We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So charming we didn't want to leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Carmel

Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Auberge Carmel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway Package
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“So charming we didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is so charming, rooms were tastefully decorated, the food and service were excellent and they even had small touches like a hand-written card to welcome us and milk and cookies. I also like that tips are included which makes this a stress-free experience for those who don't live in tipping culture countries. We only stayed one night but definitely want to come back for a longer stay.

The town is also very quaint and the beach is beautiful and clean. This is a proper romantic getaway - highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear thegypsyjetsetter,

Thank you very much for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel! I am so glad that you enjoyed our milk & cookies at turndown service and I hope that if you find yourself in the Carmel area once again, we look forward to an even longer stay!

Kind Regards,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    38
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
22
136
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights this trip. Truly a slice of heaven. George and the staff are friendly, attentive. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious and a feast for the eyes as well. The hotel car took us to dinner two nights. The rooms are small but very comfortable. We opened the windows and it felt like the courtyard was our private patio. The courtyard is filled with vibrant flowers, water fountain and statuary. Turn down service with milk and cookies is delightful, and the pastry chef also makes the caramels that are in the room. They have the best coffee I have tasted. The property has only 20 rooms total, so you can be assured of a stay where everyone knows who you are.

Room Tip: King beds are generally located on the lower level, queens on the 2nd floor. If you want more space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear cbowHouston,

Thank you very much for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel! I very much appreciate your kind comments and I hope that you enjoyed your 31st Anniversary trip! I also would like to thank you for staying at L'Auberge Carmel and we hope to welcome you back for a third time around soon!

Kind Regards,
George Nagata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We choose the Auberge, because it is the only hotel that looked nice in Carmel.
It's nice, but not special. Our room was small-medium size. Pastry chef is excellent, the juices, although not pasteurized, aren't freshly squeezed, in California I would expect wonderful fruit.
The hotel advertises a deli -restaurant, called "salumeria Luca". If I were you I wouldn't.
It's such a terrible place, that has nothing to do with the hotel.I would keep only the "Panna mineral water" because the water that you offer to the guests, has a terrible chlorine taste.
I would avoid the tasting menu at dinner. The the too studied japanese "creative" pastiche" is to impress people, and not the palate. Unfortunately, left me and my husband indifferent. may be less reasoning and more soul?
Expensive for what it is and they automatically add 30 dollars a day tips!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent three nights at the Auberge Carmel and it was a lovely experience. The service was wonderful and the rooms were very well appointed. I think the best part of the three days was dining at Aubergine. The food was amazing, the tasting menu was marvelous and reasonably priced considering the quality of the food. We have dined at many fine restaurants including 3 star Michelin restaurants and I believe that Aubergine ranks up there with the best. Michelin should take note! Would not hesitate to recommend this lovely inn and look forward to staying there again. By the way, Carmel is a beautiful place and the locals are extremely friendly. All in all a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear leisuregirl046,

Thank you very much for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel and dining with us at Aubergine restaurant. On behalf of our Restaurant Manager and myself, we appreciate your kind words regarding your stay! Should you find yourself in Carmel again we hope to welcome you back to L'Auberge Carmel and Aubergine

Kind Regards,
George Nagata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located and very charming this small hotel delivers in a big way. The service is first rate and the little touches they provide help enhance the experience. Our room was a little undersized but adequate. We loved the courtyard and the included breakfast.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Case-JC,

Thank you very much for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel! I appreciate your comments and glad that you had an enjoyable time here. We strive to ensure that all of our guests are building an experience in Carmel and I am delighted to hear that you had a great time. We hope to welcome you back to L'Auberge Carmel!

Kind Regards,
George Nagata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just spent two nights at L'Auberge Carmel and were blown away by the experience. Hands down they have the most attentive and friendly staff of any place I've ever stayed. The room was charming and the attention to detail was amazing. My husband loved the milk and cookies at bedtime. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear mhphillips,

I'd like to sincerely thank you for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel! It sounds like your stay was relaxing and enjoyable. I hope to welcome you back for more than one night the next time you find yourself in Carmel!

Kind Regards,
George Nagata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goshen CT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

One night in Carmel--where to stay? We are so glad we chose L'Auberge Carmel. Highest level of service we have experienced in a long while, beginning with the way the staff made parking in congested Carmel a non-issue. Couldn't have been easier, even though we had needed the car again an hour or so after we checked in. The setting is charming, around a lovely courtyard. Too bad for us it was a chilly day, so we didn't get a chance to enjoy it. Our room, though quite small, was fully appointed and luxuriously comfortable. Bathroom's heated floors: wonderful. Breakfast in the Aubergine restaurant was very European in ambience. We would definitely stay at L'Auberge Carmel again. Great people, great location, wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms involve climbing steps, in case that is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear mhphillips,

I'd like to sincerely thank you for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel! It sounds like your stay was relaxing and enjoyable. I hope to welcome you back for more than one night the next time you find yourself in Carmel!

Kind Regards,
George Nagata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Carmel

Address: Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge Carmel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1929, the European-style luxury hotel is located just four blocks from famous Carmel Beach and an easy stroll to the village's numerous art galleries, shops and restaurants. Major renovations have transformed the hotel's 20 guest rooms, entrance and landscaped courtyard into a romantic Carmel setting. Luxuriously romantic, the Carmel hotel was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Carmel escape getaway. The interior decor of guest rooms is rich and pleasing, warm jewel tones accent the quaint charm of the architecture. Individually designed guest rooms feature the finest fabrics and linens, enlarged bath areas with radiant floor heating, some with soaking tubs. It is one of Carmel’s few full service luxury hotels offering valet parking, room service and highly personalized guest services. The highlight of L'Auberge Carmel is its intimate 12-table restaurant, Aubergine, featuring a 4500-bottle wine cellar. It is the passion of Executive Chef Justin Cogley. All accommodations include a sumptuous continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Auberge Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.