We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coastal Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Coastal Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just returned from a four-night stay at the Highlands Inn with the family. This was our first visit to the property, and I was really anxious to see what all the hype was about.

Well, when it comes to views, it simply doesn't get any better than this. The vistas of the rocky shore and Pacific Ocean are incredible to say the least. I compare it to looking at the priciest high definition TV...only there is no screen.

But the resort, on the other hand, has its issues. Many of the reviews I read prior to my stay were truly spot on in that the rooms are old, worn, and dated. The carpet was striped, and looked like something out of a 70s movie. It was also pretty stained, and in dire need of at least a deep cleaning, if not a replacement altogether. The furniture, which was sparse to begin with, has definitely seen its better days. Plus the heaters (along the baseboards) looked pretty beat up, and made load, clanking noises throughout the night. The utensils were nice and the appliances were up to date though.

We stayed in a multi-level one bedroom, which worked out great for us since we had our boys. This was also a plus as we had no one above us. Even so, you can still hear walking around at all times. These units are farther back, which but that makes for nicer views and less road noise.

Not much to do at the resort itself, other than just enjoy the scenery. There is a pool, but we never saw anyone use it. Not even a video library. Guess that is to be expected as the property mainly caters to adults. Would be nice if they had one, or at least some sort of activities. Still…great place to relax, hike, and enjoy nature. Monterrey is only 10 minutes away, and there is lots to see and do there as well.

Never ate at the property as they are all so overpriced. We always just search for the closest grocery store, and load up on food for our stay. In this case, there is a Safeway about two miles up the road. Had everything, and at great prices too.

All in all, we had a very pleasurable stay. The location, staff, and views help to offset the deficiencies of the rooms themselves. But Hyatt really needs to step it up with the room makeovers quickly if it going to keep its placard out front.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed staying with us and we appreciate your feedback regarding your rooms. We will look into your comments and we sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    190
    95
    71
    46
See reviews for
131
405
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oro Valley, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

High above the ocean in a lush site with oversize rooms, including a large Jacuzzi and a plentiful kitchen, this timeshare had everything one could want. From the restaurant one looked down on incredible views. Not far away was the lovely town of Carmel, California and nearby were Monterey and Pacific Grove. Even the mild weather made for an additional plus to this romantic stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed staying with us and that you were able to enjoy some beautiful coastal weather! We sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just loved this place. The view was incredible in Room 214. (Just like Valentines Day date.). We loved the hot tub and wood burning fireplace. Los Lobos State Park is very close and hiking is beautiful. Close to the town and other places are not too far. Monterey Bay Aquarium, and Pacific Grove was fun to go to. We had breakfast out on the Patio and the food was great with an awesome view. I can't wait to come back again sometime.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed staying with us and that you enjoyed the local attractions! Thank you for the wonderful review & we sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Highlands Inn at Carmel is a beautiful Hotel/Residental Resort. We were gifted a stay at a time share unit in one of the residential condos with an amazing ocean view. The rooms were amazing...,open and clean and classy. It was an open floor plan with nice wood hanging partitions that you can close to have privacy in the bedroom and/or the bathroom suite. There is a jacuzzi tub that is to die for...separate glass shower and separate room for the toilet...with a fan! The living room is very tasteful with a very comfortable soft leather couch (and a very firm pull out bed) and a comfy over size chair all sitting next to a wood burning fireplace that they fill with wood and kindling for you each day. If you run out of wood all you have to do is go to the nearest wood storage area by your condo and get more! The smells of those wood burning fireplaces mixed with the ocean air is intoxicating, We kept saying how great the air smelled!
The grounds are well kept, very green with many flowers in bloom. They have a pool by the main lodge with a jacuzzi and 2 smaller jacuzzis throughout the property. There are a few stairs to walk to get down to the main Lodge but the walk is so pretty that you almost don't notice them! We found a wonderful fire pit for the guests to use that overlooks the ocean and is stocked with wood and kindling as well. If you should desire a bottle of wine or a snack while there then simple pick up the phone they have provided and order it like room service and they will deliver it to you fireside! Unfortunately we tried to order the "Smores Kit" off the fire pit menu but they did not have any..=(
At the main lodge the staff was very friendly and helpful. We ate a couple times at The Market restaurant that overlooks the pool with amazing views of the ocean and rocks. There is outside seating from which you can enjoy the view and the wonderful scent of the fireplaces that are burning around the property. The lodge itself has a giant room that has an active fireplace at each end with water/coffee and tea self serve. In the cocktail lounge area there is an amazing wall of glass where they have provided a telescope so you can take in the ocean view and possible see sea lions or Otters hanging out. The occasional bark of the sea lions can be heard in the distance.
We agreed to do a Time Share presentation which lasted about 1 1/2 hrs and was actually pleasant with no pressure. We opted out of buying one at this time but did receive a $100 voucher to use for almost anything at the resort. We applied it to our incidentals bill at the end.

