We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, excellent customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Stunning location, excellent customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights recently. After arriving late at night, there was a room mix up (due to Hyatt central reservations, not the hotel) and as a result we had no bed for our daughter. The staff bent over backwards to make sure we had a place for all of us to sleep, and ended up upgrading us the second night after the mix up. The property is absolutely immaculate, with fantastic sweeping views of the Pacific and beautiful landscaping. The rooms vary quite a bit so do inquire as to exactly what you are reserving. They have nice amenities as well, including warm robes, binoculars and a marine mammal guide for watching the sea lions, whales and other animals. We had great meals and service as well in the California Marketplace and the Sunset Lounge. Our waiter told us all about the whale migration as we watched blue whales off the coast while we sat outside at breakfast. Great way to start the day. We are already looking forward to our next visit All in all a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: Make sure you inquire into exactly what type of room you are getting as they vary from regular hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    190
    95
    71
    46
See reviews for
131
405
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I have visited Monterey many times and have yet to find a hotel with combined view, privacy, quiet and comfort to compare with this property. Perched above Highway 1 overlooking the rocky and majestic Monterey coastline, the room had lots of space, a modern decor, a working fireplace stocked with firewood and kindling, and two patios - one overlooking the ocean and the other overlooking the pool behind the room. More firewood was freely available at two nearby locations. Room service was speedy and appreciated as you hardly want to leave the room. They brought a blow up bed for one person in my party and took it down and blew it up again the next day. Although I used Hyatt points to stay here, I would book it again on another trip.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 500s were closest to the ocean so there was nothing between us and the view except the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed the wonderful ambiance and the stunning views! We are happy to help accommodate our guests with extra sleeping arrangements, and we are glad you received helpful service. We sincerely hope you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

So - we headed north to one of America's most beautiful and romantic destinations - Big Sur. After settling in for the two hour plus drive, we began to drink in the visual perfection that makes this enchanting part of America so unique. With every cliff hanging curve, surf pounding inlet and cascading rock formation, we were reminded of the grace and beauty of nature at its best. As an architect, I have spent most of my life dealing with issues of design and the built environment. Having said that, one must acknowledge those forward thinking nature lovers, explorers and even political leaders who managed to create the national parks, state parks and monuments for places like Big Sur where man is asked to tread lightly. Without those efforts, condos would be hung from every precipice with a view!! Frank Lloyd Wright said that he found great inspiration in The Grand Canyon. Upon seeing the work rendered by nature at Big Sur and the Central Coast of California , you come to realize - no matter how great the genius, any man made design pales when measured against God's earthly creations found in this enclave of natural splendor.

As the long and winding road took us closer to Carmel, we realized that we had absolutely no idea where we were going to stay for the night. Like all travelers during the Pre-Google/Internet Search days, we had a stack of dog eared, highlighted books on California and its many regions, hotels and eateries from LA to San Francisco. But for some reason, we had not really planned much of an itinerary. Normally, I do not recommend this approach, since, you may end up in a Motel Six for the night, especially in places as heavily visited as the Central California Coast. As luck would have it, my Co-Nomad and life mate, Susie, turned to the page with a Hyatt Resort listed in The Carmel Highlands on the northern tip of Big Sur. I would like to think she found this place as a result of a thorough and highly evolved system of travel research, but, in reality, it was just one of those random, serendipitous occurrences that yielded results beyond our wildest imaginings. I mean, what are the chances of finding a killer hotel in Big Sur, California in the middle of the summer, only four hours before check in? It also helps that Susie, aka Karen Sue, is an avid reader and remembers the most mundane details from every book she has ever read, including travel books. She is also an excellent navigator and sign reader, even though she takes great pride in NOT being able to read a map. It defies explanation, but it's the truth. Without my soul mate, who has stumbled through life with me for thirty nine years, I would still be figuratively and quite literally - lost!

I know what you are thinking. Wait a minute- this guy is always trashing big hotels and particularly chains - so how can he possibly be talking about actually staying at a Hyatt? Well - all chains are not created equal. Our history with Hyatt has always been very positive, particularly after staying in a very small boutique property in Chicago with a killer on-site restaurant some years earlier. So, given the late hour, we dialed the hotel direct. A very nice young lady informed us, amazingly, that they did indeed, have a room. Now that we had snagged a room on a Sunday afternoon, no less, in one of the most desired destinations for Nomads of every ilk, we slowed down even more, stopped at every nook and cranny to take in the beautiful views as we crawled along the most famous scenic drive in America. Just inside the area known as Big Sur, we stopped at a small roadside store of vintage "this place is really old" design, bought some road food, and found a place to rest and appreciate the simple pleasures one can experience when one travels like a True Nomad. In this environment, cheese crackers and Boone's Farm Elderberry would have fit the bill.

Over the years, the vibe of Big Sur has been enticing to artists, writers and other creative types. Such luminaries as Henry Miller, Hunter S. Thompson and Jack Kerouac have resided here and produced many works while in residence. In addition, the area has served as a backdrop in numerous big studio and indie films, including The Sandpiper starring Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton. It has also been home to all manner of off the grid - or off the wall - places of religious thought, contemplation and new age philosophies, including a Catholic Monastery, The Esalen Institute and Tassajara Zen Mountain Center, a Buddhist Monastery . With only about a thousand permanent residents, this sparsely populated corner of Eden is comprised roughly of a ninety by twenty mile wide strip of coastline from Ragged Point in the south to Carmel in the north. Only the very wealthy can afford to live there, as real estate is sold by the square foot. One 1,200 square foot house is currently on the market for a cool seven million! But ridiculous real estate prices and strange, new age philosophies could not keep this Nomad and his bride from relishing the incomparable beauty of this little part of heaven on earth. As we continued north for the short drive to Carmel, I thought to myself - If I ever win the lottery, I am definitely moving here.


