We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Romantic place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #15 of 21 hotels in Carmel
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Romantic place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a hotel with some rooms that are beautifully and elegantly decorated, with great ocean views from balconies, and a superb restaurant. My impression is that not all rooms are great. One time we stayed here and the staff was doing construction right outside our bedroom window - not great! So overall can be a special place but be careful which room you pick. Also has a spa.

Room Tip: Just review all the types of room to make sure you get what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and that you are a fan of our restaurants! We hope you join us again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    160
    77
    54
    42
See reviews for
106
341
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Used our free night from the Hyatt Visa card to stay at this historic ocean view property. Got a room with fireplace and ocean view. Unit is very dated and smells like a burnt out fire. It is a romantic setting and you want enjoy the sunset from the veranda. The pool area is very small and there is a separate hot tub area. The little bit of wood you have in the unit is used up very quickly so you have to trek up the hill to fetch more. I think it is overpriced given the current condition. Too bad it does not live up to the glory it used to have. It takes about 20 minutes to get to downtown Carmel. Restaurants are pricey. Free valet parking is a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are happy you chose to stay at our property and that you enjoyed the sunset from the veranda. We hope you will join us again and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife took me here for surprise birthday weekend. Our room, overlooking the ocean (and highway 1) could have easily been mistaken for a roadside motel. Room was cramped, dark and noisy. Our upstairs neighbor's footsteps could easily be heard and the noise from the highway easily penetrated the wafer thin walls and kept us up much of the night. We also dined at the hotel's signature restaurant "Pacific's Edge" and found the food and service to be poor. My steak was overcooked and underseasoned and my wife's chicken was so small I would have sworn it was a quail. The waitstaff was borderline rude and even after finishing our dessert and being one of the last diners in the restaurant (it was only about 9:30) we couldn't find anyone to give us our check. We will never return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view but one that is further back in the property away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We hope you will call and speak with our management as we sincerely want you to leave our property happy, and we are sorry you did enjoy your meal overall. Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and property and we hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I am a budget traveler but i got the Hyatt Visa card (2 free nights at any hyatt) so i decided to go to this one, mostly because i had no chance to visit the Park Hyatt in Paris or Tokyo! I regret none of it. I think out of all the Hyatt's in California this was the best for me, here is why: Gorgeous views from the room, great rooms, and romance all around you. You can rent a bike for free and bike down the highway and see some of the gorgeous heights The Big Sur is amazing and so was this hotel. The service was fast and awesome and we even got a free bottle of champagne! Also, there were binoculars in the room and we were lucky enough to see a Whale. Moreover, there is a beautiful state park right near there which we biked too and saw all the beautiful nature. I can't recommend this place enough for a couple or a family. It's extremely romantic!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We are so happy you chose to stay with us and had a wonderful visit. We sincerely hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is in an absolutely gorgeous location with stunning view of the ocean right at the northern extremity of the rough Central Coast. The facility itself is somewhat dated, and while room amenities are modern and elegant, our room felt a bit cramped. The service was attentive and courteous, but nothing exceptional.

We stayed here using my Hyatt Diamond points, but I am not sure I would have considered this stay quite as exceptional if I had to pay full price. Our Ocean View king was overhanging the access road in the front, with not as much as a tree obstructing the view, and backing up to the swimming pool, but since the property is scattered all over the face of the mountain you can easily get much less lucky - as some reviews seem to attest. The service in the lounge in the evening at dinner was very slow, and in the morning breakfast was added to my bill (it should have been comp'ed); to add insult to injury, they made me wait at the checkout until they clarified with the waiting staff.

Room Tip: Rooms backing up to the swimming pool have unobstructed views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed the stunning views we are proud to offer! We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I own 3 Hyatt Residence Club (HRC) properties. We've been to many of the HRC locations and have had a great experience in all of them except the HRC at Carmel Highlands.

We were supposed to get a 2BR with an ocean view; that didn't happen. Instead, we were given a 2BR with a terrible view of the wooden roof shakes from the adjacent building. The HDTV in the upper BR, although "operable", could not be used because the available space in that BR was cluttered with large and old BR end tables that were useless. If we tried to watch the HDTV from the king size bed, we would not be able to view it, because of the very large TV cabinet doors, which blocked the view from the bed. The net result is that, with no comfortable chairs to sit down, the TV was useless.The restaurant was mediocre at best, and although the employees there were helpful and courteous, the service at the front desk was very substandard.

In addition, the general appearance of this HRC was rather poor, when compared to the HRCs in other locations. Our rooms (and I believe all the others) did not have a washer or a drier. Please do not judge the overall HRC on the basis of this location; if you travel to other HRC locations, you'll be delighted at how great these places truly are. HRCs are worth their price, but not this one in Carmel; look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us, and we encourage you to call and speak with our general manager. We pride ourselves on wonderful customer service, and a truly memorable, beautiful visit on this stunning property. We hope you will consider staying with us again and we hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great views, very romantic. We were upgraded to a townhouse suite, which is split level. Lots of space. Maybe a little tired. Loved the fire place and the smell of smoke on the balcony. Will always remember that sunset. Only downside was that it felt quite touristy, but afterall it is a Hyatt. Breakfast was just ok.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.