We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Carmel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Anaheim, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Very pretty resort. Makes you feel like your in a mountain lodge. It doesn't feel like a hotel, but more like timeshare residences. The grounds are well kept. Surrounded by huge pine trees and flowers. The smell of wood burning is always nice from the fireplaces. For the hotel being managed by Park Hyatt before, rooms are very outdated. The staff and management are wonderful. The main restaurant has the most amazing views of the Pacific Ocean. Great food. We had a full kitchen in our room so that helped with the cost of food. Local markets are very close so you can buy food and wine and then relax by the wood burning fireplace. Very Romantic place. Make sure to use the Japanese Hot tubs. One of them is clothing optional so make sure which one it is. Make sure you go to Point Lobos Reserve down the road. Absolutely breathtaking scenery! Also, downtown Carmel is about 10 minutes away but you feel very secluded.

Room Tip: try to get the Pacific view rooms. Some are two level and feel very cramped so ak for the single lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    179
    89
    68
    44
See reviews for
124
384
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Obrien, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We have stayed at the Inn several times over the last 8 years and the Hotel service staff is just outstanding. The Hotel is located in Highlands,nestled into the hill side, which is slightly south of Carmel. The rooms are very well appointed with wood burning fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs. Most of the rooms look out at the Pacific Ocean, and some also have a view of Point Lobos. The Sunsets are just incredible !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011 via mobile

Enjoyed our two day stay immensely. Service attentive and friendly. California market outstanding for breakfast and lunch with heaters and blankets available to enjoy the outstanding view from the porch when cool outside. Borrowed free bikes to see the sea otters at point lobos park, and relaxed in hot tub after. Perfect stay!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, california
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was our third visit to the Highlands Inn. We have visited in December, September and July and ironically, July's weather was the worst. Still, the setting is so beautiful and the hotel's restaurant and bar/lounge are looking out over one of the world's great views. You can begin each day with a cozy fire in the fireplace and end with a drink overlooking the ocean and Pt. Lobos. The hotel is less than 10 minutes from downtown Carmel. There is so much to do throughout the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt Highlands Inn because of our ownership in the Hyatt Vacation Club (Windward Pointe, Key West). The Highlands Inn is particularly beautiful...especially the landscaping. The restaurants are quite good, but a little pricey...I guess you could expect that from Hyatt. The room was wonderful and clean. We especially loved the wood burning fireplace, which we used every night. We enjoyed the hot tubs, but they were a bit dated. We were happy to learn that they will all be replaced soon. We were so impressed, we bought another week at Highlands Inn, adding to our vacation club ownership. You'll enjoy it.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for ocean view, you'll love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at Highlands Inn 7 years ago and returned in July. It is still one of our favorite places to to visit! We asked for an ocean view and it was absolutely beautiful! We stayed in a one bedroom suite and I will say that the rooms do need some updating. The room was very spacious with a huge jacuzzi tub that has folding doors for privacy from the livingroom area. There is a nice fitness room but small. If you want to eat breakfast with a great view, our deck was perfect or the hotel's restaurant (for breakfast) has a beautiful deck overlooking the pool with a nice ocean view also. The food was ok, not exceptional and I would suggest going into Carmel to eat at Katy's Place instead! We didn't eat dinner at the hotel restaurant. The grounds are immaculate! They offer bikes which would be great for a short ride to Point Lobos (which we need to do next time). The hotel is about 5-10 min. from Carmel; 15-20 from Cannery Row/Aquarium in Monterey. The summer months tend to be foggy so it can get chilly at night, so bring a jacket. Overall, you really can't go wrong with this coastline. Lots of good food, art, golf and shopping!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at the Highlands with our two teenage children . We had been to the Inn an number of years ago for a wedding and we have always wanted to return with our children to take in the beautiful sights of the Pacific Ocean and nearby Monterey and Carmel. We loved the room, complete with a kitchen and family room area. It was like staying in a condo instead of a hotel room, and gave us lots of room to relax. The ocean view from the room was amazing. We also appreciated the fact that we had use of a washer and dryer. We stayed at the hotel during the middle of a 2 week vacation along the coast, so it was great to have the chance to freshen up the suitcase load! We were getting a little tired of eating out all the time, so we ate most of our meals in the room, which was a nice break. The hotel has a beautiful restaurant, lovely pools, complimentary use of bikes for some great outdoor activity, and wonderful service.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the wonderful outdoor fire pits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.