We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views & Helpful Staff. Pay a premium for view and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Views & Helpful Staff. Pay a premium for view and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hyatt is located in Carmel Highlands, a 10 minute drive from Carmel. The hotel is situated on top of a hill and is spread out. We stayed for three nights here is my pro's and con's

Pros
Views- Best place to stay close to Caramel with views of the ocean. Views are larger than what you would get in the city.
Location- close enough to the Carmel to drive for dinner, far enough to have less traffic flow and people
Rooms- Fireplace was excellent and porches were spacious
staff- was very helpful, Maria the consierte, front desk staff and bar staff.
Food- breakfast was excellent in the lower restaurant, we did not try dinner
landscaping- beautifully maintained with different landscapes, foliage and plants

Con's
Noise You can hear your neighbors, walls are thin.
Timeshare property- salesman congregate in the main lobby where the views are and pitch to prospective clients. Kind of a cheap feel to it as we wanted to relax and had to listen to them for 30 minutes.
Price- Kind of on the high end for what you get but..
fitness center- kind of weak but pool area is good.

If you want to have the best view of the Ocean and not stay in the city this is the place for you. Pebble Beach and big sure have great views but are also 1k a night. If you want to stay in the Valley sure you'll have a bigger room but no ocean view. Like warmer weather with sun stay in the Valley. Hyatt is very close to point Lobos, convenient and saves time if you go to Big Sur, they are on the way. yes price is high but it's Carmel. Service was good but not 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up, on second floor, and away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We appreciate your review- it helps us to see what you enjoyed and where we can improve. We will look into your comments and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us overall. We sincerely hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    198
    101
    73
    48
See reviews for
138
426
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Unfortunately this Hyatt hotel doesn't leave up to the ordinary Hyatt standards. The hotel requires a true overhaul, and the view, although beautiful, doesn't merrit the high prices. The suite was run down, had old carpets and the windows no longer closed well. The breakfast was just average and the service mirrored the image of a fast-food restaurant. The staff was professional but not necessary forthcoming, but I assume that the high frequency of "one-night" guests have left their footprints on the way the hotel is managed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will look into your comments and we appreciate your feedback. We sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Built on a steep hill, there are stairs everywhere on this property. Tiny parking areas with poor access to the some of the smallest rooms I've seen at a Hyatt property made lugging our bags a real chore, so paying for some assistance might be a back-saving tactic here. The path from the lobby to our room led into and out of a pool area, which is odd to say the least as we needed to step around puddles and kids to reach the next set of stairs. The room itself was clean and well appointed but creaky and cramped. What might have been a spectacular view of the ocean was well blocked by mature foliage and trees, so don't go for the view. The parking area that wound up being closest to our room was so small that there was no way to even turn the car around in it, and we needed to back down the very steep driveway to the main road when leaving.

For the cost, this is not a property I will return to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us. We appreciate your review- it helps us to know what you enjoyed and where we need to improve. We will look into your comments and thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have been a loyal Hyatt customer for a long time, and have spent time at many of their higher end resort properties. Given the price of the rooms at this location, I expected a high level of service, cleanliness and room design, but this location needs a refurbishment. The staff was friendly enough, but nothing approaching a 5 star hotel. The views and potential for these rooms is off the charts - they sit on the cliff, overlooking the Pacific with great views of the sunset. Unfortunately, that is about all you're paying for. The rooms were just too old - walls are thing and the decks need to be refinished / painted and in some cases, boards replaced. Add on the over the top room service menu prices, and this hotel does not stand up to any of the competition available in the Carmel / Monterey area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us, and we encourage you to call and speak with our general manager. We pride ourselves on wonderful customer service, and a truly memorable, beautiful visit on this stunning property. We hope you will consider staying with us again and we hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The moment I walked in I could see incredible views of the Monterey coast. As good as anything you see in Big Sur. Had view from room and deck as well as from restaurant. Room very nice with working fireplace that they set up for you to use. Service incredible. It's obvious that the employees are proud of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed staying with us and that you enjoyed the stunning views! We sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The main building and restaurant are spectacular with a superb ocean view. Many of the guest rooms have superb views also. However, the guest room that we stayed in (which is assumed to be somewhat standard) was not up to a luxury hotel quality hotel standard and was somewhat disappointing based on the price. The bathroom was small and the bathtub lacked drain stopper The staff were great and responsive.

Food in the main dining room was excellent and the fabulous view along with excellent food made dining there a worthwhile experience.

Room Tip: Because of the topography, many of the rooms are located off of the pool area which means many stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are so happy you enjoyed restaurants and the stunning views and we appreciate your feedback regarding the rooms. We will look into your comments and we sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and i stay at hyatt resorts across the country and the carmel highlands is defintely one of the more spectaular settings we have been to. The resort itself overall was very accomodating and had fantastic garden areas and views of the Pacific Coast. We thoroughly enjoyed the fireplace in our room and the porch with great ocean viewing. While the staff was courteous, we found ourselves trying to avoid the office and restaurant area as they were far too aggressive in trying to sell us a time share. I do agree with other reviewers that the rooms need a makeover and we could definitely hear our neighbors abive and around us. We will go back again but suggest to hotel management to scale back on time share sales agressiveness and perform some updating to the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed the beautiful setting and we appreciate your feedback regarding your rooms and the staff. We will look into your comments and we sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#14 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.