We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Substandard for a Hyatt Residence Club” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #14 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Escondido, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Substandard for a Hyatt Residence Club”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I own 3 Hyatt Residence Club (HRC) properties. We've been to many of the HRC locations and have had a great experience in all of them except the HRC at Carmel Highlands.

We were supposed to get a 2BR with an ocean view; that didn't happen. Instead, we were given a 2BR with a terrible view of the wooden roof shakes from the adjacent building. The HDTV in the upper BR, although "operable", could not be used because the available space in that BR was cluttered with large and old BR end tables that were useless. If we tried to watch the HDTV from the king size bed, we would not be able to view it, because of the very large TV cabinet doors, which blocked the view from the bed. The net result is that, with no comfortable chairs to sit down, the TV was useless.The restaurant was mediocre at best, and although the employees there were helpful and courteous, the service at the front desk was very substandard.

In addition, the general appearance of this HRC was rather poor, when compared to the HRCs in other locations. Our rooms (and I believe all the others) did not have a washer or a drier. Please do not judge the overall HRC on the basis of this location; if you travel to other HRC locations, you'll be delighted at how great these places truly are. HRCs are worth their price, but not this one in Carmel; look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us, and we encourage you to call and speak with our general manager. We pride ourselves on wonderful customer service, and a truly memorable, beautiful visit on this stunning property. We hope you will consider staying with us again and we hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    163
    79
    54
    42
See reviews for
109
345
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great views, very romantic. We were upgraded to a townhouse suite, which is split level. Lots of space. Maybe a little tired. Loved the fire place and the smell of smoke on the balcony. Will always remember that sunset. Only downside was that it felt quite touristy, but afterall it is a Hyatt. Breakfast was just ok.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife had wanted to come to the Highlands Inn based on a good experience nearly 30 years ago. Unfortunately, our room, apparently, had not been updated or maintained well in those 30 years. While it had a fantastic view, the room was run down, and things (like the floor to ceiling shade) broke. When we contacted management, they said they would knock off $100 per night off the room. Guess what? They didn't.
It is a beautiful location, and the people working there were great. But we got the impression that the goal was to sell timeshares. Spending 500+ a night didn't qualify with the management for service.

Room Tip: Check it out, first, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us, and we encourage you to call and speak with our general manager. We pride ourselves on wonderful customer service, and a truly memorable, beautiful visit on this stunning property. We hope you will consider staying with us again and we hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of spending three nights at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands and found it to be a very picturesque, peaceful and romantic spot.

The physical aspects of the hotel are fantastic...impeccably manicured grounds and a main lobby that is beautifully designed with great views of the ocean below. We stayed in a two story "town home" style room with a balcony, a wood burning fireplace and a gigantic bathroom sporting a very large whirlpool tub. The shower might have been a bit small, but it was all-in-all very clean and very comfortable. The fireplace added a nice romantic touch, with wood supplies near the rooms to keep the fire roaring on those cold, fog swept evenings. The staff would prepare the fireplace again each morning...which is very, very nice.

The welcoming and front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. There were bikes on site for the guests to use and plenty of information on local hikes, things to do and places to go. Heated swimming pool, gym and hot tubs offered other diversions for the guests..though I must say the gym wasn't anything special, but then again who wants to spend time inside a gym when you're in as nice a place as Carmel by the Sea.

There are two restaurants on site.

For evenings the Highlands offers an upscale restaurant and bar that by some accounts has received some measure of acclaim; However, despite the lovely views through the giant plate glass windows, my advice is to run, not walk, to other off-site establishments for your dining and drinking pleasure. While $15 isn't unheard of for a glass of wine....it becomes somewhat unconscionable when that glass of wine is coming from a bottle that costs just $18 at a local wine shop..We did have a bite to eat in the bar on our first night and the food was truly good...it's just a shame this establishment feels the need to fleece its customers on the wine...I would leave this restaurant to those on corporate expense accounts and/or politicians dining on the taxpayers' dime....there are just too many local restaurants offering better food and better wine at far better prices...

The other restaurant offers breakfast with a lovely outdoor dining area complete with stunning views out over the coast. It's just unfortunate the service didn't match the food or the view. On Sunday we waited at least 20 minutes before a waiter had the time to visit our table...clearly they were understaffed...which probably helped contribute to our waiters surly attitude. Oh well, the food was filling and the view on that sunny, Sunday morning in Carmel was well worth the attitude problems.

We would certainly enjoy a return visit to the Highlands for another romantic weekend..the spot is truly a nice one...just next time we'll be sure to bring our own coffee, breakfast food and wine so as to avoid the Highland's own rather disappointing eateries.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We are sorry you did not enjoy your dining experiences with us, but happy you enjoyed the wonderful property. We thank you for your feedback as it helps us to know what you enjoyed and where we can improve. We hope you visit us again and we will look into your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I just spent three wonderful days at this hotel--I'm not sure where the bad reviews on here come from, but we were completely satisfied with every aspect. We had a beautiful two-story suite (#507), with an incredible view of the coastline and surrounding forest. The service was excellent--everybody we came in contact with could not have been friendlier or more eager to please. We made our reservations through the Hyatt website, not as a timeshare. As to the annoying sales calls several of the reviews reference, we did receive two calls during our stay--however, in both cases we politely and firmly told the caller we weren't interested and they didn't make any effort to pressure us. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We are happy you had a wonderful visit with us! We strive to offer excellent customer service to compliment to beauty of the property and views, and we are so glad you enjoyed. We sincerely hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
412 reviews 412 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a very expensive hotel, but the service here was good overall. You are paying for the great ocean views. & the peace of the area. Parking is complimentary valet. The hotel staff help bring wood in. Our tv did not work but they came to repair that. We got complimentary alcohol but since we are tee totalers, they replaced that with sparkling cider & chocolate covered strawberries. At their main restaurant, we were given a meat soup instead of the vegetarian one that we ordered & that was replaced. The lounge is also a good place to watch the sunset. At night if you are bored, the pay per view is quite expensive, so get DVDs from the Safeway down the street.

Room Tip: Choose from garden view or ocean view. If you have trouble walking, pick one near the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed the beautiful views and service. We thank you for the great review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Ok, so, Holly (my wife) and I stayed here for a few days in September 2012. We had a room with a fantastic view over the bay, the room was perfect and the service was excellent. If I close my eyes, I can imagine the smell of the pine wood smoke drifting out of the rooms. We wouldn't hesitate to come back when we are next in the US, I would like to explore the Carmel area a little more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope you visit us again next time you come to Carmel- thank you for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.