We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican food in Carmel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hola Mexican Restaurant & Cantina - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hola Mexican Restaurant & Cantina
3600 The Barnyard Shopping Village, Carmel, CA
831-626-1814
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Hola's is always a good place for a reasonable and tasty meal. Check to see if they are running any specials. Sometimes they will have 50% off dinner nights - although their prices are reasonable even without the discount. The chips are fresh and the salsa "to die for". Their salads are generous and good - and one could make a good meal on their selection of appetizers. The food has always been good - both at lunch and at dinner - the service is friendly and good.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mswiseguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food but poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We arrived at 8pm for dinner on a quiet evening. There is no mention of a closing time on the door, and at around 9pm we ordered a second round of beers. Although the staff did not mention that they wished to close up early, it was suddenly made very clear. The music was turned off, and some of the staff were let go with a very loud 'goodbye!' from the kitchen. We left at 9.10pm. No-one thanked us for our custom. A shame, because the food was okay, and it looked like a nice restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Takeout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We were exhausted when we arrived in Carmel, we stayed at Forest Lodge which we LOVED, ended up ordering Takeout from Hola, The quesadillas and enchiladas were both excellent. Highly reccomended by all 3 of us.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kariooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the chips and salsa and should have left then”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Big restaurant but very few people in it. Every six months or so we give it another try. Each time we leave feeling "what the f did we do this for again?" This recent visit was the last. They just don't get it. From slllllowwwwww service to lackluster food and presentation. Big quantities do not make up for small quality. Sorry, but anyone from out of the area wandering around the Barnyard shops should pass this one by and try one of the many good restaurants in the Carmel area. Baja Cantina is only 5 minutes up the road and is great. Sorry guys but you can just never seem to get it right.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobDogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well meaning, but avoid.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

They really have no idea of how to run a restaurant. Service is slow and chaotic. Food is just ok, a little on the sweet side for Mexican.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hola Mexican Restaurant & Cantina also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing