We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay and Beautiful Views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay and Beautiful Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed for a week in a one-bedroom unit with ocean view. The room was well appointed and the view was amazing. We caught several Pacific sunsets from our balcony and enjoyed the delightful wood-burning fireplace in our room several nights during our stay.

The main lodge area has spectacular views as well. The food was decent, but there are also many options outside of the hotel in Carmel and nearby.

This was the perfect location for easy access to beautiful Big Sur, Carmel, and Monterey. We would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We are so happy you enjoyed a relaxing getaway with us and we sincerely hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    179
    89
    68
    44
See reviews for
124
384
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Get an ocean view. It is why you are here. The room layouts are very nice and relaxing. We had breakfast one morning at the restaurant. The food was ok but nothing remarkable. We had appetizers the night before at the bar/lounge and they were not appetizing at all. We had no alcohol and those two "meals" cost over $100. The fitness room looks nice and has space for 9 to do cardio but if two people want to do other workouts at the same time it is cramped. We visited on a time-share promo. I expected a used-car sales pitch, but it was a little much for my wife. Kind of ruined much of the relaxation that she had managed to acquire up to that point. Get a view and go to somewhere else to eat or stock your kitchenette.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view on a top floor. We heard the people in the room above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the stunning views and sorry to hear you did not enjoy our dining options. We sincerely hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Crashing waves, craggy rocks, sounds of seagulls screeching brings an immediate thought of an old 50s style noir murder mystery. Meanwhile use the binoculars that are in every room and watch for whales and otters. The rooms are spacious and lovely. I wanted to take the bathroom home with me. A huge spa tub and a separate walk in shower. What a way to spoil a couple. Saturday nights offer live music and a full bar. Internet is a bit iffy. But the staff responds quickly to any requests given.

Room Tip: Always ask for an ocean view. The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed the ocean views and spa tub! We sincerely hope you join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a suite here for a weekend! Amazing!!! We had a beautiful ocean view! They had live musing in the lobby at night:) Loved sipping wine and dancing with the love of my life! Really nice place! The breakfast restaurant could certainly use an upgrade! I was very disappointed with it but even from there, you could see the ocean so all was forgiven:) It is expensive and fully booked all the time. It's all about location with this place.
Was it worth it? Yes, and I can't wait to get another opportunity to go!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the beautiful views and live music. We thank you for the great review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were lucky to be given a 2 night stay at this hotel as a gift from my employer.We had a full ocean view room and it was spectacular.We could actually see whale spouts from our rooms balcony.This hotel was really top notch,probably the finest hotel that we will ever stay in.Everything about the room was luxurious.It even included a great set of binoculars .The sunsets were brilliant from our vantage point.We really enjoyed the fireplace during the chilly evenings.However, I must add that our check in was delayed by about 1.5 hours.The staff did offer their apologies and comped us for the inconvenience.During that time we enjoyed the view from the lounge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we apologize for the inconvenience upon your arrival. We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This place is fantastic. We were on our honeymoon and had planned on staying just one night as we made our way though central Cali. As soon as we arrived we added an extra night because we were so impressed. At check in they upgraded us because it was our honeymoon to a ocean view room which was just a great touch and highly appreciated. The rooms are very nice with great views and fireplaces.

Room Tip: Definetely get a room with an ocean view, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are so happy you stayed with us on your honeymoon and decided to add an extra night to enjoy the great views. We sincerely hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just came back from two wonderful nights at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands. Our room, although small, was cozy and offered us a view of the ocean on one side and a view of the pool and the spa on the other side. The fireplace added an element of rustic comfort and warmth.
The staff was very accommodating and genuinely seemed proud to be part of this hotel. They readily answered our tourist questions and gave us some great suggestions of where to eat and visit.
This trip was a celebration of our special birthdays and this was definitely the perfect setting.

Room Tip: Ocean view was extraordinary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed the fireplace and the ocean views. We hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.