We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #14 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is one nice lodge. The pool stays heated 82.0 all of the time. Very convenient to a local shopping center carmel near big sir

The only thing is the valet which you of course had to tip the valet every time he brought or took your car

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are happy you enjoyed the warm pool. We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    163
    79
    54
    42
See reviews for
109
345
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a deluxe ocean view room which had 2 balconies. One was overlooking the ocean and one pool side. The bathroom was small but the shower and toilet were separate from the sink area. We had a real fireplace that was stacked with fresh wood every evening. Not being a boy scout, it was still easy to start. Our view of the ocean and Point Lobos was wonderful but the road noise was bothersome day and night. Breakfast and dinner were excellent but the service was not always prompt. There was a $20 resort fee but the spa is at the sister hotel in Monterey. We were called and solicited for a sales pitch which I could have done without.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed the wonderful wood-burning fireplaces and stunning views! We sincerely hope you will visit us again. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Lovely room with a great view of the ocean. Nice lobby with panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean. Wood burning fire place. Very welcoming. Pool & hot tub. Full kitchen and room for four in our two story room. Cute patio with again---great views.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are so happy you had such a wonderful visit with us- the wood-burning fireplaces and stunning views are such a treat! We sincerely hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

So many things about this hotel to love - the beautiful views, the nice people at reception. They have real wood-burning fireplaces because the original hotel was older and they were grandfathered in when laws changed in California to require gas fireplaces only. Such a nice treat to smell a real fire burning!

While the room was fantastic, the services provided at the restaurants and bar were sub-par. Since the hotel is seculded from the town, you don't have a choice but to use their services sometimes, so it's really disappointing. When I am paying over $400 a night for a hotel room, I consider the whole experience of the hotel/resort, not just the actual room.

We had a bad experience at Pacific's Edge -- food was cold - as in, so cold I thought maybe I was confused and the dish was supposed to be served cold. It wasn't. And then the waiter never even came over to apologize or check on the rest of our meal. The following morning at breakfast, we had incredibly rude service at the California Market restaurant. We also were waiting for our food for so long that others who sat and ordered after us were already finished eating. In the bar, we also waited so long for a waiter to come to us to order a drink (after asking different waiters going by 3x if we could order) that we had to leave because we were going to miss a dinner reservation.

I wish the services could have lived up to the beautiful room and warm welcome from the reception staff.

Room Tip: Room 503 was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
While we are happy you enjoyed the beautiful property, we are very sorry about your dining experience with us and we would love to discuss your experience with you. We hope you will call and speak with our management as we sincerely want you to leave our property happy. Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and we hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here for $79/night plus a $100 food certificate in exchange for sitting through a fairly low key sales pitch. What a great deal!

Room 203 was a small suite with a full kitchen, wood burning fireplace, deck with full view of the ocean and a huge bathroom. Plus a fabulous coffee maker!

On site restaurants were outstanding. The gym had nice equipment. Free washers and dryers. Tuesday there was a piano player and wine tasting in the lounge.

Kids running around upstairs were the only downside.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us- the wood burning fireplaces are always a fun treat! We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed in room 542 - lousy garden level room with cheap furniture. Heater didn't work - either really hot when running or you had to leave it completely off. We talked to the front desk who said they would take $100 off our bill which they have yet to do. Housekeeping didn't completely close our door once and maintenance peaked into our room through our windows from the outside to see if we were actually there even with our privacy card out! We were sitting on the bed watching a movie! For what we paid, we really were not too happy with this place. We had stayed here 9 years ago and remembered having a better experience. The locatioNext trip to Carmel we plan to try the Tickle Pink Inn or Tradewinds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do our best to accommodate unforeseen circumstances, such as the heater breaking, and would have been happy to move you to a different room. We sincerely apologize and we hope you will visit us again. Thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Located a couples of miles south of Carmel, the Hyatt Carmel Highlands is a haven of peace and tranquility. Our room, more like a townhouse as it had two floors, boasted gorgeous views of the ocean. The room was spacious, with two full bathrooms, one on each floor, a balcony, fully equipped small kitchen, and a lovely wood burning fireplace in the living room. The service is efficient and courteous. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoy staying with us- the wood burning fireplaces are always a treat, as are the stunning views! We sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.