We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carmel Highlands Inn - Home, Sweet Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Carmel Highlands Inn - Home, Sweet Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The Carmel Highlands Inn is our home resort with our Hyatt Timeshare program. It is Fabulous! Perched high on a cliff above the Pacific on the north end of Carmel, you would be hard pressed to find a more beautiful setting. The Lobby and Lounge areas are spectacular. The units are updated regularly and are lux! Whirlpool double sized baths, graninte counters throughout and a fully equipped kitchen in every unit. We enjoy the Pacific Rim restaurant for a special treat (pricey!) and the lounge area always had great live jazz on the weekends. This last visit we checked out the pool and firepits that surround the property. You are situated right down the road from Point Lobos and miles of hiking along those beaches. Carmel Mission is just up the road and is a must see. Carmel proper is full of great restaurants and lovely little shops and art gallerys. A must do and see if you are staying at the Highlands Inn.
Oh and did I mention the wood burning fireplaces in the rooms? With wood delivered to your door? ...Fab!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view and upstairs unit for the very best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Critter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed in this hotel about 2-3 years ago (twice), when they had time-share promotions.

If you are looking for a romantic getaway or a family retreat. This one can be great choice. The ocean view from our room is simply awesome, the balcony overlooking the ocean is great and relaxing, and we also love the size of our room (1 bedroom condo) and the restaurant. The ocean view from the beautiful main restaurant will just make your breath away!

That said, the location of the resort is a big far away from all the tourist attractions (e.g. Carmel and Cannery Row), which can be a good thing and a bad thing. Good - you get a very peaceful and forest-like setting to relax (lots of wood-burning fireplace smells), if you love mother nature that is. The Bad - for younger children, they might be bored, except that they do have a nice swimming pool, but it's NOT heated (at least when we visited it). Overall, we had a great stay here.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whchuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

As others have said, it's all about the view here. Note: As I understand it, there is a Hotel portion of the property and an Owners area. We had asked for an upgrade (to a higher/larger unit), but none was available, so I'm assuming we were in the Hotel area of the property.

I wish our room had been larger. The sink area was outside the tub/commode area, but any running water from the sink was very much a "part" of the room sounds. With only 2 of us in there, we still had to coordinate brushing, shaving, etc. The room had a nice-sized closet. We were here for 3 nights, so it was good to be able to hang things. But we had to carefully arrange the room to accommodate our bags, etc. There was also some drawer storage available. The bed was comfortable, the pillows lush, and the towels were nice and thick. Overall very nice, but it was not a large room.

We were about as low on the hill as we could be (albeit on the top floor of our building). After pre-paying months ago, I would have been upset if we were on a lower floor. There was noise from Highway 1 from morning til dusk. After dark it was much quieter as traffic decreased. When walking the grounds, which were SPECTACULAR, it became apparent that being just one building back/up would have been much quieter. The lowest row of buildings blocks the highway noise to some extent. We had a very nice, large, balcony. If you could imagine the road noise being waves breaking (which we could hear at night), it was much easier to listen to...

The smell of burning wood is pervasive in the area. However, we lit our fireplace on the first 2 nights, and by having the draft going up the flue, our room had much less of the smoky smell inside. (I know we were contributing to the overall smell outside however.....) The chambermaids, or someone, made up the fireplace each night, so it was ready to light when we came in for the day. Nice touch.

The biggest surprise for us (first time visitors) was the bar/restaurant. Breakfast here was superb. We would then be out exploring all day and tended to have a larger lunch. This would allow us to sit in the bar area (numerous spots with unbelievable views!) and order from the smaller bar menu for dinner. The nice part about this was we could simply walk to dinner. The bad part is that we didn't get to explore some of the other dinner spots around Carmel that we thought we might visit.

We did have dinner in the restaurant on the last night. It was good, if on the expensive side. After the relaxed bar atmosphere of the previous 2 nights, the service was a bit overwhelming, but that's to be expected in a restaurant of this caliber.

The only other surprise was that we were forced to use valet parking due to only 4-5 spots being offered near the building we were assigned to. The valets were very efficient and the car was ready in practically seconds. But this extra step made it just easier to walk to dinner rather than ordering the car and driving. Not a complaint really, just something to be aware of.

Overall, a very nice stay with heart stopping views.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donhuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This hotel is situated in a very beautiful setting amongst the highlands of Carmel. The actual premises are very old; however updates have been made to the rooms in an attempt to modernize and provide luxury. You will be paying a fairly high price for the view, which is wonderful, rather than for the amenities of the room.
This is a sleepy town and the hotel conforms to that genre. The dining room and bar are closed by ten pm.
There is little to do thereafter.
Be advised that most of the rooms are equipped with wood burning fireplaces. The smoke that can prevail in your room and that which resides on the hotel's location is very intense. If you have bronchial issues you will have a difficult time here. I was unable to stay for more then eight hours. Disappointing for such a beautiful location.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We offer several options for dining and entertainment, and our helpful concierge is happy to recommend activities nearby. We are a short drive to many restaurants and options for nightlife, as well as wonderful outdoor activities. We do have wood burning fireplaces for those who prefer them, but we are happy to accommodate room requests whenever possible. We sincerely apologize for your experience, and we do hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Highlands Inn is located in a beautiful spot overlooking Monterey Bay. The majority of rooms have ocean views. Each room has a wood burning fireplace which comes in handy during the crisp nights. The rooms are very clean and elegant with parking nearby. Valet parking is also available. Complementary water is provided on the first day. Breakfast is included. The dining room also has a fireplace and a gorgeous view. The food is very good. The only con is the price of the rooms. However, the price is comparable to other high quality hotels in Carmel and Monterey.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

First, this is a review of the Hyatt Vacation Club portion of the resort. These are also part of the Interval International inventory and they do have an attached hotel for non owners.

The inn has very classy grounds, with mountain stream/waterfalls, several hot tubs nestled amongst the trees, and even an outdoor fire area. The rooms had jacuzzi tubs and a fire place, where housekeeping built a ready to light fire every day.

The ocean views are stunning, when the fog isn't heavy. It has a very distinct moutain resort setting, but is not too far from Carmel downtown area -- about a 15 minute drive.

While we did not eat there, it does have a higher end restaurant with stunning views of the coast. There is a great room in the main building with a nice lodge ambience. There is a modest fitness center with nice equipment.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You want to be in the middle of the resort and not close to the entrance road into the resort. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris-Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Good hotel and restaurant in excellent location for sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
3.7 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#8 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey Pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant (dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). Rumors have been circulating that California Market is closed for renovation. These rumors are not true. We are open and enjoying the Fall weather and delicious seasonal menu items. In 2016, we will be going through several renovations at the hotel and will update guests once we have a firm schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing