We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights and 4 days in Carmel and chose this hotel based on a recommendation from a friend. The price was right and it looked good, along with having some good reviews on Trip Advisor, so we chose it for our lodging. We were not disappointed with anything. Every single staff person we encountered went out of their way to be friendly and accommodating and to make sure we were happy and enjoying ourselves. The deck with the ocean view was amazing and every room has a real fireplace with a fire ready to be started. There are stations all around the property with firewood so you never run out. The bed was very comfortable with down pillows and a down comforter and there were spa-quality robes in the room as well. The jacuzzi and pool were near our room but the jacuzzi was not very large and always seemed to be full. That might be another reason to get a King Suite room with a private jacuzzi. We had cocktails in the Sunset Bar and saw an amazing sunset, we ate in the Pacific Restaurant and we also had breakfast in the California Market Cafe. All meals were excellent in menu choices and quality/taste of the food. Although it's an older property, it is well maintained and the landscaping is lush and perfectly manicured. There isn't a bad view anywhere! We would definitely stay there again. It's a quick drive into Carmel-By-the-Sea and we also made the drive to Big Sur and a trip to Pebble Beach and the 17-Mile Drive. All are things I would recommend.

Room Tip: We got the King Ocean View room and if we had been staying for more than 3 nights, I would probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are happy you enjoyed both Pacific's Edge and California Market for dining, as well as our friendly staff. We hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    190
    95
    71
    46
See reviews for
131
405
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nonetheless we really enjoyed the peace and quiet, the views and the facilities here. the food was excellent, the chef prepared a seasonal vegetarian meal for us each night that was on a par with the best of the best. The staff are friendly and obliging. The privacy is great and the location means that there is so much to do close by, such as Point Lobos or even a short drive to Monterey.
We stayed in a two floor house which was perfect for the family. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed a lovely stay with us and that you enjoyed your vegetarian meal selections. We sincerely hope you visit us again and thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is one nice lodge. The pool stays heated 82.0 all of the time. Very convenient to a local shopping center carmel near big sir

The only thing is the valet which you of course had to tip the valet every time he brought or took your car

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are happy you enjoyed the warm pool. We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a deluxe ocean view room which had 2 balconies. One was overlooking the ocean and one pool side. The bathroom was small but the shower and toilet were separate from the sink area. We had a real fireplace that was stacked with fresh wood every evening. Not being a boy scout, it was still easy to start. Our view of the ocean and Point Lobos was wonderful but the road noise was bothersome day and night. Breakfast and dinner were excellent but the service was not always prompt. There was a $20 resort fee but the spa is at the sister hotel in Monterey. We were called and solicited for a sales pitch which I could have done without.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed the wonderful wood-burning fireplaces and stunning views! We sincerely hope you will visit us again. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely room with a great view of the ocean. Nice lobby with panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean. Wood burning fire place. Very welcoming. Pool & hot tub. Full kitchen and room for four in our two story room. Cute patio with again---great views.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are so happy you had such a wonderful visit with us- the wood-burning fireplaces and stunning views are such a treat! We sincerely hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

So many things about this hotel to love - the beautiful views, the nice people at reception. They have real wood-burning fireplaces because the original hotel was older and they were grandfathered in when laws changed in California to require gas fireplaces only. Such a nice treat to smell a real fire burning!

While the room was fantastic, the services provided at the restaurants and bar were sub-par. Since the hotel is seculded from the town, you don't have a choice but to use their services sometimes, so it's really disappointing. When I am paying over $400 a night for a hotel room, I consider the whole experience of the hotel/resort, not just the actual room.

We had a bad experience at Pacific's Edge -- food was cold - as in, so cold I thought maybe I was confused and the dish was supposed to be served cold. It wasn't. And then the waiter never even came over to apologize or check on the rest of our meal. The following morning at breakfast, we had incredibly rude service at the California Market restaurant. We also were waiting for our food for so long that others who sat and ordered after us were already finished eating. In the bar, we also waited so long for a waiter to come to us to order a drink (after asking different waiters going by 3x if we could order) that we had to leave because we were going to miss a dinner reservation.

I wish the services could have lived up to the beautiful room and warm welcome from the reception staff.

Room Tip: Room 503 was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
While we are happy you enjoyed the beautiful property, we are very sorry about your dining experience with us and we would love to discuss your experience with you. We hope you will call and speak with our management as we sincerely want you to leave our property happy. Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and we hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for $79/night plus a $100 food certificate in exchange for sitting through a fairly low key sales pitch. What a great deal!

Room 203 was a small suite with a full kitchen, wood burning fireplace, deck with full view of the ocean and a huge bathroom. Plus a fabulous coffee maker!

On site restaurants were outstanding. The gym had nice equipment. Free washers and dryers. Tuesday there was a piano player and wine tasting in the lounge.

Kids running around upstairs were the only downside.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us- the wood burning fireplaces are always a fun treat! We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.