We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Sur incredible views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Big Sur incredible views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I have been an owner here since 2006 and have never regretted purchasing a Hyatt timeshare. I have visited many of the Hyatt timeshare locations, but am so very glad that this is my home property. The units continue to be upgraded, the kitchens most recently. Though smallish, they provide everything you might need to avoid eating out, allowing you to enjoy the view from your deck. The wood-burning fireplaces are wonderful to enjoy on a cold night and will hopefully never be replaced by gas. For two people they are perfect, more and it would be a bit tight. The location is everything here - as nearly perfect as could be for a Big Sur vacation spot, yet close to the charming village of Carmel and the Monterrey Pennisula.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up - the higher up, the better the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
We are happy that you enjoy our beautiful property and that you get to visit us frequently! We look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    208
    109
    74
    49
See reviews for
147
449
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

My husband and I spent a glorious week at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands resort. We were lucky enough to stay in a one bedroom in the timeshare portion of the resort. The rooms were located on a hill overlooking the beautiful Carmel Highlands coast. Our villa had a full kitchen, a very comfortable living room, king bedroom and a huge bathroom with a large jetted tub and a separate stall shower. The one bedroom could accommodate 2 couples privately, wooden sliding doors separated the bedroom from the living room which had a queen sofa bed. The fireplace in the living room was prepared daily by the housekeeping staff, all that was needed was to strike a match to enjoy a cozy fire. The bathrobes were a nice luxury provided for our use while at the resort to wear in the room or for the short walk to the hot tub.
The resort provided fire pits scattered through out the property for the guests to enjoy at their leisure. The heated pool was close to the main lobby, it was small but well maintained and it was surrounded by nice redwood lounge chairs.
We visited Point Lobos reserve which was nearby and was the highlight of our trip. The hiking trails and the views along California's coastline was spectacular.
We had a very nice breakfast at the California Market restaurant with very good service and amazing views. The Sunset bar was comfortable but the drinks where very expensive. We didn't try the Pacific's Edge restaurant after seeing people walk out because of the poor service and considering the choice of amazing restaurants in nearby Carmel by the Sea. I would love to return to Hyatt's Carmel Highlands.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed a wonderful week with us! The views are amazing and we are glad you enjoyed our California Market! We hope you will join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Our review is of the 1-King Bed, Ocean View Room variety,
The view of the ocean off the little deck was spectacular. The room also had a large sliding glass door and the view was even great through it. The room itself was rather smallish, with no true sitting area (except for the enlarged ottoman at the foot of the bed). Bathroom area was almost claustrophobic. The bed was older and was not very comfortable, but the pillows were nice and comfy. This room included some niceties: pair of binoculars to ocean watch with, AM newspaper service (SF Chronicle), nightly turn-down service, firewood/fireplace, mini-fridge, keurig coffee maker, free valet service (use it if you stay in one of the rooms to the west of the main lobby, because of limited parking), and white robes to lounge in.
One of the things I was NOT impressed with was the Ice service -- the Ice machine nearest to out room gave us about 6 total ice cubes in 2 attempts. VERY good thing that room service was around to quickly correct for this problem. In fact, ALL the employees we came in contact with were extemely nice and helpful. Just beware of the call you will probably get on your first night wanting you to attend a "presentation" on the property (HINT: time share..) or to get you to commit to a special deal on additional nights any time during the next year -- we found these rather annoying!
Even though we had a good time here, I'm not so sure that the value is there for the incredible amount of money it cost.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received warm, friendly service. We hope you will consider visiting our unique property again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We initially planned to stay only 1 night there, en route from San Francisco to Los Angeles via the Pacific Coast Highway and when we arrived at the place the calm and view were just so incredible that we added a second night, forcing us to get up early to reach LAX and catch our flight home!

The room itself was really nice (although, it might soon benefit from a little lifting), and from the bed, just open the stores and see the trees, hills and ocean. Sunrise and sunset are beautiful. This was just so relaxing, staying there, on the balcony and watching.

The hotel staff was nice at all stages and valet parking is convenient, also we got help with our many suitcases with all the stairs we hd to go to reach our room.

View from the Restaurant was nice too, we took the Valentine's evening prix fixe menu and this is where we have been disappointed: the food whilst good (and "nouvelle cuisine") some of the dishes lacked presentation or quality (my sea bass for great, my wife's veal was undercooked and the plate not warm enough). Appetizer was good but not extraordinary and the dessert a little bit disappointing. We had a great Californian sparkling wine suggested by the sommelier (after I explained him that being French I would not want to taste french champagne, but prefer a good local product). Lastly for the restaurant, service was a little bit simple, style in serving needs to be improved. I'm sure they will.

So overall conclusion is very positive, despite the disappointing restaurant, and yes I would certainly return to this property and take again an Ocean view room.

Business note: Internet access was included in the price and worked well.

Room Tip: You want to rent an Ocean View room and watch sunset/sunrise from the balcony, otherwise it would ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback regarding your Valentine's Dinner and we are happy you chose to spend the special evening with us. We are glad you enjoyed the breathtaking views and we hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We own a timeshare at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands. It is first class all the way. The units are nicely appointed and intimate. A perfect place for a romantic getaway, but we have also brought our two kids (in a 2-bedroom unit) so it works for families as well. The staff is very nice and helpful. Many months of the year are foggy in the highlands which makes the fireplaces and hot tubs a highlight. Starting in October is when the sun comes out - summer months are generally overcast, foggy and cool. Take a hike through the nature reserve across the highway and you will see amazing sights of nature...Take a drive down the Big Sur coastline and have dinner at Rocky Point restaurant at sunset with 360 degree coastline views or head to Carmel and eat at the Post Ranch Inn, drinks at Hog's Breath bar and window shop the local art. Head to Monterey and visit the Aquarium and Cannery Row. The restaurant at the resort The Pacific's Edge is for a special occasion, amazing culinary artistry and views, not cheap - very memorable.
We thoroughly enjoy every visit and will return for years to come.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed such a wonderful, memorable stay with us! We truly hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This place is easy to review:
Spectacular views
great rooms
great lounge with great staff
great overall staff
terribble breakfast. worst pancakes, had to be out of a box and barely warm food. with no concern from the waiters or manager. Use the in room kitchenette for you breakfasts.

Room Tip: just ask for full ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed the wonderful property and stunning views, and we are so sorry you did not enjoy the breakfast and that you did not receive good customer service regarding this. We will look into your comments to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Just completed a 1 night stay in late January @ the Hyatt Carmel Highlands. We stayed in an ocean view room. The room had a wood burning fireplace fully loaded and ready to lite. It also had a balcony looking out to the pacific ocean. The room size is very nice and the bathroom layout is nice with a seperation of sinks from the tub & toilette. Our bellman met us at the room and pointed out the gray whales just off the coast from our balacony. The rooms supply binoculars which were very useful for looking at the whales. We enjoyed sitting on our balacony whatching the whales & sunset. After dinner we came back and lit our fireplace. If you are looking for a romantic place with amazing views this is it!

I did read in reveiws about the timeshare sales people hounding guests & am happy to report that receieved 1 phone call on the afternoon we checked in saying if we were interested, they had a free gift for us at the lobby. We were not and that was the end of it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to provide amenities to make your visit as comfortable as possible, and we are glad you enjoyed them. We hope you visit us again to enjoy the beautiful property and the stunning views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,291 reviews
3.7 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#17 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.