We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible boutique hotel; so quaint and charming and outstanding service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Carmel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added L'Auberge Carmel to your Saves list
L'Auberge Carmel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$299 Winter Mid-Week Rate
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
“An incredible boutique hotel; so quaint and charming and outstanding service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This hotel is the most amazingly quaint place. Very personal and quiet; excellent service. Beautiful courtyard to dine or relax in. Clean and beautiful rooms. The gourmet dining experience in the restaurant is one to never be forgotten! The service is the very best you can get in Carmel! We absolutely loved our stay and will stay no other place when in Carmel!

Room Tip: All rooms would be charming. We stayed on the upstairs level, which seemed a bit more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    40
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
22
152
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed, service is way beyond your expectations, the quality of the food, drinks, cafe etc... is remarkably good, ingredients are so fresh that you can't believe, they have home made bread, mermelades etc... Hotel is managed by very friendly people that knows all your needs, they have one of the best restaurant I've even been. When you leave in your car they leave you water bottles for the road and a present. This guys really know their business. We went for the Motogp event in Laguna Seca and it's really close to the racetrack (25min). Great great service, thanks for all!!!!

Room Tip: Any room is excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Lovely hotel in a fabulous location. You are walking distance from everything in Carmel but off of the main area so it is quiet. We had an ocean peak room, which I would not do again. There was no way to get even a peak at the ocean and we simply had a room that overlooked the street including the valet stand. Our room also had a lovely sitting area just outside of it in the main courtyard, which unfortunately seemed to be the employee lounge where the housekeepers left their things and took their breaks. We would definitely stay here again but request a room on the second floor with a courtyard view. After reading the negative reviews we were very pleasantly surprised at how lovely the room was, especially the very well appointed bath. The breakfast was more than adequate. The room rates might be a little high for the value provided, but this is Carmel, and we had just come from a horrendous stay at the horrendously overpriced Post Ranch Inn, so this seemed like a real bargain.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard view on the second floor for a quiet room with the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is the second time we've stayed at L'Auberge in Carmel, the last time was almost two years ago to the day. We found it very homey, with great service and nice people. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it to friends...

The restaurant is good and we enjoyed the people serving us a great deal, but I think there is some work to do to keep up with the French chef that was there before, but what does a philistine like me know...

Room Tip: Ask nicely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Downtown Carmel, great location, older but in good condition. Room was nice, comfortable bed, nice bathroom. Excellent service, complimentary breakfast, a little on the pricey side. But, you are paying for location and service. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We've been to this charming hotel, well situated to town and the public beach, twice before and were happy to return for a two day get-away. It's better than ever. When the accomodations and management are already so good, it is the new small touches that register, e.g. a welcoming non-alcoholic sparkling drink while you check in; a small departing gift when we checked out. Our charming room was just as expected with large windows, nice breeze, deluxe linens including sparkling white seemingly-new towels, nice (not raggedy) waffle cotton robes, fresh fruit in the room, cookies at turn down, etc. We had reserved the Bed & Breakfast Package and breakfast was delicious, elegantly served and presented. We were raving over the freshly baked banana nut bread, the tasty fresh fruit and fresh squeezed oj - the sweetest and least-acidic I've had. Even the coffee was excellent, as though just pressed for us. Small touches like sea salt and home-made preserves made the meal very special and a wonderful, relaxed way to start the day. We will continue to return to beautiful Carmel regularly and look forward to many more memorable visits to L'Auberge Carmel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

I recently stayed in one of the most expensive rooms at the hotel. The price was $100 per night less than the Lodge at Pebble Beach or Spanish Bay. Our room was not up to par. Besides showing it age with a very dark decor, there were multiple maintenance problems. The front desk offered an immediate, significant price reduction the next day which I gladly accepted. However, there is attention to detail missing. For example, the box spring did not have a fabric skirt. So the the mattress with a beautiful spread was set in a frame, but you could see a plain box spring on the edge, hardly elegant. The restaurant was quite nice, but I found the wine list overpriced which bothers me in California, especially given Monterey is part of a wine country environment. The staff is extremely polite and professional. I think the furniture in the lounge and rooms is probably ready for an update.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Carmel

Address: Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge Carmel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1929, the European-style luxury hotel is located just four blocks from famous Carmel Beach and an easy stroll to the village's numerous art galleries, shops and restaurants. Major renovations have transformed the hotel's 20 guest rooms, entrance and landscaped courtyard into a romantic Carmel setting. Luxuriously romantic, the Carmel hotel was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Carmel escape getaway. The interior decor of guest rooms is rich and pleasing, warm jewel tones accent the quaint charm of the architecture. Individually designed guest rooms feature the finest fabrics and linens, enlarged bath areas with radiant floor heating, some with soaking tubs. It is one of Carmel’s few full service luxury hotels offering valet parking, room service and highly personalized guest services. The highlight of L'Auberge Carmel is its intimate 12-table restaurant, Aubergine, featuring a 4500-bottle wine cellar. It is the passion of Executive Chef Justin Cogley. All accommodations include a sumptuous continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your L'Auberge Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.