We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a meal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Carmel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Carmel to your Saves list
L'Auberge Carmel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway Package
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

This is a great place to stay - right in Carmel. We were there for one night and the staff could not have been more wonderful. My wife and I decided to stay here based upon the reviews and the location rather than because of the restaurant, but much to our pleasant surprise, the restauraunt is the real reason for this gem. We had the four course menu and it was fabulous. If you do nothing else, eat here! It will set you back five bills, but it is worth is!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    39
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
22
141
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

This is our first time staying at L'Auberge Carmel,although not our first time in Carmel. This is a lovely hotel and our room is very comfortable.

I am surprised however, for a hotel in this class that there is no coffee pot in the room. We have traveled from the East Coast and for the first couple of days we wake up at 4AM. Breakfast is not served until 730 AM and the coffee service is not available until 6AM. We called at 510 AM and inquired if we could have coffee earlier. The night auditor said he was doing paperwork and would make it at 6AM. When we checked in we were led to believe it wouldn't be a problem if we woke up prior to 6AM, that someone would be happy to make the coffee a little earlier.
All of this would be solved simply by putting coffee makers in the rooms! The staff caters to us in every other way....it really doesn't make sense that they are seemingly indifferent on this issue.
I would still recommend staying here. We are really enjoying ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

We sadly only stayed one night at L'Auberge, but it was so wonderful!!! If only I could live there!!! We went during off season, so it seemed there were not many people there or even in Carmel - which was fine with me!! Our room was beautiful, spacious and well kept. The bathroom was large with heated floors (love heated floors!!) The courtyard is so gorgeous, I wish the weather had been better, we would have been out there until all hours if it hadn't have been raining. I will be back, L'Auberge. I miss the complimentary bottled water brought to out door (which uses real keys) as well as the fresh baked cookies brought to our door upon arrival. What attention to detail and customer service. How I miss you so and will return (in better weather) for a little love affair with this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas, USVI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

My husband and I traveled from St. Thomas where we live to tour the Napa Valley and Carmel for a week. We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for 2 nights and it was perfect! The hotel was decorated for the holidays and the courtyard view was nice to peek at out of our top floor room (22). The room touches were nice, heated floor, big free-standing 2 person bathtub and top quality shampoo and lotions. We ate at the main restaurant at the property and we were VERY impressed with the 3 course tasting menu because we actually got 7 courses! They kept bringing out little bits of this and that from the French chef (who has won many, many awards!) as starters and by the time our main meal arrived we were getting full. My suggestion is get the 3 or 4, not the 5 courses because you won't be able to finish it all even though the portions were perfectly sizes and not too big, we were still full after a bottle of wine and all the snacks. Overall, our visit was super and the hotel staff would do anything for you. they even printed our the movies playing at the local theater for us. This hotel is a must do especially because of it's location right in town, the food and service! you won't be disappointed! We even got special bath salts as a parting gift left in our car when we left.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gearhart, Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at l'Auberge Carmel twice in two weeks. We wouldn't have gone back a second time if we had not enjoyed it the first. They offer outstanding service from valet to check in and at the included breakfast in the mornings the servers provide service worthy of the highly-rated restaurant on the premises.

We used it as our home base while we looked at real estate in the area, so we weren't really doing anything as tourists and didn't avail ourselves of any of their services or advice for anything like that so we can't speak for those aspects of their services.

The location in town can't be beat- steps from Ocean Ave., a few very walkable blocks to the beach.

The rooms are appointed in an elegant and somewhat european-feeling manner. The baths are comfortable and refined.

We did have one problem while we were there which was very specific to us and would be too lengthy to write about here, but what is important is their response to our issue. The management was extremely apologetic and acted quickly to respond to us. When we returned home, we received a gift from them that we felt was very generous and very appreciated.

We will have to travel to Carmel a couple of more times for business before it becomes our next permanent home and we will certainly choose l'Auberge for those trips. It has become a familiar and hospitable retreat for us. Once we are permanent residents, we will certainly recommend l'Auberge to our friends and family when they are in need of lodging.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

If you read the mast head, then you have it all. Only one negative, and that is our room smelled a bit musty (It's four blocks from the bay) and they really did not do anything. I have stayed at most of the hotels/motels/resorts in Monterey and this is the best in Carmel. Highlands has a better view, but it's far out of town!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

was perfect spot for anniversary trip. Very intimate, great location. Restaurant is high end and worth the experience! Phenomenal staff.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Carmel

Address: Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge Carmel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1929, the European-style luxury hotel is located just four blocks from famous Carmel Beach and an easy stroll to the village's numerous art galleries, shops and restaurants. Major renovations have transformed the hotel's 20 guest rooms, entrance and landscaped courtyard into a romantic Carmel setting. Luxuriously romantic, the Carmel hotel was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Carmel escape getaway. The interior decor of guest rooms is rich and pleasing, warm jewel tones accent the quaint charm of the architecture. Individually designed guest rooms feature the finest fabrics and linens, enlarged bath areas with radiant floor heating, some with soaking tubs. It is one of Carmel’s few full service luxury hotels offering valet parking, room service and highly personalized guest services. The highlight of L'Auberge Carmel is its intimate 12-table restaurant, Aubergine, featuring a 4500-bottle wine cellar. It is the passion of Executive Chef Justin Cogley. All accommodations include a sumptuous continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your L'Auberge Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.