We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fun store and owner is so informed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bountiful Basket

The Bountiful Basket
San Carlos St. Between Ocean Ave. & 7th, in the Doud Craft Studios, Carmel, CA 93921
831 625 4457
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 59 Shopping in Carmel
Type: Specialty Shops
Attraction Details
Redding, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very fun store and owner is so informed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This tasting was part of the Food Tour of Carmel. This olive oil store was the most fun! The owner knows everything there is to know about oils, vinegars, and the wine from local wineries. I would highly recommend stopping by her store when you visit Carmel! The tour costs, but she will do small tastings also.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“if you like wine visit hear”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

There are quite a few places to taste wine in Carmel and we spent 2 afternoons enjoying ourselves. On the tourist map given to us by the hotel there were 2 places. We went to the nearest and then on to Bountiful Basket. The owner was very fantastic. He chooses 8 wines for you to taste and if you buy a bottle or 2 you obtain a discount. But he went further after discussing which wines we liked and we explained we wanted to carry on with further tastings he marked our map with 5-6 other places for us to taste wine. The first day we did not buy any wine but on our second visit as we had decided to buy a bottle of wine from the shop he remembered us, we discuss the bottle we wished to buy and then he let us taste other wine for free. He could not have been more friendly and helpful. Well worth a visit

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sur, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OMG is right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I live in Carmel and can attest to the incredible taste of the vinegars sold here. My personal favorite is the Pomegranate. It is just fabulous.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One-stop shop for olive oil, wines and vinegar.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Sharon produces her own line of vinegar called OMG ... and apparently its because people go "OMG" after they taste it. I was skeptical at first, but when I tried it, I understood. Her vinegar - there's so many different kinds. My personal favourite is the pear balsamic, but my husband prefers the key lime.

There's also plenty of wine available from the region (always good to support local produce!) and yes, there's oil too. Sharon's really helpful, knows a lot about the region and the people who produce it so it's really nice to hear more about the winemakers beyond the label.

It was a really pleasant shopping experience; we ended up rocking a huge bill and three shopping bags.

:)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encinitas,ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice variety of local wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Sharon was very nice and helped us on our way to get a picnic basket together for the beach.
This place has wonderful wines, vinegar, and snacks.
we had fun thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bountiful Basket also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to The Bountiful Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bountiful Basket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.