The Hyatt Carmel Highlands is a scant fifteen minutes south of the very artsy and very wealthy coastal town of Carmel By The Sea. Besides having world class art, extremely wealthy residents and many restaurants, B&B's and shops where you can spend your hard earned money, Carmel boasts having Clint Eastwood as a former mayor. Only in California does Dirty Harry get to run the town. Because of its location, The Highlands feels as though it is the only place on earth from which to observe the comings and goings of the natural world and the Pacific Ocean. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a full suite with direct views of the pounding surf below. By American standards, with only forty eight rooms and suites, The Highlands is a pretty small place. With exquisite wood detailing and intimate public spaces, the feel is more like a retreat or lodge than a hotel. In addition, it is designed "into" the landscape, so you are completely surrounded by the best that nature has to offer. And, as you would expect from a five star property, the rooms are impeccably decorated with no detail left to chance. Sleeping with our doors open to enjoy the sublime climate of this mountainous coastal place and waking the next morning to enjoy nothing but the sunrise and the sounds of giant seals on the coast from our private deck proved that serendipity is, indeed, a good thing. As you would expect, the on-site restaurants are second to none. Whether you choose the the sushi grade sea bass at the Pacific's Edge for dinner or the "make your own" omelet on the deck of the more casual California Market, you will not be disappointed. And both restaurants have views of the Pacific to die for.

So there you have it. Big Sur. The land. The sea. The mountains. And, most of all, the spirit of this special place and our stay in a world class boutique retreat made this middle leg of our coastal California sojourn No. 1 On The Nomad's List of Places To See, Eat, Sleep and Experience before you die.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Thank you for the great, wonderfully written review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you visit our property again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel sits atop Highway 1 in the Highlands of Carmel, overlooking a dramatic and beautiful cliff. The views from the rooms (we had booked two) were spectacular, the rooms themselves very nicely done. They come equipped with a fireplace. The view from the deck of the casual of the two restaurants is stunning, the food is good! That is the place where they also serve breakfast - bonus: no buffet, they actually have a menue and you get to order! (I personally can't stand these standard breakfast buffets anymore.) The dinner restaurant serves great food and - of course - has a panoramic view of the Pacific. It's the perfect place for a one- or two-day stay-over on a trip of Highway 1. If you stay there, you might try to get a room further up the hill, since our rooms where above the highway - not too bothersome, since traffic in the night is very low, but I'd probably opt for another room next time. Still, it's a beautiful setting, a great hotel with very friendly staff, an instant favourite.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your rooms and our delicious dining options! We hope you visit us again next time you are in Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This overpriced hotel offers dated rooms with limited comfort. The ocean views are spectacular but not else is worthwhile. I paid over $400 for a room which phone did not work, was freezing cold, the heating did not work. The phone was out of order. The rooms do not have mini-bar.
Think twice before staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. If there are ever problems with items in your room functioning, please let us know and we will do our best to accommodate you. We'd like to invite you to call and speak with our management regarding your experience, as we want all of our guests to leave happy. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Vallejo, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is what I need to say about this hotel, it was located on a prime piece of land, but the amneties need to be updated.

We stayed at this hotel for my girlfriend's birthday. I booked the Townhouse, which was 2 stories, along with a massage and a late check-out. Along with this was a dinner over at their in-house restaurant called "The Pacific's Edge" Restaurant.

The reason why I'm giving this place a 3 out of 5 is because of how expensive this place was to stay, there were a couple of other places I stayed here that were more worth the price, but I wanted to give this place a try since it's Hyatt owned, and their properties are usually cleaned properly, up to date, and well equipped. That wasn't the case for this property. It seems like the electronics (TV, LodgeNET system, and iPod/iPhone dock) wasn't even functioning properly, we had to give them a call 3 times, one for each TV, and the iPhone dock, they spend about 20 minutes for each TV, and the dock they replaced from another unit. It wasn't all bad though, their in-house therapists that we got for our massages did a great job, and the view from the room was completely stunning. They had an in-room jacuzzi, which was completely relaxing, although I would recommend bringing bath salts, they don't provide any and we had to go to the local Safeway just to get some. ^_^

The other part of our trip and this hotel was the "The Pacific's Edge" Restaurant, the ambience was great, there were children and other couples there, so it didn't seem like a strange place, but it was perfect for romance also. Their wine selection was great, but the thing it seemed like they were lacking was the ability to properly cook their food. I have no idea if the prices were based on the location of the restaurant or if they thought they did a spectacular job cooking the food, but I've had food at other restaurants in the Carmel/Monterey area that had great views and ambience for a better price.

In short, I want to make people to be sure to take a look at the hotel's styling before staying there, it may be your make it or break it escape.

Room Tip: Their rooms never get filled during the week, the best thing to do is book for a cheaper room, then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and will look into your comments as we want all of our guests to enjoy dining with us, and have a trouble free experience. We are sorry you had issues with some of the items in your room. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and it is our escape from home to go find peace and quiet. The views are amazing and the fire places in each room just makes it more rewarding...nothing like a crackling fire and a fresh ocean breeze.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
We are happy to hear that you stay with us regularly! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Venere, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.