Overall our stay at this resort was nothing short of perfect! Had we been in a little better financial situation we would have purchased that timeshare...the resort was that amazing! There is nothing else like beauty of Carmel...it is breathtaking and the Hyatt Carmel Highlands Inn made our stay there something we will never forget!

Room Tip: We had an ocean view but any room there whether ocean or grounds view would be good!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed the fun fire-pits and the wonderful views. We sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Amazing views! Especially From the Hotels restaurant! The staff is very friendly and helpful, but I feel sorry for them because they are trying to save a dying horse. The price for the quality of the rooms is simply not worth it.. We have stayed at the finest hotels in Hawaii and the cost/benefit makes sense.. Here, the rooms are dated from the 70s . we were up all night listening to foot steps, voices, drawers closing etc...It was suppose to be a relaxing vacation.. we cut our loses and canceled our 2nd night. They said they would not charge us.. Time will tell.. Also, if you are a person that has pulmonary problems or is sensitive to firepit smoke.. THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU..It has more of a Boy Scout Camp feel to it.. We enjoyed very much our next two nights at the Holiday in Tracy, Ca for 2/3 less the cost.. quiet, clean, fresh rooms.... time for re Hiatt to rebuild...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us, and we encourage you to call and speak with our general manager. We pride ourselves on wonderful customer service, and a truly memorable, beautiful visit on this stunning property. We apologize that your room was not up to par. We hope you will consider staying with us again and we hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Arrived May 10th to a warm welcome from staff on a foggy beautiful day. Unfortunately, I had a temperature of 102 with chills, but was still able to take in the beautiful green plush tropical plants and flowers which greeted us at ever turn up to our room. Upon arriving into our beautiful suite we were both overwhelm with the senic view of the ocean from our bedroom, wow! I could hardly keep from crying its was so pretty. My husband the firebug could not wait to light the fireplace which was already filled with wood. He was so excited because he found bundls of it outside our room which is supplied by the hotel...as much as you want! I appreciated the warmth due to my fever, so thank you Hyatt. The next day we went to have lunch but I did not have an appetite due to my sickness. All I wanted to do was sleep, but I also wanted to take advantage of our stay, unfortunately, I was too far gone and ended up in emergency that evening due to high fever and unable to swallow. When returning back to the hotel my husband went to the gift shop to purchase some perfumed lotion I had admired earlier...he was so sweet. He had told the very nice sales clerk what had happens to me and she gave him a bottle of gingerale and told him that this would help my upset tummy, it did help and I never was able to thank this sweet woman, thank you for caring. It meant a lot to our hearts. To make a long story short we had to cut our vacations short never able to fully enjoy our vacation. I ended-up in the hospital for 7 days on
I.V. fluids and morphine, my wbc was 200. Still on the mend and waiting for biopsy results. In the mean time I will dream of our little vacation at the Hyatt. Thank you Hyatt for making a small dream come true. Don't hesitate to make reservations come and experience it for yourself and make your dreams come true!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. We are so sorry you were ill during your stay and we wish you a speedy recovery. We hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have been wanting to check out this hotel for years due to its reputation and stunning location, so my wife and I decided to give it a try.

As small an item as it is, the first thing that struck me is the free parking. I am getting tired of giant fees like this after paying up for lodging, so this was a nice start. The check-in area is quite nice with several employees there to help us. Our bell person came in very handy as our room was below the pool area with lots of stairs and no elevator. Depending where you are located, this place can be brutal carrying luggage. It is a cliffside location and is vertical in nature. I tipped the bell person double due to the huge effort.

The views from the main building, lounge and restaurant are breath taking. We took advantage and enjoyed great service, two giant fireplaces and an excellent meal. Everything about the Highlands Inn is very romantic. Drinks and/or dinner are worth doing here whether you stay here or not. It is totally cool and the dinner view is the best I have seen in Carmel. It is one of the best I have ever seen.

While the room was very nice, we both noticed that the furnishings were beat up a bit. It's not horrible, but it is obvious for such a high-end place. I also immediately noticed that the room was not wired well. The wifi was just fine, but plugging in to work, browse or recharge required getting on my knees. Not good for the 21st century. We were located on the entry drive and not too far from Hwy. 1. The road noise was so bad the first night that I used ear plugs. The units are older and not sound insulated. We could also hear almost every step of the people above us.

On the bright side, the room and bed were very comfortable, we had a fantastic view of the coast from our room & porch, and the wood burning fireplace was a great feature. The hotel keeps wood stocked and handy, so we used the fireplace a lot. Very nice.

Given their pricing, I am not certain if we would do this again, but it is such a cool place and location that we may. We do not regret staying here one bit, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic location in Carmel with stunning views.

Room Tip: Be certain you are located away from the entry road and Hwy. 1. Also, make very sure no one is loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us- the wood burning fireplaces are always nice on the chilly coastal nights! We sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon and thank you for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.