We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property in a beautiful town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Carmel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added L'Auberge Carmel to your Saves list
L'Auberge Carmel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$299 Winter Mid-Week Rate
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful property in a beautiful town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights at L'Auberge & it was like arriving in heaven after a rather ordinary apartment experience in San Francisco. It has a delightfully European feel to it - think stylish French country Inn. The staff are delightful, professional & cannot do enough to help whilst still being discreet. We had a courtyard room on the ground floor & whilst the room itself was lovely & spacious with a big bathroom, my only comment with being on the ground floor was that we had to close our curtains on occasion for privacy if there were guests eating or drinking in the courtyard outside our window. The location is great - right in the middle of the most charming town & a few minutes walk to the beach.
Just one comment, the delightful receptionist informed us on our arrival that there was no need to tip hotel staff as a charge of $30 was added to the bill on departure to cover it which we thought was a great idea as being Aussies we struggle a bit with the whole tipping culture in the US. What I didn't realize she meant was $30 per day & if you stop in the bar on your way home from dinner for a little nightcap as we did, you are still expected to tip the barstaff.
All in all though a most enjoyable stay & would highly recommend for a romantic getaway albeit not a cheap one.

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking upstairs go for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    40
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
22
152
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Citrus Heights, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

What is the opposite of "rude"? Answer is the staff at L'Auberge Carmel. We are not inexperienced world travelers, but we have never encountered a more polite and helpful staff than the one at this charming inn. They actually make me feel proud that we found them so close to home. My hat is off to L'Auberge Carmel for making this my wife's best birthday ever.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Poor Service :(((

BE AWARE!!!!
There is a 24-hour cancellation policy for the restaurant in hotel. It is $50 per person (unless you speak with Maurine then it is $100 per person, but she won't admit to saying that because she has been there FIFTEEN years). Oh and Maurine also let me in on a little secret....depends on your excuse for canceling a reservation; sometimes they will charge you sometimes they will not. So think of a good excuse; apparently being honeymooners was not good enough.

Remember to shower with ALL windows open or else smoke alarm will go off and fire department will show up and come into your room. I believe it is common since front desk person called and immediately asked if someone was showering......

The restaurant is not worth the price. We spent $340 for two people (a cheese plate add-on and ONE beer). Much better restaurants that are far less expensive. If you like good food, dine elsewhere...if you like "the name & the high-end atmosphere" then dine in hotel's restaurant, Aubertine. They will not tell you about cancellation policy so please make note ahead of time to call and cancel.

I know this review sounds mean, but I am just telling the truth. If it helps one couple/family make a better decision on their stay in Carmel then it was worth it. I use these reviews quite often, and think it is only fair I write one for this experience. And may I add..I did try to contact hotel staff and let them make it right and they FAILED big time. I am young, only 23, and do not appreciate businesses or people in general not taking me seriously.

I have only been in the working world/customer service world a little over a year. But I already know: the paying customer is always right, apologies may not solve everything but they help, never say something that is degrading or suggests the client is a liar, and to make things right when a client has been wronged. I think "one of the best hotels in Carmel" should know these just as well as a 23-year old does.

The only good thing about our stay was the smore' bonfire on the beach and the hotel driver who drove us down to the beach. I can't remember his name, but he was one of the sweetest people we had ever met.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Carmel is a very wonderful place. I never thought I could find it more so until we stayed at this hotel. The hotel is very European in its design but the rooms are modern.

We stayed for three days. It was like living in Paradise. Upon arrival, we were greeted by our names, shown to an actual desk, and greeted by very friendly staff.

We were then shown to our room where we found a hand written note to welcome us. There was a bottle of champagne and another handwritten note wishing us a Happy Anniversary.

We also ate at the Aubergine restaurant at the hotel.

If you are entertaining the idea of staying in Carmel, we highly recommend this charming and lovely hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I am a slight clean freak BUT the bathroom door was white and had a LOT of black fingerprints, I think there is an old product called Fantastic that could deal with this issue! The phone cord had a Qtip wrapped in it, I guess the good news is that it was not used. The windows were dirty both in and out. I came back to the room mid-clean one day and the coffee cups were being washed by the housekeeper in the sink, in other words not sanitized by a dishwasher, and yes she was using the same gloves she cleaned the toilet with!!! The house keeper cleaned the rugs by vacuuming my favorite shoes completely under the bed, I guess the good news is she swept under my shoes! We stayed in room 9 and we could hear the toilet flush from the room above us when we were in the bed. It just made me think if I can see all these issues what else was dirty??? Cozy, cute and perfect location goes for a long way but dirty just ruins it for me....

Room Tip: Do not get room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I can only echo other positive reviews. These people can't do enough for you. If you are looking for perfection in idyllic surroundings this is it. Breakfast was divine. The bar is very cosy. you could actually stay here and not go anywhere else other than a walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are a bit of a climb. If you have a problem climbing steep stairs you may want to req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you are in Carmel we need to book something at least as L'Auberge. It fits very well with the whole environment. It's classy, cozy, romantic, small, a little bit dusty and screechy but then you have one of the best restaurants on the coast.

Room Tip: Not much choices, but facing the inner yard is more quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Carmel

Address: Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#2 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge Carmel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1929, the European-style luxury hotel is located just four blocks from famous Carmel Beach and an easy stroll to the village's numerous art galleries, shops and restaurants. Major renovations have transformed the hotel's 20 guest rooms, entrance and landscaped courtyard into a romantic Carmel setting. Luxuriously romantic, the Carmel hotel was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Carmel escape getaway. The interior decor of guest rooms is rich and pleasing, warm jewel tones accent the quaint charm of the architecture. Individually designed guest rooms feature the finest fabrics and linens, enlarged bath areas with radiant floor heating, some with soaking tubs. It is one of Carmel’s few full service luxury hotels offering valet parking, room service and highly personalized guest services. The highlight of L'Auberge Carmel is its intimate 12-table restaurant, Aubergine, featuring a 4500-bottle wine cellar. It is the passion of Executive Chef Justin Cogley. All accommodations include a sumptuous continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Auberge Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.