We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Carmel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Carmel to your Saves list
L'Auberge Carmel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway Package
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I planned a relaxing girls spa weekend and, having never stayed at a B&B other than Cypress Inn in Carmel, I was skeptical to book elsewhere. Thankfully, my intuition took us to L'Auberge Carmel and there's no question that we'll be back. From check in to check out, the service at the B&B is unmatched. We were even offered a complimentary ride three blocks to dinner to keep my girlfriends and I out of the rain. We were treated to dinner recommendations, constant well wishes and tips about shopping hours and hidden markets with great wine. Breakfast was another surprise - a healthy spread of eggs, fruit, pastries and yogurt. Yum! If you're looking for a place to stay in Carmel, this is it.

Room Tip: Garden view room windows are pointed directly into the only courtyard and those on the bottom see ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for staying at L'Auberge Carmel and your very kind comments. I am very glad that your girls weekend was enjoyable albeit the rain! We hope to welcome you back with open arms when you are back in the Carmel area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    38
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
22
138
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Great Boutique Hotel,great location. loved the breakfast .
a memorable stay at Carmel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments! We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the Carmel area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Quite a lovely place with a delightful staff. The accommodations are quiet and spacious. Little touches such as a bathroom floor that is heated, cookies at night, and morning breakfast on the patio make this a special place. And dont forget to have dinner at their Aubergine restaurant for a culinary thrill.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel and we appreciate your kind comments. I am glad that your stay was enjoyable and I hope that your dinner at Aubergine was just as great. We hope to welcome you back to L'Auberge Carmel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This hotel was extremely pleasant to stay in for one night. The staff is very professional and courteous and the rooms, grounds and common areas are impeccably decorated and inviting. I have yet to have blueberry preserves as good as the ones served as part of the complimentary breakfast. Additionally, everything is included in the price of the room and service fee, including typical profit centers for other hotels: breakfast, valet parking, internet, though as one reviewer noted, coffee is not included. The small touches make this hotel stand out: cookies at turndown service, a packet of bath salts in your car as you say goodbye. Splurge and make your getaway in Carmel a memorable one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel! I am very glad that your stay was very enjoyable. At L'Auberge Carmel we strive for each one of our guests to have a memorable experience. We hope to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

My family and I just recently stayed at L'Auberge this past weekend, and had such an amazing time. From the delicious breakfast, to the nightly drinks at the reception area, and of course cookies at turn down. Just amazing. The convenience to Ocean really made our lives easier because we didn’t have to jump into our car to have a day out on the town. The best part of the hotel has to be the staff. They are ALL are so accommodating and willing to go the extra mile to assist you. For such a small establishment, we never felt that we couldn’t find someone to service us. We will definitely be coming back for all of our future stays in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. At L'Auberge Carmel our staff is one of the most important assets and we proud ourselves in delivering excellent and quality service. We hope that upon your return to Carmel, we can welcome you back to L'Auberge Carmel

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I cant say enough great things about my stays at L'Auberge. I guess my advice is splurge, and you wont regret it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We've stayed at this property twice and loved it both times. The breakfasts were great, the staff awesome and welcoming, and the restaurant outstanding for dinner. We had visted Napa and went to the French Laundry and I have to say that our meal at L'Auberge was almost as good....it was outstanding. Love that we could ask for an outdoor table for breakfast in the courtyard, and it was set up right on time with a white crisp tablecloth. Very memorable and looking forward to coming back for our 29th wedding anniversary .... See you then !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Carmel

Address: Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge Carmel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1929, the European-style luxury hotel is located just four blocks from famous Carmel Beach and an easy stroll to the village's numerous art galleries, shops and restaurants. Major renovations have transformed the hotel's 20 guest rooms, entrance and landscaped courtyard into a romantic Carmel setting. Luxuriously romantic, the Carmel hotel was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Carmel escape getaway. The interior decor of guest rooms is rich and pleasing, warm jewel tones accent the quaint charm of the architecture. Individually designed guest rooms feature the finest fabrics and linens, enlarged bath areas with radiant floor heating, some with soaking tubs. It is one of Carmel’s few full service luxury hotels offering valet parking, room service and highly personalized guest services. The highlight of L'Auberge Carmel is its intimate 12-table restaurant, Aubergine, featuring a 4500-bottle wine cellar. It is the passion of Executive Chef Justin Cogley. All accommodations include a sumptuous continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Auberge Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.