We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always spectacular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #12 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Love returning to beautiful Carmel! There is everything to love from the visiting seagulls at breakfast, to the lush vegetation, to the wondrous sea shore to the starry nights. Highlands Inn service is exceptional -- wait staff, concierge and housekeeping are ready to take care of anything we want. The grounds are immaculate and full of flowers. The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable and private. We look forward to our annual trip to Big Sur and Hyatt Highlands Inn.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed friendly service and the stunning views are always a treat! We sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    148
    68
    52
    39
See reviews for
91
310
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Traveling down the coast from San Francisco to Southern California my wife and I had just stayed in a very dirty hotel out by San Francisco. I decided to not be a cheap skate and splurge on a nice hotel to compensate for the dive we had stayed at the night before. This hotel is amazing. We didn't check in until around 10:00 PM and since we were only staying one night I asked for a complementary upgrade which they honored. Our room had a fireplace that came stocked with firewood. A balcony with the most beautiful view of the ocean and a pair of binoculars. A mini fridge. The most comfortable bed ever. I can't say how great this room was. All I can say is I didn't want to leave I didn't want to check out I wanted to live there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoy staying with us- the wood burning fireplaces are always a treat, as are the stunning views! We sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Have stayed here all different times of the year and always can't wait to return Check in is fast and friendly. Room accommodations are fantastic with deep tubs, nice showers, kitchen and fireplace for those cooler nights, Nice pool and 3 hot tubs scattered throughout. Lounge is nice for cocktails...resort prices so beware but views fantastic. Restaurant delicious,but a la carte prices high. For a special dinner worth it as food , views and presentation worth it. Beauty is one night you can eat in room with goodies from store or deli. Renovations coming this year and adding deep blue colors which will improve decor and make it even ricer looking. A fabulous resort with Pt. Lobos and other wonderful sights and hikes near by.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed staying with us and your dining experience at Pacific's Edge! We sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon and thank you for the excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely 1 BR with upstairs BR suite. Deck was missing 1 chair and had no table or outside light making it difficult for both of us to enjoy that feature. Only 2 hot tubs for the condo facility make that amenity unavailable to 75% of guests due to the normally ver chilly evenings. Location is beautiful, overlooking the waves of Carmel. Lounge and restaurant have beautiful panoramic views of Monterey Bay and coast. Huge fireplaces in lounge throw so much heat that people are driven out into the cold, a perfect example of "too much of a good thing".

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed the suite as well as the beautiful views.We hope you will visit us again next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was there in early February 2013 for two nights for work (Sun and Mon nights). I have stayed here once before in 2006. The rooms could use a facelift. It was in much better condition in 2006. For this price point, the rooms should be better. Some reviewers commented that things seem to be down hill since this property is trying to convert to Hyatt timeshares.

Both times I stayed in a two-level one-bedroom suite. The size of the room and the views are excellent. Upstairs kitchen and living/dining area are fine. The bedroom showed wear and tear - furniture corners showed bumps and bruises (probably from people hitting it with their suitcases). My nightstand had water damage (bubbled up wood on the top). Carpet is worn. The closet was awkward because it was located under the stairs (an average-height man would have a hard time using it because it's somewhat a walk-in closet). The shelving was just boards that were like a DIY home project. Again, totally functional but not something I would expect at this price point.

Bathroom was very clean and updated. Jetted tub, separate shower, toilet in its own room, single sink with plenty of counter space. Updated lighting. Comfy bathrobes. All very nice.

Service during our meeting was fine. Met our business needs. Food during the meeting was great. Ate in the restaurant for lunch. Wish we had a chance to dine in their nicer restaurant for dinner!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your meals while saying with us and we will look into your comments regarding updating the rooms. We thank you for your review and sincerely hope you chose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights and 4 days in Carmel and chose this hotel based on a recommendation from a friend. The price was right and it looked good, along with having some good reviews on Trip Advisor, so we chose it for our lodging. We were not disappointed with anything. Every single staff person we encountered went out of their way to be friendly and accommodating and to make sure we were happy and enjoying ourselves. The deck with the ocean view was amazing and every room has a real fireplace with a fire ready to be started. There are stations all around the property with firewood so you never run out. The bed was very comfortable with down pillows and a down comforter and there were spa-quality robes in the room as well. The jacuzzi and pool were near our room but the jacuzzi was not very large and always seemed to be full. That might be another reason to get a King Suite room with a private jacuzzi. We had cocktails in the Sunset Bar and saw an amazing sunset, we ate in the Pacific Restaurant and we also had breakfast in the California Market Cafe. All meals were excellent in menu choices and quality/taste of the food. Although it's an older property, it is well maintained and the landscaping is lush and perfectly manicured. There isn't a bad view anywhere! We would definitely stay there again. It's a quick drive into Carmel-By-the-Sea and we also made the drive to Big Sur and a trip to Pebble Beach and the 17-Mile Drive. All are things I would recommend.

Room Tip: We got the King Ocean View room and if we had been staying for more than 3 nights, I would probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are happy you enjoyed both Pacific's Edge and California Market for dining, as well as our friendly staff. We hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nonetheless we really enjoyed the peace and quiet, the views and the facilities here. the food was excellent, the chef prepared a seasonal vegetarian meal for us each night that was on a par with the best of the best. The staff are friendly and obliging. The privacy is great and the location means that there is so much to do close by, such as Point Lobos or even a short drive to Monterey.
We stayed in a two floor house which was perfect for the family. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed a lovely stay with us and that you enjoyed your vegetarian meal selections. We sincerely hope you visit us again and thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt
Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.