We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely small inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Carmel

Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Auberge Carmel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway Package
Ranked #6 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“lovely small inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent three nights at the Auberge Carmel and it was a lovely experience. The service was wonderful and the rooms were very well appointed. I think the best part of the three days was dining at Aubergine. The food was amazing, the tasting menu was marvelous and reasonably priced considering the quality of the food. We have dined at many fine restaurants including 3 star Michelin restaurants and I believe that Aubergine ranks up there with the best. Michelin should take note! Would not hesitate to recommend this lovely inn and look forward to staying there again. By the way, Carmel is a beautiful place and the locals are extremely friendly. All in all a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear leisuregirl046,

Thank you very much for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel and dining with us at Aubergine restaurant. On behalf of our Restaurant Manager and myself, we appreciate your kind words regarding your stay! Should you find yourself in Carmel again we hope to welcome you back to L'Auberge Carmel and Aubergine

Kind Regards,
George Nagata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    34
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
16
129
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located and very charming this small hotel delivers in a big way. The service is first rate and the little touches they provide help enhance the experience. Our room was a little undersized but adequate. We loved the courtyard and the included breakfast.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Case-JC,

Thank you very much for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel! I appreciate your comments and glad that you had an enjoyable time here. We strive to ensure that all of our guests are building an experience in Carmel and I am delighted to hear that you had a great time. We hope to welcome you back to L'Auberge Carmel!

Kind Regards,
George Nagata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just spent two nights at L'Auberge Carmel and were blown away by the experience. Hands down they have the most attentive and friendly staff of any place I've ever stayed. The room was charming and the attention to detail was amazing. My husband loved the milk and cookies at bedtime. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear mhphillips,

I'd like to sincerely thank you for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel! It sounds like your stay was relaxing and enjoyable. I hope to welcome you back for more than one night the next time you find yourself in Carmel!

Kind Regards,
George Nagata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goshen CT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

One night in Carmel--where to stay? We are so glad we chose L'Auberge Carmel. Highest level of service we have experienced in a long while, beginning with the way the staff made parking in congested Carmel a non-issue. Couldn't have been easier, even though we had needed the car again an hour or so after we checked in. The setting is charming, around a lovely courtyard. Too bad for us it was a chilly day, so we didn't get a chance to enjoy it. Our room, though quite small, was fully appointed and luxuriously comfortable. Bathroom's heated floors: wonderful. Breakfast in the Aubergine restaurant was very European in ambience. We would definitely stay at L'Auberge Carmel again. Great people, great location, wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms involve climbing steps, in case that is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear mhphillips,

I'd like to sincerely thank you for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel! It sounds like your stay was relaxing and enjoyable. I hope to welcome you back for more than one night the next time you find yourself in Carmel!

Kind Regards,
George Nagata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Expensive, but if you don't mind paying for quality then it's worth every penny. Their restaurant, Aubergine, is 5 star quality just like the hotel....and friendly without being stuffy. I will return.

Room Tip: Upper floors have steep, narrow stairs you must climb. I found this added to the charm of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Mr. JJeppson,

First thank you for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel and dining at Aubergine restaurant. On behalf of our Restaurant Manager and myself, we'd like to thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your return!

Kind Regards,
George Nagata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I, booked a last minute reservation. The manager and all the staff were friendly and extremely accommodating. We have never had better service. Whether it was early morning coffee, booking great restaurant reservations, parking our car, helping us plan our tours of the central coast, or driving us to dinner, any and all requests were pleasantly and efficiently accommodated. The hotel was charming and our room was comfortable. We have already recommended the property to several freinds, and we hope to return in the near future.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Daniel K,

Thank you once again for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel! I am very glad that you had quite an experience here. Also thank you very much for your kind words and recommending our hotel to your friends.

We hope to see in Carmel soon.

Kind Regards,
George Nagata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked a room for my girlfriends birthday. We were literally treated like royalty from the moment we walked through the doors until we checked out. The staff and custermer service surpasses any Resort I have stayed. I have stayed at some of the most well renowed Resorts Dana Pointe,
The Four Seasons, to the Miomo destination Resort in Sodona, AZ and many others in between. I was so happy that my friend was treated like a princess as well as my self. We stayed in the room wiith two Qween beds. The floors were warm and so were the staff, very classy and the courtyard is stunning as is all the landscaping. The room was beautiful clean and the staff never made me feel uncomfortable as I called for extras at different times of our stay (most people say I am a high maintenance client). I highly recommend this Resort and can't wait to return with my family real soon. Pam F.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Ms. Pam F,

Thank you very much for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel! I am delighted to hear that your stay with us was quite enjoyable. We strive ourselves to cater to an experience for each guest and I am glad that we were able to do this for you and your friend. I hope that when you are back in Carmel, we hope to once again serve you!

Kind Regards,
George Nagata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Carmel

Address: Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge Carmel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1929, the European-style luxury hotel is located just four blocks from famous Carmel Beach and an easy stroll to the village's numerous art galleries, shops and restaurants. Major renovations have transformed the hotel's 20 guest rooms, entrance and landscaped courtyard into a romantic Carmel setting. Luxuriously romantic, the Carmel hotel was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Carmel escape getaway. The interior decor of guest rooms is rich and pleasing, warm jewel tones accent the quaint charm of the architecture. Individually designed guest rooms feature the finest fabrics and linens, enlarged bath areas with radiant floor heating, some with soaking tubs. It is one of Carmel’s few full service luxury hotels offering valet parking, room service and highly personalized guest services. The highlight of L'Auberge Carmel is its intimate 12-table restaurant, Aubergine, featuring a 4500-bottle wine cellar. It is the passion of Executive Chef Justin Cogley. All accommodations include a sumptuous continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Auberge Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.