We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I left my heart at ....L'Auberge in Carmel-on-sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Carmel

Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Auberge Carmel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway Package
Ranked #6 of 21 hotels in Carmel
panzano-in-chianti
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“I left my heart at ....L'Auberge in Carmel-on-sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I was surprised and delighted to discover that the hype about Carmel-on-sea is true and then some - it really is the most amazingly picturesque,and romantic location imaginable. Our hotel, L'Auberge is a true gem, a beautifully restored and maintained European style boutique hotel, with rooms grouped around a Spanish style courtyard replete with outdoor seating, geraniums and gas heaters so guests can enjoy breakfast or cocktails outdoors even when the temperature drops. Our room was spacious, tastefully decorated, with a comfy king-sized bed and very spacious bathroom. The kind of room one can enjoy spending time in. And the public spaces, reek old worlde elegance and charm. We found the staff to be the ultimate professionals - attentive, solicitous and accommodating but unobtrusive. In short, L'Auberge, in the center of this beautifully preserved, European style village, replete with artisan stores and eateries, is the perfect place for a relaxing and/or romantic get-away, Less than an hour's flight from LA, we rediscovered simple pleasures like walking, fine wining and dining and some great buys from the Carmel's stylish and exclusive artisan stores.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    36
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
21
132
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I really hate to give this hotel a negative review because the staff were very professional, warm, helpful and kind. I would like to thank Matias who was especially gracious and helpful.
My critique of this hotel is with the design. I was given Room 24 for my one night stay. The room has no dresser, there is virtually no place to unpack and put your clothing into drawers. YET...there is a big closet that could easily house a dresser with drawers. There is also room upon two walls where a dresser could go. The room also had no desk or writing table. When room service delivered my dinner they put the tray on my window sill. I guess I was supposed to eat standing up at the window sill...not sure what that was about. There were two tiny little TV tray tables...I put those together and ate my dinner.
The room is dark with dark curtains and dark blanket on the bed..making the room look even smaller and gloomier. Room 24 overlooks a parking lot, yet the hotel was not full that night..why did they not give me a nicer view room? Granted,,,I did not ask for one..and possibly they would have. But still...why not give a room with a better view to keep the guests coming back...if a better room is indeed available.
The breakfast was included in the room rate. So, at breakfast, I was offered coffee or cappuccino.. I decided on cappuccino..and then found out that was 5-6 dollars EXTRA when I went to check out. Granted..my mistake again...I should have asked...but...should I need to ask if the breakfast is complimentary?
I guess if you just want a room for one night and you are one person...ROOM 24 will work. But for the price I want something a little more special, a little more luxurious, and at least a table to eat on when I order room service.

Room Tip: ASK for a room that has a dresser if you want to unpack your clothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you very much for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel. I also appreciate your comments and feedback to your stay. First, I would like to point out that I am happy to hear that our service was to your expectations.

I would like to apologize for your bad experience in our guest room. We are in the process of remodeling our guest rooms and we will take your feedback as a critical part of the remodel process. We hope to have our remodel completed by early 2012.

Our Front Desk staff are here for any guest request and should we have availability, be pleased to move you to a more comfortable room. I hope that the next time you are in the Carmel area that you do look us up again.

Thank you very much and Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Fabulous hotel in a great location, the hotel is old and very quirky !!! Beds are really comfortable and the bathrooms have nice toiletries. We dined in the fine dining restaurant, which was very good, but probably not my style. On our 2nd evening we dined at the hotels sister Italian restaurant that was very informal noisy, good food and a great atmosphere. Would I recommend the Auberge yes for all the above reasons. It is expensive but so is Carmel......

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This hotel is the most amazingly quaint place. Very personal and quiet; excellent service. Beautiful courtyard to dine or relax in. Clean and beautiful rooms. The gourmet dining experience in the restaurant is one to never be forgotten! The service is the very best you can get in Carmel! We absolutely loved our stay and will stay no other place when in Carmel!

Room Tip: All rooms would be charming. We stayed on the upstairs level, which seemed a bit more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed, service is way beyond your expectations, the quality of the food, drinks, cafe etc... is remarkably good, ingredients are so fresh that you can't believe, they have home made bread, mermelades etc... Hotel is managed by very friendly people that knows all your needs, they have one of the best restaurant I've even been. When you leave in your car they leave you water bottles for the road and a present. This guys really know their business. We went for the Motogp event in Laguna Seca and it's really close to the racetrack (25min). Great great service, thanks for all!!!!

Room Tip: Any room is excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Lovely hotel in a fabulous location. You are walking distance from everything in Carmel but off of the main area so it is quiet. We had an ocean peak room, which I would not do again. There was no way to get even a peak at the ocean and we simply had a room that overlooked the street including the valet stand. Our room also had a lovely sitting area just outside of it in the main courtyard, which unfortunately seemed to be the employee lounge where the housekeepers left their things and took their breaks. We would definitely stay here again but request a room on the second floor with a courtyard view. After reading the negative reviews we were very pleasantly surprised at how lovely the room was, especially the very well appointed bath. The breakfast was more than adequate. The room rates might be a little high for the value provided, but this is Carmel, and we had just come from a horrendous stay at the horrendously overpriced Post Ranch Inn, so this seemed like a real bargain.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard view on the second floor for a quiet room with the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is the second time we've stayed at L'Auberge in Carmel, the last time was almost two years ago to the day. We found it very homey, with great service and nice people. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it to friends...

The restaurant is good and we enjoyed the people serving us a great deal, but I think there is some work to do to keep up with the French chef that was there before, but what does a philistine like me know...

Room Tip: Ask nicely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Carmel

Address: Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#2 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge Carmel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1929, the European-style luxury hotel is located just four blocks from famous Carmel Beach and an easy stroll to the village's numerous art galleries, shops and restaurants. Major renovations have transformed the hotel's 20 guest rooms, entrance and landscaped courtyard into a romantic Carmel setting. Luxuriously romantic, the Carmel hotel was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Carmel escape getaway. The interior decor of guest rooms is rich and pleasing, warm jewel tones accent the quaint charm of the architecture. Individually designed guest rooms feature the finest fabrics and linens, enlarged bath areas with radiant floor heating, some with soaking tubs. It is one of Carmel’s few full service luxury hotels offering valet parking, room service and highly personalized guest services. The highlight of L'Auberge Carmel is its intimate 12-table restaurant, Aubergine, featuring a 4500-bottle wine cellar. It is the passion of Executive Chef Justin Cogley. All accommodations include a sumptuous continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Auberge Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.