We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Romance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Carmel

Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Auberge Carmel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway Package
Ranked #5 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Westminster, Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Romance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

L'Auberge is a lovely oasis in the middle of Carmel. The hotel is small, only 20-ish rooms. We had the Queen with a Japanese soaking tub. The room is much smaller than I usually get, but the ambience of the hotel more than made up for the room size. It is pricey, but again, I felt well worth it. The bed was superbly comfortable. The bathroom was lovely, with radiant heated floors. The breakfast was lovely. The courtyard is wonderful. Literally felt pampered, the staff is that exceptional. We could have stayed much longer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    34
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
18
129
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Ok, so you pay quite a lot for the simple charm afforded at L'Auberge Carmel, but the comfortable, unfussy rooms, warm personal service and delicious breakfast certainly feel worth it. I loved that it combines a guest house size with outstanding service and standards.

It's ideally situated for a stroll around Carmel and should you wish to eat in I heard th restaurant is very good - which doesn't surprise me given the gourmet breakfast.

Room Tip: They're all good but given there are no views you're as well with a ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Perfectly located in downtown Carmel, the hotel is close to the beach and shops. The rooms are renovated and smaller than some modern rooms due to the age of the building but we were on vacation and weren't in the room much.

The bed is very soft and comfortable. The walls are thin so light sleepers may notice noise from the courtyard or street. We opened the windows to cool the room, the thermostat didn't seem to have any effect. The heated tile in the bathroom was nice but was only in the rear 2/3, tile next to sink was cold. The bathroom has a double shower and no bathtub. We climbed a narrow stairwell to get to our room; if you can't walk stairs be sure to get a ground floor room. I had to call housekeeping to wipe someone else's long/dark/curly hair from the shower wall and the hair dryer was sparking because the vent was so clogged. I mentioned it so hopefully they will address the issue.

The food was very good in the downstairs restaurant and we never had trouble getting a seat. The surrounding restaurants book very quickly for dinner so get reservations before arriving in town. The concierge can squeeze you into their sister restaurant, Luca, in a pinch.

The staff is incredibly gracious and helpful. You never wait for them to call someone to help you, they just jump in and take care of whatever you need immediately. Every single person was great.

Carmel is lovely and we enjoyed the architecture, dogs all over the beach, and the shops. From the hotel it took us about 45 min plus sightseeing stops to get to Big Sur and about 10 minutes to Monterey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on our costal drive from SF to LA and L'Auberge was exceptional. The check in was quick and easy, bell staff friendly and valet parking most convenient in this parking challenged town. Our room, Ocean Peak was very charming well equipped and having a true European chateau feel. We enjoyed the heated bathroom floors. We loved the milk and freshly baked cookies that are left nightly with turndown, including recipes. This hotel offers a peaceful retreat with excellent service.
I would also like to thank L'Auberge for the inclusive tipping charge, avoiding the daily hassel of reaching into your pocket for each bag or car pick up.
Thanks for wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ocean Peak, top floor rm 28.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This charming hotel was the perfect oasis after a long drive up the coast. The entire staff, especially Marin, was most welcoming, professional and attentive from the moment we arrived. The rooms were impeccably clean, very comfortable and nicely appointed with both a street and courtyard view. You would swear you were somewhere in France! Definitely treat yourself to a outstanding dining experience at Aubergine, the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: We had a second floor queen suite which was at the top of a set of spiral stairs. This added to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

charming hotel..wonderful, relaxing stay in room 30, left up the stairs above the restaurant.. large lovely quiet room with a comfy bed, spacious bathroom, ocean view and a wonderful breeze... i fell in love with the warmest yellow paint!, which i'm hoping to get the color of from the hotel:) The service couldn't of been better, can't wait to go back and stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear karenwood60,

Thank you very much for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel! I very much appreciate your kind feedback. I will be contacting you shortly with the color of the walls shortly and I hope that you do not hesitate to return to L'Auberge Carmel if you are in the Carmel area.

Kind Regards,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is so charming, rooms were tastefully decorated, the food and service were excellent and they even had small touches like a hand-written card to welcome us and milk and cookies. I also like that tips are included which makes this a stress-free experience for those who don't live in tipping culture countries. We only stayed one night but definitely want to come back for a longer stay.

The town is also very quaint and the beach is beautiful and clean. This is a proper romantic getaway - highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear thegypsyjetsetter,

Thank you very much for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel! I am so glad that you enjoyed our milk & cookies at turndown service and I hope that if you find yourself in the Carmel area once again, we look forward to an even longer stay!

Kind Regards,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Carmel

Address: Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#2 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge Carmel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1929, the European-style luxury hotel is located just four blocks from famous Carmel Beach and an easy stroll to the village's numerous art galleries, shops and restaurants. Major renovations have transformed the hotel's 20 guest rooms, entrance and landscaped courtyard into a romantic Carmel setting. Luxuriously romantic, the Carmel hotel was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Carmel escape getaway. The interior decor of guest rooms is rich and pleasing, warm jewel tones accent the quaint charm of the architecture. Individually designed guest rooms feature the finest fabrics and linens, enlarged bath areas with radiant floor heating, some with soaking tubs. It is one of Carmel’s few full service luxury hotels offering valet parking, room service and highly personalized guest services. The highlight of L'Auberge Carmel is its intimate 12-table restaurant, Aubergine, featuring a 4500-bottle wine cellar. It is the passion of Executive Chef Justin Cogley. All accommodations include a sumptuous continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Auberge Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.