We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #12 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Fort Lauderdale
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Honeymoon experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This place is fantastic. We were on our honeymoon and had planned on staying just one night as we made our way though central Cali. As soon as we arrived we added an extra night because we were so impressed. At check in they upgraded us because it was our honeymoon to a ocean view room which was just a great touch and highly appreciated. The rooms are very nice with great views and fireplaces.

Room Tip: Definetely get a room with an ocean view, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are so happy you stayed with us on your honeymoon and decided to add an extra night to enjoy the great views. We sincerely hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    148
    68
    52
    39
See reviews for
91
310
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just came back from two wonderful nights at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands. Our room, although small, was cozy and offered us a view of the ocean on one side and a view of the pool and the spa on the other side. The fireplace added an element of rustic comfort and warmth.
The staff was very accommodating and genuinely seemed proud to be part of this hotel. They readily answered our tourist questions and gave us some great suggestions of where to eat and visit.
This trip was a celebration of our special birthdays and this was definitely the perfect setting.

Room Tip: Ocean view was extraordinary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed the fireplace and the ocean views. We hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassersdorf, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a wonderful room, one side overlooking the sea and the other to the pool. The best was the own chimney in the room which made the whole stay even more cozy.

The chopino at the terrace was delicious. In the evening we enjoyed an exquisite diner in the wonderful restaurant with big windows which offered a breathtaking view.

For relaxing the whirlpool is really cool.The pool area is nice but quite small.

Staying there was like feeling at home surrounded by a magnificent landscape, just a perfect dream!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoy staying with us- the stunning views and delicious Coippino make a wonderful combination! We sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have to preface this review by saying that we were at the Highlands Inn because they offered us a very low room rate ($150 per night) in exchange for ninety minutes of our time to listen to a timeshare pitch (I guess they thought we might have changed our minds from our first visit 10 years ago when we declined to purchase a timeshare, as we did this time). That said however, the place is really spectacular. We had a one bedroom with an ocean view and I could not imagine a better view. The rooms are very nice, fireplaces ready to be lit, great beds, wonderful service - all in all just a quality operation. The hotel restaurant is outrageously priced even with the $100 coupon they gave us, but you are only 5 minutes from Carmel, where there are a number of very good and less expensive eating choices.
BTW, if you want to buy a timeshare at the Highlands Inn, check online where resales are going for half the cost that we were offered.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed the stunning views! We sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon and thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had a wonderful one night stay. Our room was small but well appointed. Ocean view spectacular and fire place a nice extra. Staff very friendly. Enjoyed drink at the bar and nice breakfast. The only disappointment was the restaurant - very expensive. Service was poor and although the food looked beautiful every dish we ordered was bland and flavorless. The hotel is isolated so it is a pain to eat else where.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We happy you enjoyed the beautiful property but we are sorry you did not have a good experience at our restaurant. We sincerely hope you will visit us again and we thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We purchased a package to this hotel through my Junior League fundaiser's auction. Typically we stay at Ritz Carlton's, Four Seasons, or generally 5 star hotels. I went into the vacation with fairly modest expectations, but was very pleasantly surprised. Upon arrival you can't help but notice the breathtaking scenery. Check in was fairly effortless as we upgraded to an ocean view townhouse suite. When we arrived at the room, we were happy with the layout and with the amenities. The view was amazing. The room was fairly modern, no frills, but comfortable. Used to staying in some amazing properties, I immediately take note of what could make this a 5 star property (nicer beds, more plush carpeting or hardwoods with rugs and furnishings, bigger windows) but it serves a pretty good purpose just as is. My only suggestion would be to convert the wood burning fireplaces to gas log. We enjoyed the fire, but the smells of it in rooms adjacent to yours can be overwhelming.

Breakfast in the California Market was very good and the service was great. Dinner at the Pacific's Edge was great. Unfortunately at night there is no view since it is too dark, but the food was delicious.

Carmel by the Sea and the Highlands were lovely. Definitely take the 17 mile drive, spend some time in Carmel shopping, and visit Cannery Row. On Friday we went to the Monterey Bay Aquarium (fantastic) and had lunch at the Fish Hopper (excellent clam chowder). Saturday we went shopping in Carmel by the Sea. Lovely shops and breakfast at Em Le's was divine. Get the special french toast (a half order is enough) to share. It is like eating funnel cake for breakfast! Sunday we drove Highway 1 out to visit the Redwoods at Pfeiffer State Park. What a lovely, white knuckle drive. The scenery is gorgeous. Lastly, stop by Nothing Bundt Cakes if you find yourself over in the shopping center at Carmel Highlands. My son made us stop in as we wanted to pick up a few things at the store and it was so worth it we stopped back again the next day. Met the owner and she was lovely. The cakes were fabulous.

This was a lovely, quiet vacation and I would most definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing, scenic long weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoy staying with us- the stunning views are always a treat! We sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a weekend getaway trip using points.

We arrived a little earlier than check-in and the front desk was swamped with unhappy people, mostly elderly, who were trying to get status updates on their room readiness. I am Hyatt Diamond, so my room check in was prioritized (and although it wasn't ready when I arrived, it was ready before the advertised check-in time at 4PM) -- but it made me feel sorry for the rest of the people in the lobby who could not check in. The service at the front desk was very polite and courteous to these unhappy people, but the excuse being given was that the hotel was nearly full and that housekeeping was backed up. We went off the property while our room was being prepared and came back about an hour after we got the call that it was ready. Back at the front desk, the number of people waiting hadn't improved and the excuse was the same -- now a full hour after the check in time. This seems like a fundamental problem -- if your hotel is going to be full, make sure you have enough staff to get your rooms ready on time.

Since I'm Diamond, I was offered some cookies and wine to be delivered to my room after check-in (supposedly within an hour of check-in). Two hours later and they still hadn't arrived. I called the front desk and while polite the man at the front kept saying "it'll be there as soon as possible", "how soon is as soon as possible? Does that mean it's on the way?", "it'll be there as soon as possible", "so what you really mean is that you have no idea, right?"... The welcome amenity arrived at 6:30 -- essentially too late to enjoy because we had a dinner reservation. Another indication that whoever is running the support service staff needs to improve.

Ate at Pacific's Edge for dinner -- the food and service were both good. I was offered a black napkin, I guess so white lint wouldn't get on my black clothing? The view was good, but would have been better if we had eaten there earlier when you could still see the horizon.

Rooms were nice with wood-burning fireplaces (and refill wood available), mini-kitchen, and a jacuzzi hot tub. We could hear our neighbors a little bit -- but there are two floors so you can choose where to be if you want to avoid any noise. The ocean view was really nice as well.

Breakfast at California Market was good. The view is really nice out on the deck. My husband ordered one of the many eggs benedicts that they offer. He got only one egg and it was overdone. The server replaced it with a new one (two eggs and both cooked well). No hassle about the replacement.

Room Tip: We stayed in 508 -- it has a clear view of the ocean. I heard some other customers complaining that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will look into your comments. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to know what you enjoyed and where we can improve. Thank you for your review and we sincerely hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt
Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.