We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and quirky” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Overpriced and quirky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Built on a steep hill, there are stairs everywhere on this property. Tiny parking areas with poor access to the some of the smallest rooms I've seen at a Hyatt property made lugging our bags a real chore, so paying for some assistance might be a back-saving tactic here. The path from the lobby to our room led into and out of a pool area, which is odd to say the least as we needed to step around puddles and kids to reach the next set of stairs. The room itself was clean and well appointed but creaky and cramped. What might have been a spectacular view of the ocean was well blocked by mature foliage and trees, so don't go for the view. The parking area that wound up being closest to our room was so small that there was no way to even turn the car around in it, and we needed to back down the very steep driveway to the main road when leaving.

For the cost, this is not a property I will return to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us. We appreciate your review- it helps us to know what you enjoyed and where we need to improve. We will look into your comments and thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    166
    82
    55
    43
See reviews for
114
354
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have been a loyal Hyatt customer for a long time, and have spent time at many of their higher end resort properties. Given the price of the rooms at this location, I expected a high level of service, cleanliness and room design, but this location needs a refurbishment. The staff was friendly enough, but nothing approaching a 5 star hotel. The views and potential for these rooms is off the charts - they sit on the cliff, overlooking the Pacific with great views of the sunset. Unfortunately, that is about all you're paying for. The rooms were just too old - walls are thing and the decks need to be refinished / painted and in some cases, boards replaced. Add on the over the top room service menu prices, and this hotel does not stand up to any of the competition available in the Carmel / Monterey area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us, and we encourage you to call and speak with our general manager. We pride ourselves on wonderful customer service, and a truly memorable, beautiful visit on this stunning property. We hope you will consider staying with us again and we hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The moment I walked in I could see incredible views of the Monterey coast. As good as anything you see in Big Sur. Had view from room and deck as well as from restaurant. Room very nice with working fireplace that they set up for you to use. Service incredible. It's obvious that the employees are proud of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed staying with us and that you enjoyed the stunning views! We sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The main building and restaurant are spectacular with a superb ocean view. Many of the guest rooms have superb views also. However, the guest room that we stayed in (which is assumed to be somewhat standard) was not up to a luxury hotel quality hotel standard and was somewhat disappointing based on the price. The bathroom was small and the bathtub lacked drain stopper The staff were great and responsive.

Food in the main dining room was excellent and the fabulous view along with excellent food made dining there a worthwhile experience.

Room Tip: Because of the topography, many of the rooms are located off of the pool area which means many stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are so happy you enjoyed restaurants and the stunning views and we appreciate your feedback regarding the rooms. We will look into your comments and we sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and i stay at hyatt resorts across the country and the carmel highlands is defintely one of the more spectaular settings we have been to. The resort itself overall was very accomodating and had fantastic garden areas and views of the Pacific Coast. We thoroughly enjoyed the fireplace in our room and the porch with great ocean viewing. While the staff was courteous, we found ourselves trying to avoid the office and restaurant area as they were far too aggressive in trying to sell us a time share. I do agree with other reviewers that the rooms need a makeover and we could definitely hear our neighbors abive and around us. We will go back again but suggest to hotel management to scale back on time share sales agressiveness and perform some updating to the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed the beautiful setting and we appreciate your feedback regarding your rooms and the staff. We will look into your comments and we sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

OK. We are Hyatt members and have been for quite a few years now. Having stayed here last year, this year was a bit disappointing. It really seems like the property has declined over this last year. The carpets were extremely dirty. While I know this is a vacation club location and is booked year round, they've got to find time to clean the carpets. It's a first impression when you walk into your room(s). We actually didn't feel comfortable walking around barefoot.

While it's true there was no A/C, we just opened the windows as the highs were only around 64F. At night, the fireplace was great!

The location of this property is absolutely BEAUTIFUL! So, if you can get past the rest, then it's the perfect spot for you! We love the view so can't complain too much!

The check-in & check-out was a breeze, as always! Jorn was fantastic in accommodating us!

Saturday night, they had live music in the lounge. We loved the jazz group that played & even bought their CD! Actually, they were playing the night before at another restaurant we ate at. My husband and I enjoyed our evening immensely! Having not danced in many, many years, we actually spent some time on the dance floor! There was a nice crowd building.

Being adventurous, we tried some of the menu specialty drinks. Our waiter was one of two waiters taking care of the entire lounge area and dance floor area. So, we did take some drinks back to the bar to get "adjusted". I guess we offended our waiter as he stopped waiting on us for the rest of the night. Disappointing. In no way had we intended to upset our waiter. We simply wanted to get our drinks fixed and he was extremely busy! C'est la vie...

We will be back as we love the area and love the location with beautiful views!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us as much as you had in the past. We are happy you made use of the fireplace in the evening (always a nice treat) and the Jazz Band. We will look into your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is situated high on a hill and affords beautiful views of the ocean and the Cypress trees. The hotel grounds are green and covered with forest-like vegetation. It does get cool in the evenings so it is a perfect time to start a fire in the wood burning fireplace - wood, etc provided. The rooms are spacious and the food is excellent. A must stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the great review! The central coast does get chilly in the evenings- we are glad you enjoyed the fireplace to warm up with! We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.