We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Almost Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have been wanting to check out this hotel for years due to its reputation and stunning location, so my wife and I decided to give it a try.

As small an item as it is, the first thing that struck me is the free parking. I am getting tired of giant fees like this after paying up for lodging, so this was a nice start. The check-in area is quite nice with several employees there to help us. Our bell person came in very handy as our room was below the pool area with lots of stairs and no elevator. Depending where you are located, this place can be brutal carrying luggage. It is a cliffside location and is vertical in nature. I tipped the bell person double due to the huge effort.

The views from the main building, lounge and restaurant are breath taking. We took advantage and enjoyed great service, two giant fireplaces and an excellent meal. Everything about the Highlands Inn is very romantic. Drinks and/or dinner are worth doing here whether you stay here or not. It is totally cool and the dinner view is the best I have seen in Carmel. It is one of the best I have ever seen.

While the room was very nice, we both noticed that the furnishings were beat up a bit. It's not horrible, but it is obvious for such a high-end place. I also immediately noticed that the room was not wired well. The wifi was just fine, but plugging in to work, browse or recharge required getting on my knees. Not good for the 21st century. We were located on the entry drive and not too far from Hwy. 1. The road noise was so bad the first night that I used ear plugs. The units are older and not sound insulated. We could also hear almost every step of the people above us.

On the bright side, the room and bed were very comfortable, we had a fantastic view of the coast from our room & porch, and the wood burning fireplace was a great feature. The hotel keeps wood stocked and handy, so we used the fireplace a lot. Very nice.

Given their pricing, I am not certain if we would do this again, but it is such a cool place and location that we may. We do not regret staying here one bit, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic location in Carmel with stunning views.

Room Tip: Be certain you are located away from the entry road and Hwy. 1. Also, make very sure no one is loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us- the wood burning fireplaces are always nice on the chilly coastal nights! We sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon and thank you for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    175
    86
    63
    44
See reviews for
123
372
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Location: great Setting with great views. (Especially sunsets watched from the Bar)
Food: market Restaurant (Lunch): ok, nothing special
Rooms: only ok, by size and interior design. Fireplaces are a big plus
Pricing: definitly too expensive, you Pay for Location, not for quality.
Service: very good and friendly.

Avoid rooms in first row to main street, too noisy

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed visiting our unique property and the beautiful coastal views, and we are sorry you didn't enjoy your dining experience with us. We sincerely hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel showcases Carmel in its finest glory, nestled into the mountains and a quick jaunt from Pt. Lobos, its a wonderful location.

Rooms: The rooms are nice and clean, and the view speaks for itself. The bathroom was small, and needed an update, but overall clean. The tv has no HD, but again, you are looking outside or at the fire, but HD would be nice.

Fire: The fire really did make this trip special. The abundance of good burning wood really added to the ease of starting a fire.

Ocean View: The view. Simply gorgeous and indulgent. The room was equipped with binoculars, so you were able to see what the view really had to offer.

Hotel Amenities: Heated pool and hot tub, with ample towels. Lounge was good, and overall a beautiful property that had excellent service, especially the valet service.

California Market: Breakfast was good, but of course has Hyatt prices. The omelet with dungeness crab was indulgent, but when in Rome. you must.

All in all, this was a wonderfully romantic place to escape the city and explore Monterey and Carmel. A gorgous site, that needs a few updates in the bathroom, but overall, beautiful and woudl happily come back.

Room Tip: Bring marshmellows, graham crackers, and chocolate for a smore experience. Also, wine in the Genera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us- the wood burning fireplaces are always a treat, as are the stunning views! We sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon and thank you for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is listed as a four star facility and charged four stars prices. However, it was closer to a two star hotel. It was grossly overpriced for the poor condition of the room, bathroom and over all cleanliness. The view was magnificent, but that was the only plus. The room had no extra outlets to charge cell phones, laptops, etc. The bathroom had a single tub/shower combo with an old hand held shower device. There was no counter space in the bathroom and it smelled like old urine.

We went to the "casual" dining room and were charged $26 for roasted chicken which consisted of one small wing with a bite or two of dark meat. There was not bread/rolls, no water was offered. Very, very disappointed! Would not recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us, and we encourage you to call and speak with our general manager. We pride ourselves on wonderful customer service, and a truly memorable, beautiful visit on this stunning property. We apologize about your dining experience and hope you will consider staying with us again. We hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The property needs some updating. Service in the California Market was dreadful, we sometimes waited over 15 min for any service. On the positive side, really nice views and good location. Beautiful location to watch the sunset. But for the price, I expected more of the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and restaurant. We strive for excellent service and we are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at California Market. We are glad you enjoyed the beautiful ocean views and we sincerely hope you will visit our property again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The location is great as the view to the ocean and sunset were wonderful. For $500 a night I was expecting a nicer hotel; I didn't know they were outdated townhouses converted. No maid service unless you request and the room just didn't feel clean. The pull out sleeper sofa was terrible about 2 inches of padding with flat sheets. The screened patio door was from 1970 and you had to fight with it to get it closed. If you called for service they did appear promptly. The food in the restaurant was good but I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed dining with us and we will look in to your comments regarding your stay. We want everyone to enjoy their rooms- from the accommodations, to the cleanliness and amenities. We sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We paid ($495 per nite)for an ocean view townhouse and we got instead the bedroom facing undergrowth and shrubs and the walkway to the front townhouse. The living room has ocean view as well as the flue (chimney) of the front townhouse as a result have a constant smell of smoke and smog. Pillow cases are creased ; not ironed at all. The place is so tired looking, carpets with food crumbs and strings, oily mugs, egg stained plates (yuks).Found out you could paid $199 for 2 nites stay if you are prepared to give them your time to listen to their timeshare sales talk.! Will never stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are sorry about your recent experience with us. We encourage you to call and speak with our management as we sincerely want you to leave our property happy. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.