We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views, friendly staff, acceptable accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Carmel Highlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #14 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Fairfield, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular views, friendly staff, acceptable accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

The short version: Our stay here was an excellent experience! Spectacular views, extremely friendly and attentive staff, beautiful grounds, delectable food, older but acceptable accommodations . . . and did I mention the views?

For those who are looking for a more detailed review:
My husband and I stayed here for two nights for our elopement weekend. We got married in Big Sur but opted to stay here the night before and the night of our wedding for a variety of reasons: views, price, reviews (I read A LOT of reviews before deciding to stay here), pictures (from official website and reviews), and restaurant recommend.

VIEWS & ROOM (pictures posted): The views from the lounge and the restaurant are amazing! We had a window seat in both the lounge while we were waiting for our table and during our wedding dinner. The view from our room was beautiful as well; we had an Ocean View King room. Some reviewers complain that the road can be seen/heard from some of the ocean view rooms and that’s true, but the hotel is RIGHT off of Highway 1. It shouldn’t be unexpected; it would be like complaining about being able to hear jets taking off from an airport hotel.
What else should be expected is the price of the rooms. There is no doubt - you are paying for the view. The rooms are older and pretty basic, but very clean and it’s evident that some amount of updating has been done. The TV was older and not a flat screen (not that we watched it anyway . . . who watches TV on their wedding night!?!). The fireplace was a real wood-burning fireplace, which was nice; and the bed was comfortable but not luxurious. All in all, not a top-notch room, but not a bad one either. Like I said, you’re paying for the view. If you want a luxurious room AND a great view in this area expect to pay at least $300 more for something in Big Sur or Pebble Beach.

STAFF & STAY: From the moment we got there to the moment we left we were treated as valued guests and EVERYONE on the staff we came into contact with all weekend congratulated us on our marriage (and we didn’t even get married there)! In the comment/request section of the reservation page, I wrote that it was our wedding weekend and the information was obviously passed along. On the night of our wedding a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolates were delivered to our room and there was a congratulations card waiting for us at the table we reserved for our wedding dinner (we had the chef’s tasting menu with wine pairings at Pacific’s Edge . . . excellent!). Even the sommelier congratulated us as he told us about the wine we had with our meal. The service while we were there was extremely attentive without being overbearing.

OVERALL we were extremely pleased with our stay. A bit out of our budget for a normal vacation, but certainly would consider staying here again for an anniversary weekend.

Room Tip: If it's a special romantic occasion, be sure to mention it when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    163
    79
    54
    42
See reviews for
109
345
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had great time at Highlands Inn during July 4th weekend. The place was very peaceful and ground was beautiful, very well maintenance. We had one bedroom unit which was spacious, had big jet bath and nice ocean view. The room also had full kitchen and comfortable sofa bed. At the lounge, there was live music around sunset time. It was memorable night. We have two kids and we felt this place is not very suited for small children, but my children enjoyed very much. We wish we could stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

This was our second stay at Highlands Inn - it is truly among our favorite hotelsl. As described in the previous reviews, the hotel overlooks the Pacific and the views are incredible. The room is small but very well organized and comfortable. We had a fire every night when the temperatures dropped - so romantic and cozy. It's impossible to stay at this hotel and not relax. The parking valet attendants are extremely efficient and very friendly - they welcomed us back by name each time we returned from our adventures. A slight negative is that there was much activity for timeshare sales and they used the hotel lobby for some of their meetings. Their loud sales pitch was a distracting annoyance when we were trying to enjoy a glass of wine and the views. Carmel and Big Sur are at the top of our favorite destinations - so I am sure we will enjoy the hospitality at Highlands Inn again.

Room Tip: Request oceanview /upper level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

I loved everything about this hotel! The room was very nice and spacious! Be sure and ask for a room with a view b/c wow what a view!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

This property is stunning. I've stayed in hotels with grander lobbies, more perfect service, bigger rooms, nicer gyms, etc....but overall, I think this one may win. We had an oceanfront room overlooking the Pacific...Point Lobos just to our right and heading out toward Big Sur to the left. I watched sea otters play from my balcony using the binoculars that came in the room.

Of course, going out on the balcony wasn't really necessary, i could see the ocean from the really, really comfy triple sheeted w/ down comforter bed. Pillow top heaven (we've vowed to get a new mattress at home after that. i may call and ask about the brand.) To further rant about the views, there was a view from the hot tub, a different view from the fire pit further up the hill, and a view from the restaurant deck where we had lunch w/ a seagull starring me in the face hopefully.

The grounds were gorgeous with flowers, the likes of which I have never seen. Every inch of the grounds were covered in magnificent flowers, huge ones, many I was completely unfamiliar with, others that were just prehistoric-sized versions of familiar flowers. The pool was heated to 80.

All rooms have wood burning fireplaces, and there are little wood stations near every room. I was bummed not to use ours, but my husband is very hot natured. The rooms are not air conditioned, and although opening the sliding doors onto the patio made it plenty cool (the hi was 59 in Carmel the whole time we were there) we didn't want to heat the room up before bed.

Valet parking was mandatory but free. Hotel provided mountain bikes were a little hoopty for a couple that came to watch a stage of a pro bike race, but we were happy to borrow them and pedal over to Point Lobos.

Now for a few negatives: Our shade broke and the first call about it produced no results. However the 2nd call had an engineer on the way within 2 minutes. The bath ammenities were Gilchrist and Soames, I was a bit disappointed not to get higher-end goodies, and then the maid never replenished them...we actually ran out. Not sure what that was about. The food in the Cali Market (lunch) was not too good, but I should have known better than to eat in a hotel. The rooms are laid out in lots of separate buildings, requiring some walking and a lot of stairs. I really enjoyed this because it was a chance to gawk the flowers (and manmade waterfalls, etc.) but someone w/ mobility problems might want to ask about accessibility. Someone from the time share sales office called and offered me $100 hotel credit to hear their 90 min presentation. This might not be a negative depending on how you feel about that.

I got this room for free for two nights through my Hyatt Visa, but I would have gladly paid the $400 per night...and I don't say that lightly. Few hotels are worth that...this one is.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Best View in all of Carmel! Whether you are sitting on your Terrace, sipping wine in Sunset Lounge overlooking Point Lobos Reserve...Life does not get much better! Breath taking views. and to make sure you get the most of them there are binoculars in every room. Our room had a kitchenette, fireplace, the furniture was warm, cozy, and just perfect. Must have been updated in the last couple of years - everything in the room was so well maintained. I loved the jacuzzi tun on the lower floor with these huge sliding wood doors so that even in the tub I could see the waves crashing on the rocks below...ahhhh! Amazing

Loved the California Marketplace even more than Pacific's Edge. We were looking for a laid back total escape and the food here was very good and satisfying. We bicycled down to Point Lobos and into Carmel and Monterey...this was a treat.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed one night at Highlands Inn in Carmel. Loved every moment from the drinks in the beautiful lounge overlooking Big Sur to the fireplace in the cozy bed. There is a pool but too cold for us to use but was very nice to look at. Only downside was that it was outside Carmel downtown which meant we had to dive into Carmel to enjoy the shops. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highlands Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant(dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Carmel Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.