We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent Christmas retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Carmel

Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
L'Auberge Carmel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway Package
Ranked #6 of 21 hotels in Carmel
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An excellent Christmas retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We arrived Christmas Eve with no reservations at all. We had the option of just spending the day in Carmel or staying up to five nights. L'Auberge was the first hotel we wandered into. We asked if they had availability. They did. We asked to see a couple of rooms. They showed us two, happily so. The first room they showed us was a definite no. Too small, The second was great. But we opted to look around. We went to about 8 other hotels, 7 of them having vacancy. None of them compared to that second room.

We went back and were welcomed back graciously and warmly. Not pretentious at all. We have stayed at hotels where the snob factor is very high and it makes us uncomfortable. We are hard workers, we own our own business but we are not what might be considered "upper crust." So the warmth was so appreciated. We were shown to our room, our vehicle was parked and we were shown the amenities of our room. It was a large, wonderful room. PERFECT!!! We signed on for Tues/Weds/Thurs.

When we went down to breakfast the first morning, we were served by Laura. She is perfectly lovely and took such excellent care of us. Our croissants and toast were served with the most delectable strawberry jam I have ever tasted in my life. It was the freshest, most intense flavor. I commented that I loved it. On the morning of our expected check out, she had a little mason jar of it for me to take with me. I mean where else do you get that????

Every little desire of ours was taken care of. The service was beyond excellent. It was quiet and respectful and helpful and warm and perfect. I cannot say enough about all the staff. The room was amazing and our time in Carmel was just so great, we woke up Friday morning and called down to George. I informed George we just simply couldn't leave. George said the room was available for another night if we felt we needed that. Of course I knew I needed that.

All in all, it was one of the very best hotel experiences we have ever had. We have stayed at the entire spectrum of hotels. This is NOT the cheapest hotel at all. Rewarding ourselves for a great year in business and for doing some pretty great things for people was our priority. And this was exactly right.

Room Tip: If you want a larger room, or a room with a great tub...ASK FOR IT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    30
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
14
118
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Carmel was great. Special city. Cosy , friendly , it was a great plesure to wallk around . Nice shoping , by the way. Very good italian restaurants . The people was ameising , very frendly . Evrything was great but the hotel. Expensiv , looking and smeling old . The room was small , the breakfast poor . I will never recomand it.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

On arrival we were welcomed with a hot cider, our cases were delivered to our room and our car parking was taken care of. The room, although smaller than on our last visit, was cosy, with coffee,and delicious snacks! The bathroom had underfloor heating which was wonderful and we were provided with robes and slippers.
The chef's sampler dinner was amazing. So many tastes and textures, and real artistry in the presentation, an amazing experience, and expert service throughout.
After a restful night in a comfy bed, the breakfast was nicely served and the croissants delicious.
Our car was returned to us on our departure with little goodies for the journey home.
A fun night away, thank you.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the larger rooms, with the larger bathrooms. All quite cosy, but the extra space i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I will begin by saying there must be better rooms at this hotel than the one to which we were relegated, room 22, as it was NOT up to well known Relais and Chateau standards nor close to giving value for the $500 we paid for one night.

The room was advertised as a "Courtyard View Queen". In fact, this was misleading as the large group of four windows in this room overlooked a City Hall parking lot, not the courtyard. The sheer curtain that could be closed to give privacy from the parking lot had a very visible hole in it. Shabby, Really! The room is up a very narrow, somewhat steep and winding staircase, not elderly friendly for sure. The room is surprising small with minimal lighting and the closet was absolutely tiny. Think 'small' hotel room size as something one would find acceptable in the 6'eme of Paris only at half the price. Shower stall was also small and with a steeply sloped and slippery flooring.

After our morning showers we discovered there were no slippers, so one had to walk around on a carpet with daily usage by other guests and staff. Then to our dismay, after eying the Nespresso machine since arrival, there was no cream or half/half to be found in the frig. which made the coffee machine unusable for us.

All would be forgiven and no need to write such a poor review if upon arrival there would have been even a small apology from the rather pretentious welcoming staff, like making up an excuse that this room was the only one left or better yet, offer their new guest a small discount while making up the apology about the room size, location and stairs, etc. Although breakfast was included and well served in the Restaurant Dining room we had to pay $15 for 2 espresso lattes (they did come with milk!).

Overall, a huge disappointment as our previous 2 nights were in San Francisco at the Drisco in Pacific Heights where we had a splendid stay in a very spacious City View Suite (views of SF) with far superior room amenities and amazing breakfast with cappuccinos included at only 2/3 the price of this hotel in Carmel. Basically, I felt it was a rip, but if you can avoid room 22, and you have to be in Carmel, it might be OK.

Room Tip: Avoid room 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I were in Carmel for the weekend and stayed at this wonderful boutique hotel. Sure it's expensive but i could not find a single reason that it wasn't worth it. The check in process was welcoming, including fetching or car from a parking lot next door and getting all our bags out. We felt like we were in our own bedroom given how comfortable and homey it was. It also came with a Bose speaker system and Nespresso coffee maker. We were visiting the area to run a half marathon in Monteray. There was a knock on our door at exactly 4am as we requested delivering a packed breakfast including exactly what we asked for. When we got downstairs our car was at the entrance and there were two bottles of water in the cup holders. There's also a nice treat awaiting you when you return to your room after dinner! Go! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Carmel is a great getaway with a diversity of things to do - beach, hiking, shopping, dining, and simply relaxing. We did all that and having L'Auberge Carmel to retreat to in the evening was the topping each day. Rooms are comfortable with the beds super luxurious and spacious modern bathrooms with heated floors! The ultimate is the quiet and lovely courtyard "patio" with tables/chairs - was so nice to relax here and felt like home.

Have to compliment the breakfast that is included for guests. Delicious and especially the breads and pastries! Fresh orange juice! Lingered over breakfast both mornings - great start to the day.

You have to stay here when in Carmel! (The reason didn't give perfect 5 stars is that the bedrooms may soon need some changing in furniture due to wear (not the perfect bed, just the other furniture pieces). Go to Point Lobos National Park - it is absolutely amazing and scenic - wonderful hiking and not too strenuous.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing- great atmosphere, amazing staff, especially George, they are really attentive, more than accommodating, delicious warm cookies at night, delicious breakfast delivered to your room in the morning, tranquil courtyard, walking distance to town and beach! we will definitely be coming back! If u want a nice getaway with great service it's a great place to stay!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Carmel

Also Known As:
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel Carmel
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel
Address: Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#12 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge Carmel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1929, the European-style luxury hotel is located just four blocks from famous Carmel Beach and an easy stroll to the village's numerous art galleries, shops and restaurants. Major renovations have transformed the hotel's 20 guest rooms, entrance and landscaped courtyard into a romantic Carmel setting. Luxuriously romantic, the Carmel hotel was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Carmel escape getaway. The interior decor of guest rooms is rich and pleasing, warm jewel tones accent the quaint charm of the architecture. Individually designed guest rooms feature the finest fabrics and linens, enlarged bath areas with radiant floor heating, some with soaking tubs. It is one of Carmel’s few full service luxury hotels offering valet parking, room service and highly personalized guest services. The highlight of L'Auberge Carmel is its intimate 12-table restaurant, Aubergine, featuring a 4500-bottle wine cellar. It is the passion of Executive Chef Justin Cogley. All accommodations include a sumptuous continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Auberge Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.