We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a splurge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Carmel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added L'Auberge Carmel to your Saves list
L'Auberge Carmel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
SF Bay Area
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth a splurge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Carmel has many nice hotels, but none compare to L'Auberge. The lovely building has been updated just enough from it's original bones to be very comfortable, and the staff and service is truly first-rate. Quiet, with a very French-feeling courtyard to relax, the location allows you to walk easily anywhere in town. Breakfast is also first rate, and don't forget to have at least one dinner at Aubergine. Other than having to leave our Lab at home, L'Auberge is the perfect place to spend a special weekend in Carmel.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms have easiest access to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    43
    28
    10
    6
See reviews for
25
162
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

What a truly AMAZING property in a beautiful seaside village setting! First Class accomodations and Top Shelf service all the way! Felt like we were in Europe!
The staff is so warm and welcoming (especially Ramy!) and saw to our every need and whim, making our Honeymoon stay so memorable and romantic- we can't wait to return! Champagne and snacks awaited us upon our arrival. The rooms are spacious and luxe.
The restaurant (Aubergine) was exquisite, with the Chef's selections and wine pairings and an elegant setting with phenomenal service as expected. Try breakfast in the courtyard, which was arranged by concierge.
Will definitely seek out other related properties as we travel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel is just blocks away from the beach and is so lovely. The rooms are appointed well and the food, ambience and atmosphere are so relaxing. My one night stay travelling down the coast was terrific. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel has old world charm right in Carmel village- a little more expensive but well worth the money if you are a first time or only time visitor to the village. Easy walking distance into town where you can window shop and eat- also close to the beach but be careful, Carmel is all hills and the walk back up is pretty steep. A wonderful place to spend a Carmwl vacation

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are excellent and the location of the hotel, and Carmwl in general is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

My expectations for this hotel were very high given its status as part of Relais &Chateux. The service was excellent -especially the concierge and valet parking the best I can imagine. The restaurant where all meals are served is great for breakfast. The dinner was good but not worth the high price in our opinion and we have no issue paying for extraordinary meals. The room was cute but storage was poor and the bathroom was very good, but again storage was not great. The noise level above us was terrible and I highly recommend to never get a ground floor room as there is no sound proofing between floors. The location of the hotel is wonderful but next time we will try another hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed in Carmel for a wedding and wanted to book a hotel for one-night, which is pretty difficult to do over Memorial Day weekend. This was one of few hotels that didn't require a 2 night minimum.

Overall, we were blown away by the customer service and attention to detail. Water was free (that's right, for once we didn't get charged to drink water in our room). Valet service was also included in the price. And we had a complimentary breakfast the next morning -- delivered to our room no less! The breakfast was delicious - eggs, toast and croissant, fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice and coffee. Their version of a fruit bowl was NOT your typical grapes and melons, but they included strawberries, blueberries and apricots.

The most surprising part of the stay was when we got back in our car to drive home, and the valet had put 2 fresh bottled waters in the car. I mean, it was just great all around. Would highly recommend this hotel. While it's a bit pricey, it's definitely worth it in the end!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed and purchased the sailing dinner package. I would not recommend that package. We were brought to the wrong marina but had an opportunity to talk to locals that pointed out the sail boat we would have been on. Don't do it! The locals said we were lucky to miss it! Rooms are vintage, outdated but I didn't mind that. Cool Japanese soak tub! Dinner package was excellent! Great young chef. Clean kitchen! Nice staff. It's a small Quaint Inn. Great wine list. Reception was wonderful. Edwin will give you a ride. He makes up for anything that may go wrong! I think I will try it again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a king
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Carmel

Address: Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge Carmel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1929, the European-style luxury hotel is located just four blocks from famous Carmel Beach and an easy stroll to the village's numerous art galleries, shops and restaurants. Major renovations have transformed the hotel's 20 guest rooms, entrance and landscaped courtyard into a romantic Carmel setting. Luxuriously romantic, the Carmel hotel was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Carmel escape getaway. The interior decor of guest rooms is rich and pleasing, warm jewel tones accent the quaint charm of the architecture. Individually designed guest rooms feature the finest fabrics and linens, enlarged bath areas with radiant floor heating, some with soaking tubs. It is one of Carmel’s few full service luxury hotels offering valet parking, room service and highly personalized guest services. The highlight of L'Auberge Carmel is its intimate 12-table restaurant, Aubergine, featuring a 4500-bottle wine cellar. It is the passion of Executive Chef Justin Cogley. All accommodations include a sumptuous continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Auberge Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.