We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Get Invited To The Timeshare... Go!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Level Contributor
781 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,737 helpful votes
“If You Get Invited To The Timeshare... Go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have stayed at this property several times over the years, starting ten years ago to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We have attended 3 Timeshare Invitation stays at this property. For $99/night this is a wonderful deal and a great opportunity to stay at the property at an inexpensive rate.

Our room had full oceanviews but what I did not like about our room this time was the view of the parking lot. The beds are very comfortable at this hotel and the jacuzzi tubs are a wonderful way to relax after a day of sight-seeing in the area.

We had never used the pool area before here but did this past stay since the weather was so nice and warm. Since our last stay they have built a very pretty deck area with lots of extra lounge chairs where we enjoyed relaxing for a few hours. The pool was perfectly heated and the jacuzzi outside has also been re-tiled and was very nice.

For dinner we dined at Pacific's Edge at the hotel with beautiful views of the ocean. After the presentation you are given $100 to use at the hotel which we used for our meal. The Timeshare presentations are now presented in the lobby of the hotel which may be very annoying for other guests.

We have made many warm memories at this hotel over the years. It is in a beautiful setting in the Carmel Highland's area. If you receive an opportunity to stay at this property at a discounted rate... go! The presentation goes quickly and our rep was very nice. :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    207
    105
    73
    49
See reviews for
142
441
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rothbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Back again, this place has stunning views. The real wood burning fireplaces are wonderful, wether in your room or public areas. This place is expensive. Over $800 plus tax for our room on a deal. Bi level townhouse suite. No point in staying unless you can streatch to an ocean view anything. The hotel is its own worst enemy. We had planed to stay 3 nights originally on our road trip. With prices like this we cut it down to one! And moved on to Yosemite. Bar food very nice. The pacifics edge menu was too high brow for us. Prefer good wholesome food it seemed to "nouvelle cuisine" for our taste. Bathrooms superb, gardens well kept. Small but pleasent pool area. A few hot tubs. We would not stay anywhere else around here, its fantastic but not worth the money.

Room Tip: If you cannot stretch to an ocean view room view of any kind dont bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Beautiful grounds, friendly service, extemely clean roomsabd gorgous views ! We had a horizon view, which means we could see the water ans some of Point Lobos. Yes, it is pricey, but so well worth it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! We hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The hotel has very large rooms. Try the 501 (double floors), you wont be disappointed. The view is absolutely gorgeous. Cant go wrong

Room Tip: 501 is the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed the amazing views and our spacious rooms! We hope you will visit us again and we thank you for taking the time to review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
416 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The location, friendly staff, beautiful grounds, and large rooms more than compensate for the high room rate. The experience is more than worth the charges.

Room Tip: As is true in most hotels, ask for a free upgrade. There's nothing to lose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide friendly service at our unique hotel for a truly memorable experience and we are happy you had a great time! We hope you visit us again to enjoy the beautiful property and the stunning views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Beautiful location above highway 1 overlooking the coast. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The location is 5 star, the hotel itself is 4 star. Our room was spotless and had everything we needed except spare electrical outlets. I will say the room, although spotless, was a little tired but not enought to take away from the feel of the location. We did experience a fair amount of road noise while our balcony doors were open, not sure if this is true for all rooms. We had a couple meals at the California Market restaurant and they were tasty and fresh and the view can't be beat. We will be back as points allow!

Room Tip: Our room, #218 was above Highlands Drive and you could hear the road noise 24/7. Perhaps other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed the amazing views and dining at our California Market Restaurant. We hope you will visit us again and we thank you for taking the time to review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Situated with a wonderful view of the water from the main lounge, the hotel was quite suitable for a short stay with two grandchildren, ages 4 and 7. We were surprised, and comforted, to find so many families with children, with the hotel staff comfortably acting like they had seen it all before. The rooms are somewhat smallish, bland and outdated (as is the main lounge). All are clean and comfortable but lack enough sockets for anything electrical and there were jumbles of chords behind furniture and not an available socket. Our townhouse suite had the bedroom below the living room/kitchen. Room service produced timely, abundant meals. Engineering responded immediately to multiple problems with TV/DVD. The smoke from the wood fires has been noted by previous reviewers and it is abundant indeed. There is a lot of ups/downs, given the hillside location of the property.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed great room service while traveling with your family. We hope you will join us again next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
3.7 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.