We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Carmel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added L'Auberge Carmel to your Saves list
L'Auberge Carmel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$299 Winter Mid-Week Rate
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great Service, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

A delightful little hotel to spend a romantic weekend. The service is perfect. The rooms are small but more than adequate for that romantic weekend away. Carmel best location on a quiet corner with a very charming center courtyard.

Room Tip: Ask for room 12 or 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    43
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
24
158
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

L'Auberge Carmel is simply the finest hotel - everything is fabulous. We were greeted with a warm smile; refreshing drink....valet parking....cold champagne awaited in our room. The courtyard setting is so inviting - beautiful flowers adorning window; comfortable chairs to set an relax, read a book. The room interiors are tastefully decorated...with all the amenities.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

I thought long and hard before writing this review. I planned for this our last night in the USA to be the highlight, and in many ways it was. The welcome was excellent, the service, valet parking and later in the restaurant was first class. The room was clean and very comfortable. On the whole a very relaxing experience in a very nice town. But, and there has to be abut coming, the room was quite small. The bathroom had a perfectly adequate shower but no bath. In short the "wow" factor was completely absent. The complementary water was ok, but in similar hotels in the UK we had been given complementary sherry, whisky or gin. Dinner on the other hand from the tasting menu was first class. Would I eat there again? Yes. Would I stay there again? Probably not!

Room Tip: Eat here, but stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_carmel_ca, Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear paul611,

Thank you very much for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel. Please accept my sincere apologies that your stay with us was not up to your standards. Being a former 1929 apartment, we have tried everything in our power to modernize the rooms yet keep the charm of the history behind L'Auberge. It is unfortunate that the "wow" factor was absent in your opinion. We do take all of our guests comments to heart and will use this to further our staff training. Again thank you for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel and I hope that you will give us another chance to "wow" you.

George N.
Hotel Manager, L'Auberge Carmel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Upon arriving at 9:00pm after a 7 hour flight delay, we were tired and hungry. We were greeted with smiles, warmth, comfort and helping hands. Though the kitchen was closed, the chef reopened and served us a delicious meal with wonderful wine. As they seated us in front of a fireplace, we sensed this place was special. We generally don't stay at small, boutique style hotels and were pleasantly surprised at the comfort and amenities L'Auberge Carmel offered. The whole hotel is very European in style and decor and its Old World charm is very appealing. The included continental breakfast was really a superb three-course meal with delicious breads and croissants. The location in the heart of town is perfect. The personal service and friendliness of the staff made us want to return. This is truly a jewel in a gem of a city!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Bravo to all the staff at LÁuberge - a job well done.

After a very long and tiring trip form Australia I was delighted with my reception at the hotel. Every person who I came into contact with over my 4 days stay was delightful and professional. The service was excellent and as a first time visitor to Carmel I was assisted at every step with information and advice as to what, where and how to see all the local sights.

The staff in the the restaurant were very professional and delivered a first class dining experience (it was so good I came back the next night too). Compliments to the chef and staff for an outstanding meal - 5 stars all the way!

I am looking forward to my next visit to Carmel and I will certainly be staying here!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

As part of our anniversary celebration, my husband and I decided to spend a night at L'Auberge. We have been to Carmel-by-the-Sea many times and have always talked about treating ourselves to an overnight stay. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the friendly staff. They were more than helpful in making our stay memorable. The restaurant was amazing, as well as the breakfast we had before our departure. We are already talking about celebrating this way next year.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

stayed right after Thanksgiving, hotel was very quiet, the hot cider and marshmallow on arrival was outstanding and a lovely touch. The staff are excellent, breakfast delightful.

A great relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Carmel

Address: Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#14 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge Carmel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1929, the European-style luxury hotel is located just four blocks from famous Carmel Beach and an easy stroll to the village's numerous art galleries, shops and restaurants. Major renovations have transformed the hotel's 20 guest rooms, entrance and landscaped courtyard into a romantic Carmel setting. Luxuriously romantic, the Carmel hotel was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Carmel escape getaway. The interior decor of guest rooms is rich and pleasing, warm jewel tones accent the quaint charm of the architecture. Individually designed guest rooms feature the finest fabrics and linens, enlarged bath areas with radiant floor heating, some with soaking tubs. It is one of Carmel’s few full service luxury hotels offering valet parking, room service and highly personalized guest services. The highlight of L'Auberge Carmel is its intimate 12-table restaurant, Aubergine, featuring a 4500-bottle wine cellar. It is the passion of Executive Chef Justin Cogley. All accommodations include a sumptuous continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your L'Auberge Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.