We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican food in Carmel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hola Mexican Restaurant & Cantina - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hola Mexican Restaurant & Cantina
3600 The Barnyard Shopping Village, Carmel, CA
831-626-1814
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Carmel, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Hola's is always a good place for a reasonable and tasty meal. Check to see if they are running any specials. Sometimes they will have 50% off dinner nights - although their prices are reasonable even without the discount. The chips are fresh and the salsa "to die for". Their salads are generous and good - and one could make a good meal on their selection of appetizers. The food has always been good - both at lunch and at dinner - the service is friendly and good.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food but poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011 via mobile

We arrived at 8pm for dinner on a quiet evening. There is no mention of a closing time on the door, and at around 9pm we ordered a second round of beers. Although the staff did not mention that they wished to close up early, it was suddenly made very clear. The music was turned off, and some of the staff were let go with a very loud 'goodbye!' from the kitchen. We left at 9.10pm. No-one thanked us for our custom. A shame, because the food was okay, and it looked like a nice restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kariooka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Takeout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We were exhausted when we arrived in Carmel, we stayed at Forest Lodge which we LOVED, ended up ordering Takeout from Hola, The quesadillas and enchiladas were both excellent. Highly reccomended by all 3 of us.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the chips and salsa and should have left then”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Big restaurant but very few people in it. Every six months or so we give it another try. Each time we leave feeling "what the f did we do this for again?" This recent visit was the last. They just don't get it. From slllllowwwwww service to lackluster food and presentation. Big quantities do not make up for small quality. Sorry, but anyone from out of the area wandering around the Barnyard shops should pass this one by and try one of the many good restaurants in the Carmel area. Baja Cantina is only 5 minutes up the road and is great. Sorry guys but you can just never seem to get it right.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Well meaning, but avoid.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

They really have no idea of how to run a restaurant. Service is slow and chaotic. Food is just ok, a little on the sweet side for Mexican.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hola Mexican Restaurant & Cantina also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hola Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.