We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Carmel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added L'Auberge Carmel to your Saves list
L'Auberge Carmel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$299 Winter Mid-Week Rate
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A night away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

On arrival we were welcomed with a hot cider, our cases were delivered to our room and our car parking was taken care of. The room, although smaller than on our last visit, was cosy, with coffee,and delicious snacks! The bathroom had underfloor heating which was wonderful and we were provided with robes and slippers.
The chef's sampler dinner was amazing. So many tastes and textures, and real artistry in the presentation, an amazing experience, and expert service throughout.
After a restful night in a comfy bed, the breakfast was nicely served and the croissants delicious.
Our car was returned to us on our departure with little goodies for the journey home.
A fun night away, thank you.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the larger rooms, with the larger bathrooms. All quite cosy, but the extra space i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    40
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
22
152
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I will begin by saying there must be better rooms at this hotel than the one to which we were relegated, room 22, as it was NOT up to well known Relais and Chateau standards nor close to giving value for the $500 we paid for one night.

The room was advertised as a "Courtyard View Queen". In fact, this was misleading as the large group of four windows in this room overlooked a City Hall parking lot, not the courtyard. The sheer curtain that could be closed to give privacy from the parking lot had a very visible hole in it. Shabby, Really! The room is up a very narrow, somewhat steep and winding staircase, not elderly friendly for sure. The room is surprising small with minimal lighting and the closet was absolutely tiny. Think 'small' hotel room size as something one would find acceptable in the 6'eme of Paris only at half the price. Shower stall was also small and with a steeply sloped and slippery flooring.

After our morning showers we discovered there were no slippers, so one had to walk around on a carpet with daily usage by other guests and staff. Then to our dismay, after eying the Nespresso machine since arrival, there was no cream or half/half to be found in the frig. which made the coffee machine unusable for us.

All would be forgiven and no need to write such a poor review if upon arrival there would have been even a small apology from the rather pretentious welcoming staff, like making up an excuse that this room was the only one left or better yet, offer their new guest a small discount while making up the apology about the room size, location and stairs, etc. Although breakfast was included and well served in the Restaurant Dining room we had to pay $15 for 2 espresso lattes (they did come with milk!).

Overall, a huge disappointment as our previous 2 nights were in San Francisco at the Drisco in Pacific Heights where we had a splendid stay in a very spacious City View Suite (views of SF) with far superior room amenities and amazing breakfast with cappuccinos included at only 2/3 the price of this hotel in Carmel. Basically, I felt it was a rip, but if you can avoid room 22, and you have to be in Carmel, it might be OK.

Room Tip: Avoid room 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I were in Carmel for the weekend and stayed at this wonderful boutique hotel. Sure it's expensive but i could not find a single reason that it wasn't worth it. The check in process was welcoming, including fetching or car from a parking lot next door and getting all our bags out. We felt like we were in our own bedroom given how comfortable and homey it was. It also came with a Bose speaker system and Nespresso coffee maker. We were visiting the area to run a half marathon in Monteray. There was a knock on our door at exactly 4am as we requested delivering a packed breakfast including exactly what we asked for. When we got downstairs our car was at the entrance and there were two bottles of water in the cup holders. There's also a nice treat awaiting you when you return to your room after dinner! Go! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Carmel is a great getaway with a diversity of things to do - beach, hiking, shopping, dining, and simply relaxing. We did all that and having L'Auberge Carmel to retreat to in the evening was the topping each day. Rooms are comfortable with the beds super luxurious and spacious modern bathrooms with heated floors! The ultimate is the quiet and lovely courtyard "patio" with tables/chairs - was so nice to relax here and felt like home.

Have to compliment the breakfast that is included for guests. Delicious and especially the breads and pastries! Fresh orange juice! Lingered over breakfast both mornings - great start to the day.

You have to stay here when in Carmel! (The reason didn't give perfect 5 stars is that the bedrooms may soon need some changing in furniture due to wear (not the perfect bed, just the other furniture pieces). Go to Point Lobos National Park - it is absolutely amazing and scenic - wonderful hiking and not too strenuous.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing- great atmosphere, amazing staff, especially George, they are really attentive, more than accommodating, delicious warm cookies at night, delicious breakfast delivered to your room in the morning, tranquil courtyard, walking distance to town and beach! we will definitely be coming back! If u want a nice getaway with great service it's a great place to stay!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I made a last minute trip to Carmel for the weekend. We were lucky to find an available room at the Auberge. It was a wonderful little hotel with great service. All the rooms are off a tranquil inner courtyard. The courtyard has tables and chairs with heat lamps and is a nice place to relax. We did not find the time to have dinner in the restaurant but we did enjoy breakfast there twice. The breakfast is included in the room rate and includes toast, a pastry, fruit, eggs, juice and coffee/tea. You can also pay for additional items like oatmeal or french toast. The hotel also had my all time favorite feature of a Nespresso machine in the room. All in all a great little hotel with a perfect location in Carmel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights at L'Auberge & it was like arriving in heaven after a rather ordinary apartment experience in San Francisco. It has a delightfully European feel to it - think stylish French country Inn. The staff are delightful, professional & cannot do enough to help whilst still being discreet. We had a courtyard room on the ground floor & whilst the room itself was lovely & spacious with a big bathroom, my only comment with being on the ground floor was that we had to close our curtains on occasion for privacy if there were guests eating or drinking in the courtyard outside our window. The location is great - right in the middle of the most charming town & a few minutes walk to the beach.
Just one comment, the delightful receptionist informed us on our arrival that there was no need to tip hotel staff as a charge of $30 was added to the bill on departure to cover it which we thought was a great idea as being Aussies we struggle a bit with the whole tipping culture in the US. What I didn't realize she meant was $30 per day & if you stop in the bar on your way home from dinner for a little nightcap as we did, you are still expected to tip the barstaff.
All in all though a most enjoyable stay & would highly recommend for a romantic getaway albeit not a cheap one.

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking upstairs go for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Carmel

Address: Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge Carmel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1929, the European-style luxury hotel is located just four blocks from famous Carmel Beach and an easy stroll to the village's numerous art galleries, shops and restaurants. Major renovations have transformed the hotel's 20 guest rooms, entrance and landscaped courtyard into a romantic Carmel setting. Luxuriously romantic, the Carmel hotel was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Carmel escape getaway. The interior decor of guest rooms is rich and pleasing, warm jewel tones accent the quaint charm of the architecture. Individually designed guest rooms feature the finest fabrics and linens, enlarged bath areas with radiant floor heating, some with soaking tubs. It is one of Carmel’s few full service luxury hotels offering valet parking, room service and highly personalized guest services. The highlight of L'Auberge Carmel is its intimate 12-table restaurant, Aubergine, featuring a 4500-bottle wine cellar. It is the passion of Executive Chef Justin Cogley. All accommodations include a sumptuous continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Auberge Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.