We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, Delightful, but still quaint!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Carmel

Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Auberge Carmel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway Package
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Saratoga, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Elegant, Delightful, but still quaint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I had never had the pleasure to stay (nor dine) at L'Auberge in Carmel before this month. I booked our stay with the concierge, and she tended to every detail. When I asked to add 2 friends to our dinner reservation, no problem, she was happy to do it. Additionally, she specifically asked if we were celebrating a special occasion (I would have never otherwise mentioned it was my birthday!) - and when I told her, she noted it. There was a nice bottle of wine in our room along with a card, and a special menu was printed with a happy birthday note to me on it for us at dinner. The staff went out of their way to tend to our every need. We have stayed at plenty of nice places, most we find awkward because the staff are snobby. L'Auberge and the restaurant both were staffed by wonderful people who took care of our every need. The full breakfast was delicious everyday. We can't say enough nice things about both the room (super comfortable beds and lots of charm with a big bathtub!), and the restaurant - delicious 8 course meal for dinner. It was delightful. We hope to be back next year to celebrate again! Thank you L'Auberge!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear sabtram,

Thank you for staying with us on your special occasion! We hope to welcome you back for your next birthday and many more occasions to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    37
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
22
134
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were really expecting the quality of a Relais Chateau hotel and were disappointed. First off, please hire friendlier people..the young girl was quite snotty upon check in and check out. The dinning room was sparse and very unattractive. Who did their decorating?? It does not go with the character of the hotel. And the breakfast was not hot and bread was bland. And when you are spending over five hundred dollars per night I expect NOT to have a plastic toilet seat and a sink that is slow to drain. They had ugly plastic igloo coolers on the steps outside the rooms, too. The beds were very nice and the linen excellent. In the first room upon calling the staff for help, the television never worked. That was not that big of a deal. We just think that this hotel should not be awarded a Relais Chateau status because it falls way short of others we have stayed at. Check out The Post Hotel in Lake Louise...now that is a great Relais Chateau hotel! The paintings in the room were cheesy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear RobinAveryArtist,

First thank you very much for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel and it is disappointing and embarrassing that your stay was not up to yours, Relais & Chateaux, and frankly our standards. We strive to make each guest enjoyable and clearly we did not provide the excellent service and excellent product that we are known for. I would love to speak to you in person regarding this matter and my phone line and office are always open to feedback. We hope to provide you with the quality experience you deserve and hope that we will see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for the second time in early november. It was a very pleasant experience. The check in is quick and easy, bell staff friendly and valet parking most convenient in this parking challenged town. The rooms are clean and well equipped. They have bottled water available in the frig and welcome snacks. We love the heated bathroom floors. We loved the freshly baked cookies that are left nightly with turndown.
This hotel offers a peaceful retreat with excellent service. The included breakfast is delicious. They have newspapers from around the united states - an added plus. they also offered a boxed breakfast for my husband to take with him on the way to an early golf round.
Thanks for another wonderful stay. We'll be back next year!

Room Tip: All of the rooms look out to a pretty courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear ksffw,

Thank you for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel and thank you again for your appreciative comments regarding your stay. We strive to make each moment and each guest feel at home. We hope to welcome you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at L'auberge Carmel for three nights after traveling to San Francisco. The staff was so attentive, friendly and ready to help us. We paid a service fee up front so you didn't have to tip while you were there. I thought that might affect the eagerness of the staff but it did not. They were great. We stayed in room 16. The room was small but comfortable. The windows are old which I guess is supposed to be charming but it made them hard to open and did not insulate sound well. We heard all of the street noise from our room. Thankfully it's a quiet street and that wasn't too bad. The bathroom was very nice with heated floors and marble. The food was very good. We had the complementary menu each morning and it was very good. We added bacon each morning for $5 and that finished out the breakfast well. Overall our stay was great, but the staff really made the trip exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Bold_advisor,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us! We have tried to keep the old-world charm of the once 1929 apartment building and I would agree with you that the windows are of the period. We are taking measures to make the guest stay more comfortable hopefully we will be able to see you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a charming, intimate hotel with excellent, personal service perfectly located one street from the heart of the Carmel village. It is walking distance to the beach, restaurants and shops. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Kathy S,

Thank you again for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel. I appreciate your feedback and we can not wait for your return to L'Auberge Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend here for our wedding anniversary. Immediately upon our arrival, we were greeted outside, at our car door, by Liz. She welcomed us in and offered to help carry our bags into the building. While checking in, George (the General Manager) greeted us, valet parked our car and brought our bags to our beautiful, luxurious room. Our room was nice and warm, considering we were coming in from the cold, rainy weather. The staff placed yummy caramels, japanese crackers, and bottled water in our room awaiting our arrival. Very nice touch!

Our first night, my husband and I wanted to explore the nearby shops and restaurants. So many nice places to explore. Shops, restaurants, art galleries, and even the beach are all walking distance from our hotel. Another plus!

Due to some remodeling in the hotel and their onsite restaurant, we had to walk two blocks for our complimentary breakfast at Cantinetta Luca. Not a problem. We like to walk. But George and Liz made sure we knew they would drop us off and pick us up if we'd like. We decided to walk because the weather was nice and when we arrived another employee of the restaurant at L'Auberge greeted us at their sister restaurant Cantinetta Luca. Again, very accomodating and breakfast was delicious! It consisted of a plate of fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, two eggs any way you like them cooked, freshly brewed coffee, freshly baked croissants, toast, and delicious jam.

Our last nite with the hotel, we were surprised with a bottle of wine, dried berries, large slice of pumpkin cake, and a special note that wished us a Happy Anniversary. Thank you again George and Liz! They made our stay memorable.

One last note, it was storming the morning of our last day at the hotel but Liz kindly drove us to the restaurant for breakfast and picked us up as well. If you're looking for a place that takes customer service to a new level, this is your place! The staff we had contact with were second to none. We will definitely be back to stay again.

Room Tip: They are in the process of remodeling the front half of their hotel. And soon after the completion o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear E C D,

I'd like to thank you for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel and again happy anniversary to you both! Thank you again for putting up through our renovation and as we have finished we look forward to welcoming you back to the new L'Auberge and Aubergine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Perfect location, attentive service. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. The courtyard configuration of the hotel is very appealing. L'Auberge is not cheap, but not unreasonable for the quality of the accommodations. Breakfast was included in the rate and was also high quality. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Norcal-Saratoga,

Thank you for visiting L'Auberge Carmel and staying with us. I very much appreciate your kind words and we look forward to your return to Carmel-by-the-Sea and L'Auberge Carmel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Carmel

Address: Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge Carmel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1929, the European-style luxury hotel is located just four blocks from famous Carmel Beach and an easy stroll to the village's numerous art galleries, shops and restaurants. Major renovations have transformed the hotel's 20 guest rooms, entrance and landscaped courtyard into a romantic Carmel setting. Luxuriously romantic, the Carmel hotel was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Carmel escape getaway. The interior decor of guest rooms is rich and pleasing, warm jewel tones accent the quaint charm of the architecture. Individually designed guest rooms feature the finest fabrics and linens, enlarged bath areas with radiant floor heating, some with soaking tubs. It is one of Carmel’s few full service luxury hotels offering valet parking, room service and highly personalized guest services. The highlight of L'Auberge Carmel is its intimate 12-table restaurant, Aubergine, featuring a 4500-bottle wine cellar. It is the passion of Executive Chef Justin Cogley. All accommodations include a sumptuous continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Auberge Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;