We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #14 of 21 hotels in Carmel
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cozy Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

A luxury hotel with a beautiful setting and views. Highland Inn is modest luxury with wonderful rooms and lodges. It's has a tiny village setting. The resort has two restaurants; Pacifics Edge for very good fine dining with great views and great wine list; California Market for casual dining. The Sunset Lounge is nice for relaxing and views.

The residence club rooms are very worthwhile and have large soaking jacuzzi areas.

It is a perfect get away resort in Carmel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    159
    74
    54
    41
See reviews for
104
338
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

SHAMEFUL AND BORDERING ON DECEPTIVE MARKETING PRACTICES that such a high priced property cares so little for the comfort of guests who have the bad luck of traveling on days where the weather is not ideal and provides absolutely no warning of its lacking in industry-standard facilities. I guess it works most of the time, but if you are not clarevoyant and make the mistake of booking ahead, you're rolling the dice on whether the weather will cooperate to keep your room cool enough for comfort because they have no rooms with air conditioners. You can open the doors to let the air in, and eventually it will cool down on a hot day by late night, I suppose, but in the meantime you are effectively stuck with an uncomfortable room that has been sealed shut until you arrive -- not very pleasant after a long day driving up the PCH in need of a little rest before taking on the evening. And if you wanted the air to circulate through the room, you had to open doors on both sides of the room -- leaving you fully exposed to all the noise coming from the swimming pool only feets away (which, of course, stayed very busy right until pool closing time because it was a hot day -- and after pool hours, we got to listen to the staff doing its nightly clean-up work atthe pool!). Even when it did finally cool down, the room felt humid (and imagine how it might feel on a warm rainy day) and you have to be fine sleeping with your patio doors wide open all night. I guess they'll try to sell you on the usually great weather as why they don't need AC and they'll offer to cart in a fan (which still requires leaving your patio open, is noisy and won't solve some basic humidity issues), but really in the end it's the owners trying to get away without making a reasonable investment in their property while trying to get away with an oblique reference on their website that each room has "individual heat control" as providing enough notice to prospective guests that, by the omission of a reference to "cooling", we should know that there is no AC. In this day and age, I think that they engage in deceptive marketing by hiding the fact that they do not have AC and must, at a minimum, provide on their website a warning about no AC that can adversely affect guests when weather strays from the norm. Hyatt should be ashamed in itself and make the necessary investment to bring the property up to basic standards of the industry or sell the property to another operator willing to make such basic investments.

The rest? While having a very nice view from the ocean front-view room, the room is rather inconveniently configured as others have noted. The King bed is positioned in a way to interfere with free movement and conducive to repeated toe-stubbing, the bathroom is very subpar even for a room at half the price, the room service was achingly slow (and who would ever have thought we would have to actually ask for glasses with ice to accompany our cans of soda -- he rushed to bring them when we noticed there were none, but seemed really odd to us), and did I mention non-existent temperature/humidity control for days of sub-optimal weather? NO CHANCE I WILL EVER STAY HERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us, and we encourage you to call and speak with our general manager. We pride ourselves on wonderful customer service, and a truly memorable, beautiful visit on this stunning property. We apologize about the lack of air conditioning and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We actually had our wedding here, but while the venue was beautiful, convenient, and wonderful overall.. some minuses detracted from it. The staff were disappointing. We got surly bellboys and porters and manager types who just seemed to plaster a smile on their face and do next to nothing else. The price is semi-ridiculous for what you get. $400ish+ per night for a room with no central air (open the window for the ocean air they say) that hasn't been renovated since the early 90s at best. The main building is the best, most breathtaking, most classy part of the place, the rest is just pretty good. The fireplaces in the rooms were nice, but I needed more wood after about 30 minutes! I would come back here for a nice dinner maybe, but not to stay.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room where you share a ceiling or roof.. the walls are thin (because they're old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are so happy you chose to have your wedding with us and had a wonderful experience overall. we appreciate your feedback regarding your rooms and service. We will look into your comments and we sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

For the price we paid our supposed to be luxury king size bedroom with ocean view (over 590$/night), i think they could have given us a nicer and bigger room. Our room was so tiny that the king size bed took all the space. We could hardly move around. The luxury that you normally find in a 4-5* hotel wasn't there. Room absolutely no special at all. Little fridge noisy, bathroom needs to be updated.
It's true that the views from the deck were fantastic. Restaurant was ok but we had to wait a long time between appetizer and entree for nothing special (salmon). Also overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We appreciate your review- it helps us to know what you enjoyed and where we need to improve. We will look into your comments and thank you for taking the time to review. We sincerely hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just returned from a four-night stay at the Highlands Inn with the family. This was our first visit to the property, and I was really anxious to see what all the hype was about.

Well, when it comes to views, it simply doesn't get any better than this. The vistas of the rocky shore and Pacific Ocean are incredible to say the least. I compare it to looking at the priciest high definition TV...only there is no screen.

But the resort, on the other hand, has its issues. Many of the reviews I read prior to my stay were truly spot on in that the rooms are old, worn, and dated. The carpet was striped, and looked like something out of a 70s movie. It was also pretty stained, and in dire need of at least a deep cleaning, if not a replacement altogether. The furniture, which was sparse to begin with, has definitely seen its better days. Plus the heaters (along the baseboards) looked pretty beat up, and made load, clanking noises throughout the night. The utensils were nice and the appliances were up to date though.

We stayed in a multi-level one bedroom, which worked out great for us since we had our boys. This was also a plus as we had no one above us. Even so, you can still hear walking around at all times. These units are farther back, which but that makes for nicer views and less road noise.

Not much to do at the resort itself, other than just enjoy the scenery. There is a pool, but we never saw anyone use it. Not even a video library. Guess that is to be expected as the property mainly caters to adults. Would be nice if they had one, or at least some sort of activities. Still…great place to relax, hike, and enjoy nature. Monterrey is only 10 minutes away, and there is lots to see and do there as well.

Never ate at the property as they are all so overpriced. We always just search for the closest grocery store, and load up on food for our stay. In this case, there is a Safeway about two miles up the road. Had everything, and at great prices too.

All in all, we had a very pleasurable stay. The location, staff, and views help to offset the deficiencies of the rooms themselves. But Hyatt really needs to step it up with the room makeovers quickly if it going to keep its placard out front.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed staying with us and we appreciate your feedback regarding your rooms. We will look into your comments and we sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

High above the ocean in a lush site with oversize rooms, including a large Jacuzzi and a plentiful kitchen, this timeshare had everything one could want. From the restaurant one looked down on incredible views. Not far away was the lovely town of Carmel, California and nearby were Monterey and Pacific Grove. Even the mild weather made for an additional plus to this romantic stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed staying with us and that you were able to enjoy some beautiful coastal weather! We sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just loved this place. The view was incredible in Room 214. (Just like Valentines Day date.). We loved the hot tub and wood burning fireplace. Los Lobos State Park is very close and hiking is beautiful. Close to the town and other places are not too far. Monterey Bay Aquarium, and Pacific Grove was fun to go to. We had breakfast out on the Patio and the food was great with an awesome view. I can't wait to come back again sometime.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed staying with us and that you enjoyed the local attractions! Thank you for the wonderful review & we sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#14 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.