We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you like wine visit hear” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bountiful Basket

The Bountiful Basket
San Carlos St. Between Ocean Ave. & 7th, in the Doud Craft Studios, Carmel, CA 93921
831 625 4457
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 63 Shopping & Fashion in Carmel
Type: Specialty shops, Shopping & Fashion
Attraction details
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“if you like wine visit hear”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

There are quite a few places to taste wine in Carmel and we spent 2 afternoons enjoying ourselves. On the tourist map given to us by the hotel there were 2 places. We went to the nearest and then on to Bountiful Basket. The owner was very fantastic. He chooses 8 wines for you to taste and if you buy a bottle or 2 you obtain a discount. But he went further after discussing which wines we liked and we explained we wanted to carry on with further tastings he marked our map with 5-6 other places for us to taste wine. The first day we did not buy any wine but on our second visit as we had decided to buy a bottle of wine from the shop he remembered us, we discuss the bottle we wished to buy and then he let us taste other wine for free. He could not have been more friendly and helpful. Well worth a visit

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Sur, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OMG is right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I live in Carmel and can attest to the incredible taste of the vinegars sold here. My personal favorite is the Pomegranate. It is just fabulous.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One-stop shop for olive oil, wines and vinegar.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Sharon produces her own line of vinegar called OMG ... and apparently its because people go "OMG" after they taste it. I was skeptical at first, but when I tried it, I understood. Her vinegar - there's so many different kinds. My personal favourite is the pear balsamic, but my husband prefers the key lime.

There's also plenty of wine available from the region (always good to support local produce!) and yes, there's oil too. Sharon's really helpful, knows a lot about the region and the people who produce it so it's really nice to hear more about the winemakers beyond the label.

It was a really pleasant shopping experience; we ended up rocking a huge bill and three shopping bags.

:)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encinitas,ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice variety of local wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Sharon was very nice and helped us on our way to get a picnic basket together for the beach.
This place has wonderful wines, vinegar, and snacks.
we had fun thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing 1 stop shop!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

The Bountiful Basket is a locally owned mom and pop shop in Carmel By The Sea. Going strong for almost 17 years this adorable wine / retail shop offers way more than you would expect, it's original location was in the Crossroads Shopping Village on Rio Rd. in Carmel for 13 years. The location then changed to the Barnyard Shopping Village for 3 years and is now permanently located in downtown Carmel By The Sea.

Owner Sharon Cuneo (a Carmel Valley Resident) provides an outstanding selection of hard to find: wines, olive oils & vinegars all of which you can taste on the spot. Most of the products she carries in fact are locally produced and limited in production. Sharon also has her own line of vinegars which she makes herself, among these would be my personal favorite "18 year aged Pomegranate Balsalmic".

**Meet The Wine Maker** 1pm to 5pm on Saturdays at Bountiful Basket is a fun and educational experience for boutique winery fans. Sample outstanding, locally produced wines while learning the history of the featured winery and vintner's methods. Seasoned and beginner wine~o's alike come together and learn about their favorite and new found favorite wineries.

The best part about this shop is that you can have custom gift baskets made to your specifications and taste almost every product that you put into it!! so you know exactly what you are giving people. Personalized service at it's finest!!

Bountiful Basket is a diamond in the rough world of retail.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bountiful Basket also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to The Bountiful Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bountiful Basket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.