in it late at night so it must of been warm!
The room we had was up a few flights of stairs which was great for the view, killer for the luggage! Lets just say the bellman got a big tip!
We lit the fireplace when we returned after dinner & it was very romantic and our little boy thought it was great, however at 2am we all woke up dehydrated and needing a drink!!! (It was June!! So maybe dont load it up with much wood if you are there in summer!)
When we called to leave & have our bags picked up they bought our car around to the base of the stairs and loaded it straight away.
A beautiful part of the California coast!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! The fireplaces are a nice treat in the evening when the weather cools off. We hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

It's like a cabin along the coastline with an exclusive view! The chilly fog at night makes the in-room wood-burning fireplace just the ticket. Wooden sidewalks wind throughout the complex and you'll want to have a porter carry your bags to your room...but keep him there a few extra minutes to get a few armloads of firewood for yourselves so you don't have to call or run down yourself when you've gone through the lot of it. There are several vantage points from which to sip your wine including your own balcony, communal fire rings with seating, the pool, and of course the main lodge in the lobby where we were treated to a few complimentary glasses of vino in the evenings. Even with their pricing, they are frequently all booked up. Don't think "swanky" think "relaxation". I cannot see bringing kids here, but I'm sure people do it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed the wonderful views and we sincerely hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visited last month as an exchange within the Hyatt Vacation Club. We had a nice two story room with a beautiful ocean view. When I had made our reservation, I indicated that it was for a special anniversary and I was delighted to find a nice gift in our room when checked in. We cooked some of our meals in the room and found the kitchen to have everything we needed. The big spa tub was wonderfully relaxing. We needed to call engineering once because the TV wasn't working and he quickly came and diagnosed a loose wire. Everyone we encountered there was so friendly. I would rate this place a 5 except that I felt the carpeting was overdue for replacement.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we appreciate your feedback regarding the carpeting. We sincerely hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.