We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Amazing view, but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked this place from Internet descriptions -- which were mostly accurate. The view is totally amazing. This may be one of the best properties in the area. Another high point is the Pacific Edge -- the 'signature restaurant'. The food is 100% gourmet with a wide selection of salads, appetizers, and entries. The dessert list is small, but the wine list is totally amazing. Expect about 100$/person for dinner with a bottle of one of the least expensive wines. The staff in the hotel and the restaurant were helpful and friendly - mostly. There is free Internet (amazingly).

The negatives are: the need for valet parking always (but this is at no additional cost); 4 pm check in; and, the biggest negative, is the price. The place is overpriced for what it is. Stay away from the aggressive condo sales people in the lobby.

Our room was smoky due to the smoke from fireplace chimneys down the hill. But there was some kind of air freshener machine in the room. It did not seem to do much.

If you can get a reasonable price, it is a worthwhile place to spend a few days in Carmel.

Room Tip: Watch for promotional rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We appreciate your review- it helps us to know what you enjoyed and where we need to improve! We are happy you enjoyed the wonderful views, and our delicious dining options. We will look into your comments and thank you for taking the time to review. We hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    190
    95
    71
    46
See reviews for
131
405
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

What do you say about a place where you simply look out of your room and watch the Gray Whales go by?

The main building provides just a fantastic panorama of the ocean, a wonderful restaurant (that is a destination itself), and a warm atmosphere. This place just feels so inviting and cozy that you'll never want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed the stunning views and we hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had a suite/Ocean View Townhouse. It was excellent. Service was superb and the restaurants and views perfect. It was nice to wake up to the fog and quiet and walk down to breakfast. Service and value is quite good. I'd definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
We are glad you had a great visit with us! The ocean views are breathtaking, and we are glad you enjoyed. We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We very much are tired of the once restful lodge being a high pitch Hyatt sales area. We bought for the ambience, now it's used for sales. Once Hyatt gets your money for the timesshare, beware. Hospitality on surface is o.k., but quality is horrible, gone downhill since Hyatt took over. Had to ask to clean hairs, & dirt from bedroom and bathroom drawers, toilet wall. Had to ask for more than two bath towels for both levels. Housekeeping staff are nice, but make excuses.
For the timeshare purchase & annual fee, at least clean and polish interior woodwork, not use high quality advertising brochures, cards. Trees are overgrown within inched of growing into deck, blocking views.Bed still slopes toward the side, pillows still lumpy, less lofty fill over the past few years. Stop being impressed with yourselves, just train cleaning staff in hygiene, along with hospitality. We will not pay tips for once basic fine expected service at the Highlands Inn which is a downhill business now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We hope you will call and speak with our management as we sincerely want you to leave our property happy, and we are sorry you did enjoy your stay overall. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I wanted to do this review to thank the staff at this hotel. What a pleasure it was to be here! First, we got there and out reservation got a little messed up, and the manager went above and beyond to have us have a pleasant stay. We ended up getting an unexpected upgrade! The views of this place are phenomenal. The restaurants were incredible. We had the best meals out of all Carmel here at the 2 restaurants. Best eggs benedict you'll ever have ( point lobos). Yes, it is pricey, but that's how Carmel is everywhere. Our thanksgiving dinner was about $400 with wine but worth every penny. Do yourself a favor and dine here. It is not just food, its an experience!
The hotel is in a perfect location about a mile off Point Lobos state park, which that itself is a huge plus. There's also a little convenience store right at the main building, and also another smaller convenience store and gas station about a half a mile from it too. What a great experience it was, we will back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We are so happy you chose to stay with us and had a wonderful visit. We sincerely hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Checked in to this property at night, and was concerned about not getting a nice room or one with a view.
Greeted at the front by very nice valet and bellman, and proceeded to the front desk. As there were 3 of us, we needed 2 beds. At check in, nicely greeted, they gave us our room with a king bed. I explained that we needed two beds, and the gal went to the back to see availability with her manager. Because we were only staying 1 night, they upgraded us to a suite with a separate living room and bedroom, for a very small fee, which was amazing. The accommodation was fantastic, tremendous views, panoramic windows throughout the suite, and most important a very comfortable sleeper bed, and king bed in the other room..GREAT PROPERTY.
Had a very late dinner in their pub that night with very good food. The weather was not great so we did not want to venture out to Carmel. Breakfast the next morning was fantastic, no buffet, thank you, but a great creative menu of delicious items.
All in all an excellent stay, great location, beautiful views, wonderful service. We could not take full advantage of the facility due to our time, and the weather. They had a spa there, but never saw it. THe grounds were amazing, but with the rain, we could not explore.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the stunning views and beautiful property. We hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Loved everything about it! Ask for a sea view room and have breakfast and dinner on the terrace! Restaurants are amazing too. Pool and excellent amenities and service. More than expected for the price

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed the restaurants, great views and amenities with us. We hope you visit us again and thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.