We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th ANNIVERSARY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Carmel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added L'Auberge Carmel to your Saves list
L'Auberge Carmel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“50th ANNIVERSARY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We recently spent one evening celebrating our 50th Wedding Anniversary....we found L'Auberge to be very inviting and recognized this special occasion with a chilled bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room. This might not seem to be extra special to most who have been at L'Auberge, We felt it was wonderful. Edwin, was nice in making sure that our evening out and about was spent with F.Sinatra - what could be better? Breakfast was devine...have not had better "French Toast...........would definitely give this a great rating. Service was impectable....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    45
    28
    10
    6
See reviews for
26
168
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Excellent location, friendly service, yummy breakfast, clean, cozy bed and linens, cute courtyard, simple amenities that are appreciated like water bottles places in car, snacks upon arrival, cookies at bedtime, bath salt gift...
Car valet so convenient!

Cons:
Front desk staff could be better educated on suggesting area things to do with better maps, etcetera. We did better by asking other tourists or locals.
Carpet in room 11 needs changing. Nice wool carpet, but stained and tired.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I spent a recent weekend at this hotel specifically booking L'Auberge based on what I know of their standard for excellence. I will say, I was unimpressed. My expectation of service when paying more than $500 a night is that staff will be trained and well versed in the local area. That wasn't the case at all.

A light breakfast is included in their mandatory $30 service charge per day in lieu of tipping staff, valet, etc.

There are many amazing options for far less of an investment in Carmel. I will definitely choose another hotel for future stays.

Room Tip: Peek ocean view Queen room means absolutely nothing. Save your money if a view is what you are looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Best hotel in Carmel for location , some staff are very pleasant indeed though the management at times thinks or gives the impression that one is lucky to pay to stay there !

I would not suggest another hotel in Carmel itself is better but it is the fact that the management has overwhelming self confidence and far better knowledge of how a hotel works than their customers that I personally find irritating. That said when they realise you have made it clear who needs to take care of who , they seem to get the message .The rooms are fine but none have a view , as said before it is a great place to walk from and to .

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I just spent two nights at the best hotel in Carmel celebrating my 50th birthday. All of the staff were so friendly and helpful and even had a bottle of wine waiting for me in my luxurious room (along with an espresso machine). The complementary breakfast was bigger than I could even finish.

The location is central and walked everywhere... to the beach, all of the shops and wine tasting rooms in town. I highly recommend staying here if you get to the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Our experience was enjoyable. The service level was excellent from all the staff. The location is fabulous. Breakfast, which can be enjoyed in the restaurant or in the courtyard, was very good.

Our only complaints would be the cost (hotel and restaurant) and the wireless internet which seemed very old and would not allow access to my work VPN.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

L'Auberge is located just a short walk to town and restaurants, plus only 5 blocks down to the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room comfortable, but we had a loud pipe in our bathroom that was a little annoying. Breakfast came with the room which was very nice, and there was always milk and fresh cookies waiting for us when we came home from dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Carmel

Address: Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge Carmel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1929, the European-style luxury hotel is located just four blocks from famous Carmel Beach and an easy stroll to the village's numerous art galleries, shops and restaurants. Major renovations have transformed the hotel's 20 guest rooms, entrance and landscaped courtyard into a romantic Carmel setting. Luxuriously romantic, the Carmel hotel was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Carmel escape getaway. The interior decor of guest rooms is rich and pleasing, warm jewel tones accent the quaint charm of the architecture. Individually designed guest rooms feature the finest fabrics and linens, enlarged bath areas with radiant floor heating, some with soaking tubs. It is one of Carmel’s few full service luxury hotels offering valet parking, room service and highly personalized guest services. The highlight of L'Auberge Carmel is its intimate 12-table restaurant, Aubergine, featuring a 4500-bottle wine cellar. It is the passion of Executive Chef Justin Cogley. All accommodations include a sumptuous continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your L'Auberge Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.